$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The Dana On Mission Bay

3 stars
1710 W. Mission Bay Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
452 reviews
Excellent Sea World vacation

Hotel is right on the bay, with beautiful views. There are paddle board rentals a short walk away.... See full review

  • Andrew and kids from WA
  • Nov 18, 2014
perfect

it was beautiful bay view .. a home away from home ... it was wonderful..... See full review

  • jj.one
  • Oct 12, 2014
Ten acres of tropical parkland plus two pools on San Diego waterfront

The Dana on Mission Bay is located on 10 acres of landscaped tropical gardens in the center of Mission Bay Aquatic Park. Water views are available from many of the rooms as the hotel is a short stroll from the beach and adjacent to Sunset Park. The Dana on Mission Bay has two pools, kayaks and pedal boats for hire, and a Guest Services staff who arrange dinner reservations and tours on request. The hotel has two restaurants serving great food and a casual atmosphere.

Reasons to stay
  • Two spas and two swimming pools
  • Complimentary lawn games such as volleyball and ping pong
  • Shuttle to SeaWorld courtesy of the hotel
The Dana on Mission Bay rooms

The 271 rooms occupy two different areas of The Dana on Mission Bay, and include 12 suites. Many rooms have balconies or patios that take advantage of the hotel's waterfront location. Most rooms have standard amenities such as safe, flat-screen TV, microwave and mini refrigerator. Rooms also include free Wi-Fi and high speed Internet.

Things to do nearby
  • SeaWorld (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission Beach  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Belmont Park  (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (5.9 mi/9.0 km)
  • La Jolla (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (7.5 mi/10.0 km)
  • Del Mar Racetrack/Fairgrounds (15.0 mi/20.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • For a non-refundable pet cleaning deposit of $100 (for up to 6 nights), small dogs are allowed to stay in guest rooms overnight. There will be an additional $100 fee for stays exceeding 6 nights.
  • The resort fee of $9.00 USD includes SeaWorld shuttle, broadband high-speed Wi-Fi, use of hotel fitness center, $150 value food & beverage coupon book, unlimited free local phone calls.
  • Parking is available for $20.00 USD per day.
  • Shuttle is on offer for $10.00 USD per person (one way).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.766 -117.2364
Area served
San Diego, SeaWorld, Mission Bay, Belmont Park, San Diego Zoo, Gaslamp Quarter
Nearby airports
San Diego's Lindbergh Field
Area description
Next door to SeaWorld, Within walking distance of Beaches, Belmont Park. Complimentary transportation to SeaWorld. Shuttle available to Airport, Amtrak station, and Cruise Ship Terminal for a fee. 10 minutes from Downtown San Diego, Zoo, Old Town & Balboa Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Dana On Mission Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Dana On Mission Bay Rooms

Deluxe Bay View Room
These extra large guest rooms are located in the Water's Edge area and offer upgraded amenities including private patios or balconies with sweeping bay views and wet-bars with refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers. Rooms also feature flat screen TVs, custom, hand-crafted and imported furniture and louvered shutters. These bay view rooms are "the place" to watch for fabulous sunset views over the water! Bay View rooms have 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa however, rooms with 1 king bed may also be requested. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
Standard Non View Room
Standard Non view Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.
View Room
View Guestrooms are located in the original Marina Cove area and feature a large picture window overlooking the lush courtyard, Tropical Pool, or private Marina on the bay. These rooms offer two queen or one king bed, plantation shutters, imported furniture & artwork, and newly remodeled bathrooms. Guestrooms feature: Wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hair dryer, Iron and full-size ironing board. The Dana On Mission Bay is 100% Non-Smoking property.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 2.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 5.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 5.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 5.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 5.7 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 5.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 5.9 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 11.8 mi
  • Legoland: 25.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,120.8 mi

Dining

Firefly Restaurant & Bar
With a contemporary atmosphere and innovative cuisine unique to the California region, the Firefly is the perfect stop for a relaxing dinner or simply a cocktail to unwind at the end of the day. The Firefly also provides poolside service at the Bay View pool. Open for Brunch & Dinner daily from 10am to 9pm. Happy Hour is served from 3:30 to 5:30pm daily.
The Blue Pearl
The Blue Pearl casual eatery offers fresh, California cuisine in a casual atmosphere. The restaurant is known throughout the San Diego area for its incredible breakfast menu. The Blue Pearl also offers children's menus. Picnic lunches can be prepared by the restaurant for families to take along on their day at SeaWorld. Open daily for breakfast from 6:30am to 11:30am and dinner from 5pm to 10pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Dana is proud to feature a Conference Center which opened in July 2004! Offers over 3500 sq. feet of indoor meeting and banquet space and up to 7,000 sq. feet of space for weddings & outdoor functions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (452)

Ratings and reviews for The Dana On Mission Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
452 out of 452
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gail from Glendale
Business
Glendale, California
Aug 15, 2014

It was an okay experience

The room was very small and the bathroom was even smaller. The staff was great, except my coffee maker was leaking and I requested another one. It never came. The front desk upgraded me to a room with a view, which I was excited until I realized it was on the second floor and no elevator. Traveling with my 72 year old mother, I wish she would have mentioned it. I would have not taken the room. The view was a bunch of Banana trees, very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babyl314
Business
NY, NY
Aug 10, 2014

good for families

Able to accommodate early check-in which i appreciated. Provided me with toothpaste when I ran out--a plus. Only downside is lack of free or even an affordable shuttle to and from airport--my Uber ride was much cheaper. Other than that, the rooms were kinda old but not terrible. It came with microwave and fridge which I liked. Had a great view of the SeaWorld fireworks from behind the hotel so that was nice too. Great for families and those wanting to be close to SeaWorld..stone's throw to Mission Beach. If looking to be near downtown, I'd opt out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Or hotel shuttle to Sea World. Short walk to Mission Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JDP661
Business
Santa Clarita
Aug 9, 2014

great location

When you first arrive you expect a lot. The lobby, entrance, and surroundings are very nice. The parking area are very secure as well. There is a lot to keep you feeling at home around the property. BUT, the room we stayed in was smaller than a motel 6 room and was 3x the cost. The room itself was overall nicer than a average hotel room but very small and just not what I expected. Just because there is a cheap flat screen tv and a small kuerig coffee machine in the room doesn't mean you can charge over 250 dollars a night, on a Thursday, in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nurse mother traveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 9, 2014

World traveler and Return customer !

Guest services. After a few minor blinders with my reservation being lost the first day of my vacation, the hotel went out of its way to make sure I was comfortable and upgraded my room for the rest of my stay. They brought decaf coffee to my room late at night and I got discounted parking since I have stayed 4 other times this spring/summer at the hotel. The rooms are oversized and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Firefly and the Blue Pearl are aways exceptional experiences; why go anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3kids one father
Business
LA
Aug 1, 2014

D, Dad and his 3 kids

Great 3 days with my 3 kids . Hotel had everything I needed to keep my children occupied. Pool , movies and rentals .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking along the bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Trip Every Year Guy
Business
Washington DC area
Jul 31, 2014

The Dana on Mission Bay - Recommended

Excellent location next to Sea World San Diego, minutes from the airport, Mission and Pacific Beaches, downtown, Balboa Park, and only about 15 minutes from La Jolla. Nice bay views. Good food, and little touches like pools open until 11pm. Do recommend upgrading room, though -- lots of "meh" rooms, lots of very nice rooms, not much range in between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dana on Mission Bay is essentially within 5-8 miles of all of San Diego's key attractions, so plan to be busy and take it all in. You don't have to compromise any activities because they're too far away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morrisclan
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 27, 2014

Ok, but probably better for the money

Forgot maid service; did not let us know a roll away was not possible. Not much close by for eating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariMaMa
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 25, 2014

Relaxing

I thought this place was going to be like a hotel but it's more like a clean version of a motel. It's 2 stories high and it overlooks the bay which is nice. The rooms are clean but the shower acts like it's almost broken. There's no in between temperature; either really cold or kind of hot. And it makes this annoying shrinking sound the entire time you shower. It's just not fun. There's 2 restaurants on the premises. One of them is only open for breakfast and the other doesn't have a lot of options and you have to break a foot and throw it at the staff in order to get their attention and hopefully be served. They have options for water activities so that's fun. (I dropped my Marc Jacobs sunglasses in the water after I finished jet skiing :( if anyone sees it float to shore, I am here, don't hesitate to bring it back to me :D) Overall it was a nice stay but the staff could use some classes on manners. It's a really nice resort with the rooms overlooking the bay. I'd suggest chipping in a tiny bit more to get the room with a view because starring at the parking lot through your front door doesn't sound like a good time to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Bo-Beau Kitchen and Bar. It's a French and Mediterranean place and it has very delicious food. If you like seafood and pizza, check out their shrimp and avocado flat bread...it's AMAZING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoshPhxAz
Business
Phoenix
Jul 24, 2014

Amazing location-Simple flaws

Very clean room but a few spiders. Great location for everything. Nice property with two great restaurant choices. Nice pools with a great touch of playing a movie. Weird though that they ran out of towels and closed their pool bar right as the movie started. Seemed to not make sense. Room key stopped working twice so that was really frustrating having to wait at front desk to reset it. Workers seemed to think that was normal. All in all... Nice property with kind staff. Needs a few changes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to sea world or use shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Dana On Mission Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fugazzi
Business
Milpitas Ca
Jul 8, 2014

great location with nice room

Dana hotel was generally great. Our room was in a good location, near the pool, ice maker, gym, parking exit. The room was nice with comfortable beds, good tv, micro wave and fridge. The only issue I had was with the AC controls - there was one on the wall that didn't control the AC and there was also a remote that didn't work, therefore I had to stand on a chair an operate it manually (the AC was located on the wall at a height of 7 ft). But once I set it worked fine. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top