$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Bristol Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1055 First Ave., San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Bristol Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C Van
Business
Fl
Jun 1, 2014

Great location

Usually I stick with 4 star chain hotels. This is comparable. Staff very accommodating. Walking distance to the gas lamp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner to trolley and buses that take you to zoo, La Jolla, Old Town, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cpuhnaty
Business
Germantown, MD
Apr 21, 2014

Spring Break

I stayed at this hotel with two of my friends for spring break for a week. The hotel was very clean and I loved the layout when you first walk in. The staff was all super friendly and welcoming. They even let us check our bags after we checked out due to a super late flight. The rooms were clean and well kept. The location was great as well, within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. It was a great place to stay for walking around gaslamp during the day or going out at night. I throughly enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ytravels
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Apr 21, 2014

Great Value & Location; Helpful Staff

Very comfortable and conveniently located near the trolley station and within walking distance of multiple shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jedaed
Business
seattle
Apr 16, 2014

basic clean comfortable hotel

close to downtown and a mile from the conv ctr staff was friendly some street noise close to bus station unfortunately there are many homeless in this area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Branthemandon
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 15, 2014

Baseball getaway

Me and my buddy went to SD to see a couple baseball games. Although you could walk to the park from this hotel, I believe it was a $5 cab ride for the same distance. This hotel was also within walking distance of the Gas lamp district. The staff and everything within the hotel was nice and above average. Only complaint, and it's kind of a weak one, would be the amount of bums/transients in the area outside the hotel. They are harmless, but its not always the prettiest sight to see them passed out lying in a urine or vomit puddle within a couple hundred feet of the hotel. Biggest reason this probably occurs is because of the county courthouse and jail that is located across the street. Overall, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim and the family
Business
Alhambra, CA
Apr 7, 2014

Excellent hotel

Good location. Friendly staff. Family friendly. Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ellcee
Business
Maryland
Mar 31, 2014

would love to stay again!

My husband & I visited San Diego for a convention. The hotel was very centrally located- only about a 10 minute walk from the convention center and Gaslamp District, there were great cafes nearby as well as the shopping mall and convenience stores, and also provided easy access to public transportation. The San Diego Airport is only about a 10 min cab ride away, too. The staff was great- quick to respond to anything we needed. The room was VERY nice- clean with nice amenities, and cute little cards that told the weather for the next day. Work out facility was nice, too. The only thing that could have made this hotel better would have been a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the St. Tropez Cafe! We had 2 delicious breakfasts there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cousins3
Business
oceanside, california
Feb 24, 2014

nice place, but noisy part of town

The hotel was great and they even left earplugs for the outdoor city noise, but it is in the heart of the noisy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gaslamp area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizzy from Boston
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 21, 2014

Solid hotel

This hotel was fine for a place to stay in San Diego - the staff was friendly, the room was clean and nice, and it was conveniently located. Other than that, I was not overly impressed in terms of amenities or luxury. I'd stay again, but the hotel served more as totally fine place to sleep versus a wonderful hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SIL Y FER
Business
GUADALAJARA, JAL MEX
Feb 5, 2014

Nice Downtown place

Good location. You have to pay for the parking. There is vallet parking service. Room size good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top