$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
222 reviews
Best place to stay

Love erything their will stay again on my next visit See full review

  • Smitty2kool
  • Apr 10, 2014
Wow... just wow!

This may be my first time staying in this class of hotel, but wow was this place awesome. Anytime a... See full review

  • TJ Awesome
  • Dec 16, 2013
Hip boutique in Gaslamp District features wine hour
In-room spa treatments and a complimentary evening wine hour highlight the experience at the Hotel Solamar, a boutique hotel located in the heart of the Gaslamp District. Part of the Kimpton chain, the hotel rooftop also features a pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar, both of which offer sweeping city views. Rooms come with gourmet organic honor bars and include complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). The on-site restaurant, Jsix, serves California coastal cuisine in a modern and inviting setting.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hosted nightly wine reception
  • Located in the heart of the Gaslamp District
  • Rooftop pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar offer sweeping views of the city
  • Dine on fresh seafood at on-site restaurant Jsix
Rooms

Hotel Solamar offers 235 rooms, including 6 suites, decorated in aqua blue and chocolate brown. Each room boasts a flat-screen TV, iron with ironing board, hair dryer and Gilchrest & Soames bath products. Rooms also include gourment organic honor bars. Guests receive complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available. Pets are welcome, and Hotel Solamar provides complimentary use of food and water bowls and pet beds.

Features

The Hotel Solamar is part of Kimpton's Eco Program, which means it subscribes to a number of sustainable and eco-friendly practices. The hotel received Green Seal Silver certification in 2010.

All guests have complimentary access to the on-site rooftop pool and on-site fitness center. The wellness program includes Pilates and power walks with the hotel staff. Guests also are invited to participate in the complimentary nightly hosted wine reception. The hotel offers 24-hour valet laundry service (fees apply). Passes to a nearby independent fitness center also are available (fees apply).

The Holel Solamar offers in-room spa services that range from skin treatments to full-body massage.

Enjoy fresh seafood at Jsix, the on-site restaurant. LOUNGESix, a rooftop bar and lounge overlooking the pool, serves food as well--mostly small plates.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (8 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp District (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • 5,009 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hybrid vehicles pay half-price parking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7103 -117.1594
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW; General Abelardo L. Rodriguez, (TIJ), 21.80, MI, N; Palm Springs Regional Airport, (PSP), 142.00, MI, SW; Long Beach Airport Daugherty Field, (LGB), 106.00, MI, S
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Accessible Master 1 King Bed
Accessible Master Suite 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Choreographer Suite 1 King Bed
Choreographer Suite with 1 King Bed 725 sq ft, private furnished patio, wet bar, views of pool, living area with sofa sleeper,
Accessible Chrgrphr 1 King Bed
Accessible Choreographer 1 King Roll-In 725 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, accessible tub, comm features ,
Skyline Deluxe with 1 King Bed
Skyline Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Deluxe Guest Room 2 Queen Beds
Deluxe Guest Room with 2 Queen Beds 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Accessible Dlx 2 Queen Roll-In
Accessible Deluxe 2 Queen Roll-In 340 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Spa Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Guest Room with 1 King Bed 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, frette linens, animal print robes,
Spa Corner Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Corner Guest Room with 1 King 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of East Village, frette linens, robes,
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed 480 sq ft, living room with sofa sleeper, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views East Village
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, corner, living room, sofa sleeper Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of Gaslamp,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.2 mi
  • Sea World: 5.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.4 mi
  • Legoland: 30.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

LOUNGEsix
LOUNGEsix on the fourth floor rooftop deck is a tropical urban oasis overlooking downtown and the bay. Plush fireside seating and a casual lounge surround the pool and cabana-bordered patio . Soak in the sun in the day and lounge in style at night.
JSix Restaurant
Chef Christian Graves menu features Coastal California cuisine showcasing fresh innovative foods inspired by seafood flown in every day and ingredients of nearby farms. The dining room offers an ambiance blending different cultural influences of the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 222
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ctl drivers
Charlotte , nc
Jan 1, 2014

Family vacation/football game

When we checked in, it was not a good start. Since we booked it through a third party (cheap tickets) the hotel was sold out. We booked a room with 2 queens since their was 3 of us, the only thing they had open for us was a king room. We had to make a bed for him out of the chair and 2 ottomans since he is 6' 5" but we made due, the next day we got to move to a room like I had booked. Location was perfect, close to all the restaurants, bus station, ect. The walls are very thin, as doors slammed all night and was awakened around 3 am due to someone's phone ringing. All in all we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollybaby757
Grapevine, TX
Jun 24, 2013

Toddler in Tow

This was our first family trip to San Diego and our stay at Hotel Solamar helped to make it a great one. They had cookies at the front desk when we checked in which made my little girl very happy. The location was perfect with lots to do and explore within walking distance. We took our two year old to the New Children’s Museum a few blocks away and to a Padres game which was super close. The room was clean and the bedding was very comfortable. Everything looked modern and trendy. The only downside for me was all the loud music coming from the pool area, but it never seemed to go on too late at night. Nice hotel, would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broken Yolk for an easy and delicious breakfast. Get there before 8am or have to wait. Kid friendly.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grellphish
Berkeley, CA
Apr 22, 2013

Very helpful, friendly staff, great location!

Can't beat the location. Right in the middle of the gaslamp district. Restaurants, bars and shopping abound. 10 min to the airport, 10 min cab ride to Balboa park, 10 min drive to beautiful Coronado beaches. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. My only qualm was that the rooftop pool was closed, which we weren't informed about, and we did not receive any kind of discount because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family matriarch
Reston, VA, USA
Apr 1, 2013

Great boutique hotel in perfect location.

My daughter and I stayed at the Solamar for one night and it was a great experience. Comfortable and clean and well located for walking to almost everything in downtown San Diego and the harbor area. We arrived early and had to wait to check in, but the staff were thoughtful and gave us card key access to their lovely pool deck on the fourth floor. After a long flight from the East Coast, we were grateful to a place to relax and enjoyed sitting in the sun and having a bite to eat while we waited. They called my cell phone to let me know when the room was ready. Well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe 222 - fabulous breakfast place ... specializing in waffles. one of the best breakfasts I have ever had! Delicious food and great service, but get there early and the line forms quickly. Worth the trip to San Diego!

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie O
Rock Island, IL
Aug 15, 2012

Fantastic Wedding Getaway

We went for our nephew's wedding and were very surprised. The hotel was in the perfect location, the room wonderful, and the staff was fantastic! Loved the free cookies as we arrived as well as the free coffee & tea in the morning with wine in the afternoon. All the staff was very friendly and willing to make our stay the best possible! We loved the GasLamp District and would definately consider staying in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Petco Park where the San Diego Padres play was within walking distance and a very nice looking stadium. Unfortunately, they were not in town during our stay!

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego returners
Hawaii
Jul 26, 2012

comfortable, convenient, efficient

Elevators timely, staff very friendly ... location perfect for all we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe K
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Nice hotel for a family gateway

The hotel was very nice, not that clean. The stuff was very good and helpful. Best value for money in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrazilianNutz
Los Angeles
May 1, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

Nice hotel, not too big and very modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks away from lots of bars and restaurants from Mexican to Italian food.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrazilianNutz
Los Angeles
May 1, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

Nice hotel, not too big and very modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks away from lots of bars and restaurants from Mexican to Italian food.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MsDDS
NYC
Jul 18, 2010

don't stay near the lounge

We had a late check in and were given a room on the 4th floor, which basically meant the 2 nights we were there we had no sleep because the lounge and pool are on the 4th floor. The tub in the room was filthy and when we can back from a day of running about, our bed was half made (!?!?!) I think maybe if we were younger we would have like the hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top