$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Surfer Beach Hotel

2 stars
711 Pacific Beach Dr., San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
19 reviews
Groovy place

It's not the Waldorf Astoria but it's a great place reminds me of my youth in the 60s don't change... See full review

  • Stuck in the 60s
  • Feb 19, 2014
Great location, very nice staff

My friend and I stayed in two double by the pool. It was clean and I really enjoyed the very... See full review

  • Yesim
  • Jan 27, 2014
This beachfront hotel is located in the famous Pacific Beach area of San Diego. At the Surfer Beach Hotel, you will be in the middle of the beach action! The hotel is centrally located in Pacific Beach and you can walk to restaurants, shops and nightclubs. Stay at the beach all day or travel to the area attractions nearby: Sea World, downtown San Diego, Gaslamp District or the San Diego Zoo. This hotel is great for families who want a vacation filled with fun and relaxation. If you visiting on business, we can mix in a little pleasure while you're here by just staying on the beach. The Surfer Beach Hotel parking fee is $12.00 per vehicle, per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Surfer Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Surfer Beach Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Comfortable and bright room with 2 double pillow top beds, direct-dial phone, flat screen TV including have HBO, Disney, ESPN and CNN. Room features full bath (tub/shower or shower stall) and private balcony with ocean view - rooms either face west toward the ocean or south down the shoreline.
King Room
Comfortable and bright room with king pillow top bed, direct-dial phone, color TV including HBO, Disney, ESPN and CNN, and in room refrigerator. Room features full bath (tub/shower or shower stall) and private balcony with ocean view - Rooms either face west toward the ocean or south down the shoreline.
Jr Suite
Comfortable and bright room with king pillow top, queen sofa sleeper, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, wireless internet access. Room features full bath (tub/shower or shower), private balcony. Rooms either face west toward the ocean or south down the shoreline.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.8 mi
  • Legoland: 23.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.1 mi

Dining

Beachfront Restaurant and Lounge
Featuring American cuisine, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also offering seasonal fish dinner specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Surfer Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 19
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoFo
Business
Jackson, WY, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Get what you pay for

We signed up for a king-size bed/standard room and we booked it months in advance for a couple of nights in November. We were initially put on the bottom floor facing away from the beach and the room was very small and not what we signed up for with this hotel. Luckily, we asked to move to another room and there was a room available on the second floor, semi-facing the ocean that was much bigger and it had a couch in it. The hotel is in a good location for walking the boardwalk and going to eat/have drinks at any of the bars or restaurants on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great happy hours deals at most of the places around the hotel. Young nightlife crowd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
axelestrada
Business
Hermosillo, SON, México
Aug 24, 2012

close to beach

its nice to be close to beach and running track on mission bay, but without a/ac in room i couldnt rest at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

nice restaurant at hotels corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deberino
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Weekend getaway

We made a reservation for 3 nights in a room with a king bed. The 1st night, we discovered when going to bed that the bed was actually a queen and in bad shape. We contacted the front desk and was offered another room but declined to move until the morning since we had already settled in for the night. The next day we packed everything up and were moved to a room with a king bed that was more comfortable for the following 2 nights. Unfortunately, the room was right next to the laundry room and our view was obstructed at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door.....great food and reasonable prices with a beautiful view on the beach front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lynn21
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great location

The hotel was very clean and nice. Great location. The bed was comfortable and bathroom area was perfect for getting ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boltup35
Business
san diego
Oct 17, 2013

another weekend in San Diego

the pool was being re-done and the construction made it pretty noisy. No air condition in the rooms so we slept with the slider open (on second floor) Shower had someone elses soap still in it so not sure how clean it really was Beds were very comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. Older motel maybe needs a little more TLC. Great location right on the boardwalk close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to Lahina Beach House for breakfast or lunch. Great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MWMyers
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jan 13, 2014

Right on the beach

I always enjoy staying at this hotel. It has an ideal location & parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdie1080
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
May 11, 2013

Excellent for the money...

Had a great experience. Right on the beach and near everything else. Great price and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to park somewhere else other than the motel lot. They charge $15 a night which I wasn't aware of until I checked in. No big deal, but would've been nice to have an idea before.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Godfather Jared
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Very romantic getaway!

Very romantic getaway!I would possibly stay at the Surfer Beach Inn Again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top