$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
View map of 1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phil a.
Business
ontario
Mar 3, 2015

Exactly as expected

Stayed there many times, it's the only hotel I will stay at on mission bay we always enjoy staying in the older section because that's The part that felt like a summer home when my family took us there starting 40 years ago and I took my kids there and now my kids take my grandkids to there. When my kids were growing up we would keep the boat there all year long and book 2 rooms side-by-side every weekend all summer long . Their customer service is better than any Hotel I stayed at anywhere . We highly recommend this hotel if you want a wonderful hotelwith wonderful service with a laid-back atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Betty A.
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

great trip

Our stay was nice,we ran into a few problems but Jon Carter the supervisor was great,and made the trip turn out very nice. Their could have been more restaurants at the hotel, but we found down by the beach many, only a few blocks away.The whale watching was total cool, we saw whales and it was right across the street from the hotel.I would have to do whale watching everytime. Looking forward to going to san diego again, Thanks for the great deal. Betty Ackerman

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Helen T.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Presidents' Weekend --- Feb. 2015

This was our second stay at this hotel. The grounds are amazing. Dined and had drinks at the Firely (outside tables) -- very enjoyable. We also had breakfast at the Blue Pearl which was nothing special just basic breakfast fare, but the price was right and the staff were exceptional. Great to be able to walk to restaurants. The hotel staff were very accommodating and professional. Loved the location. There was a walking path around Mission Bay steps from our room. Kayaks, bikes etc were available for rent right on the property. The hotel was full given the president's weekend. Yet the rooms had excellent sound proofing. The only negative would be the resort fee ($7) and internet - which included coupons ($14). We were not charged for parking perhaps due to our 5-night stay. Otherwise it is $20 a day. Also for touring San Diego this is a great location. A five minute drive to Mission Beach (boardwalk takes you to Pacific Beach). Can walk, bike, or skate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mirjana R.
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

leisure time

I was expected very nice time at Dana but all photos were not accurate! They put just deluxe rooms om website and they are much better than all standard ones. So I ended as many travelers there with upgrading which was not expected or cheap at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jason k.
Business
Edmonds
Feb 17, 2015

Wedding Trip

There are two different plans for the resort. The suites are very nice. The bedrooms are just ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mirjana R.
Business
Vancouver
Feb 12, 2015

Relaxing trip

I was staying a few times in Coronado Bay Resort which is amazing, with an exceptional service and staff! This time I decided to explore Mission Bay and DANA seemed cute hotel. I was very upset when I saw my room, it was not even near rooms on your site. Of course it appeared that standard room are so different than Deluxe room. I ended with upgrading, not a small amount of money, and room was great. I travel a lot and never had such bad experience as this, that rooms vary so much. This is not fair not to put on website BOTH types of rooms so people can decide according to their wishes. It was the same in many reviews I read before. So no next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pranay
Business
TORONTO
Feb 9, 2015

Awesome Birthday Trip

This Hotel has the perfect location if you are targeting the Sea world, the staff was very friendly and the both the eating places within the hotel were superb, enjoyed every minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must try the breakfast at the Blue Pearl

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Francisco L.
Business
Valencia
Jan 19, 2015

We had fun

We had fun in this hotel. Lady at the front desk was very nice. She even gave our son a stuff toy when we told her we are celebrating our sons 2nd birthday. Room was nice and with keurig coffee maker, microwave and mini ref. we rented bicycle and biked from the hotel to belmont park. Commode was clogged and didnt flush. I called maintainance and they came right away and fixed it. Overall we had a great time here in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliMom
Business
Playa Vista
Jan 15, 2015

Winter Break trip

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Right on the bay with a great walking trail by the marina. Close to SeaWorld and Old Town. The restaurant serving breakfast was very good, cooked to order and fast with reasonable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L532
Business
Batavia
Jan 15, 2015

Nice quiet place in great area

Nice place for exploring Mission Bay. Some of the other guests were pretty noisy, but that was not the fault of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top