$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Surfer Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 711 Pacific Beach Dr., San Diego, CA 92109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
22 reviews
weekend getaway

Had a really good time at the hotel, it is in prime location, for everything beach, bar, food can't... See full review

  • Juan B.
  • May 23, 2015
Spring Break trip

Loved the 4th floor junior suite. Nice size room. Bathroom was a bit small, but overall, loved it.... See full review

  • Ga peach runner
  • Jul 7, 2015
This beachfront hotel is located in the famous Pacific Beach area of San Diego. At the Surfer Beach Hotel, you will be in the middle of the beach action! The hotel is centrally located in Pacific Beach and you can walk to restaurants, shops and nightclubs. Stay at the beach all day or travel to the area attractions nearby: Sea World, downtown San Diego, Gaslamp District or the San Diego Zoo. This hotel is great for families who want a vacation filled with fun and relaxation. If you visiting on business, we can mix in a little pleasure while you're here by just staying on the beach. The Surfer Beach Hotel parking fee is $12.00 per vehicle, per night.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Surfer Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

$123
3.5 / 5 102 reviews
★★
$83
3.6 / 5 35 reviews
★★★
$122
3.9 / 5 459 reviews
★★★
$189
4.2 / 5 53 reviews
★★
$104
3.3 / 5 43 reviews
★★★
$107
3.8 / 5 266 reviews
★★
$116
3.6 / 5 51 reviews

Surfer Beach Hotel Rooms

Double Room
Comfortable and bright room with 2 double pillow top beds, direct-dial phone, flat screen TV including have HBO, Disney, ESPN and CNN. Room features full bath (tub/shower or shower stall) and private balcony with ocean view - rooms either face west toward the ocean or south down the shoreline.
King Room
Comfortable and bright room with king pillow top bed, direct-dial phone, color TV including HBO, Disney, ESPN and CNN, and in room refrigerator. Room features full bath (tub/shower or shower stall) and private balcony with ocean view - Rooms either face west toward the ocean or south down the shoreline.
Jr Suite
Comfortable and bright room with king pillow top, queen sofa sleeper, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, wireless internet access. Room features full bath (tub/shower or shower), private balcony. Rooms either face west toward the ocean or south down the shoreline.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 4.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 4.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.3 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 4.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.5 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 6.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 7.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 7.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 7.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 7.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 7.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 7.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 7.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 7.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.6 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 7.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 8.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.8 mi
  • Legoland: 23.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 24.6 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,121.1 mi

Dining

Beachfront Restaurant and Lounge
Featuring American cuisine, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also offering seasonal fish dinner specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Surfer Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuck in the 60s
Family
Omaha ne
Feb 19, 2014

Groovy place

It's not the Waldorf Astoria but it's a great place reminds me of my youth in the 60s don't change a thing it's like flashing back to my youth. Sun Surf doesn't get much better. Real laid back atmosphere. Help very courteous thank you. I'll be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Starkeys cafe great home cooked food with great prices. Good value

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bday Vacation
Single
Denver
May 11, 2013

I had a great stay

This hotel is right on the beach. Excellent location. Do not expect a 5 star hotel and you will be fine. Room was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Close to beach, shops, restaurants, and other site seeing areas. Parking is tight, but worth the money to have a safe spot every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several good places to eat a nice dinner or grab a quick bite all around the area.

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan B.
Couples
N/A
May 23, 2015

weekend getaway

Had a really good time at the hotel, it is in prime location, for everything beach, bar, food can't ask for anything else. Wifi was slow but still good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yesim
Friends
Boston, MA
Jan 27, 2014

Great location, very nice staff

My friend and I stayed in two double by the pool. It was clean and I really enjoyed the very friendly hotel staff, Adam the manager is very good and the front desk is very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there, THANK YOU

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artsy fartsy
Single
Harris Rd, Waterport, NY 14571, USA
Feb 28, 2012

GREAT for a fiftyish woman traveling alone!

I booked this hotel on line. All I wanted was a hotel on the beach.... but I got so much more... location location location... the bus line was close and EASY... access to Old Town, Balboa Park, La Jolla. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants, a grocery store, shopping, shell gathering and even a bead shop to make your own jewelry. So much to do and not enough time. I would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ralph's Grocery has a great variety of wine, prepared foods, and fresh fruit. The Surfer Beach Hotel has ample refigerators in the rooms.... Stock up on locally grown strawberries!!!

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nasiri
Single
Colorado
Feb 18, 2013

Hotel on the Beach

First time at this hotel. Wonderful access to boardwalk and private entry to hotel. Room with balcony and terrific view of ocean. Could hear the waves at night. First room, smelled musty by the elevators and quite loud. When I went back to the front desk, they changed my room. Second room...could not have been happier. Online booking said had view when checked site on reserving. Hotel said all online rooms are NO view. Someone needs to fix that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdie1080
Couples
Scottsdale, AZ
May 11, 2013

Excellent for the money...

Had a great experience. Right on the beach and near everything else. Great price and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to park somewhere else other than the motel lot. They charge $15 a night which I wasn't aware of until I checked in. No big deal, but would've been nice to have an idea before.

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guy P.
Couples
ames
Dec 29, 2014

Awesome couples get away

Perfect location on the beach,exactly what we were looking for in a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ga peach runner
Single
Gainesville
Jul 7, 2015

Spring Break trip

Loved the 4th floor junior suite. Nice size room. Bathroom was a bit small, but overall, loved it. Have been here before and coming again this week! Surfer is my home away from home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Surfer Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MWMyers
Couples
Phoenix, Arizona
Jan 13, 2014

Right on the beach

I always enjoy staying at this hotel. It has an ideal location & parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top