$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
222 reviews
Best place to stay

Love erything their will stay again on my next visit See full review

  • Smitty2kool
  • Apr 10, 2014
Wow... just wow!

This may be my first time staying in this class of hotel, but wow was this place awesome. Anytime a... See full review

  • TJ Awesome
  • Dec 16, 2013
Hip boutique in Gaslamp District features wine hour
In-room spa treatments and a complimentary evening wine hour highlight the experience at the Hotel Solamar, a boutique hotel located in the heart of the Gaslamp District. Part of the Kimpton chain, the hotel rooftop also features a pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar, both of which offer sweeping city views. Rooms come with gourmet organic honor bars and include complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). The on-site restaurant, Jsix, serves California coastal cuisine in a modern and inviting setting.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hosted nightly wine reception
  • Located in the heart of the Gaslamp District
  • Rooftop pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar offer sweeping views of the city
  • Dine on fresh seafood at on-site restaurant Jsix
Rooms

Hotel Solamar offers 235 rooms, including 6 suites, decorated in aqua blue and chocolate brown. Each room boasts a flat-screen TV, iron with ironing board, hair dryer and Gilchrest & Soames bath products. Rooms also include gourment organic honor bars. Guests receive complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available. Pets are welcome, and Hotel Solamar provides complimentary use of food and water bowls and pet beds.

Features

The Hotel Solamar is part of Kimpton's Eco Program, which means it subscribes to a number of sustainable and eco-friendly practices. The hotel received Green Seal Silver certification in 2010.

All guests have complimentary access to the on-site rooftop pool and on-site fitness center. The wellness program includes Pilates and power walks with the hotel staff. Guests also are invited to participate in the complimentary nightly hosted wine reception. The hotel offers 24-hour valet laundry service (fees apply). Passes to a nearby independent fitness center also are available (fees apply).

The Holel Solamar offers in-room spa services that range from skin treatments to full-body massage.

Enjoy fresh seafood at Jsix, the on-site restaurant. LOUNGESix, a rooftop bar and lounge overlooking the pool, serves food as well--mostly small plates.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (8 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp District (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • 5,009 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hybrid vehicles pay half-price parking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Accessible Master 1 King Bed
Accessible Master Suite 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Choreographer Suite 1 King Bed
Choreographer Suite with 1 King Bed 725 sq ft, private furnished patio, wet bar, views of pool, living area with sofa sleeper,
Accessible Chrgrphr 1 King Bed
Accessible Choreographer 1 King Roll-In 725 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, accessible tub, comm features ,
Skyline Deluxe with 1 King Bed
Skyline Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Deluxe Guest Room 2 Queen Beds
Deluxe Guest Room with 2 Queen Beds 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Accessible Dlx 2 Queen Roll-In
Accessible Deluxe 2 Queen Roll-In 340 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Spa Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Guest Room with 1 King Bed 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, frette linens, animal print robes,
Spa Corner Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Corner Guest Room with 1 King 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of East Village, frette linens, robes,
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed 480 sq ft, living room with sofa sleeper, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views East Village
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, corner, living room, sofa sleeper Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of Gaslamp,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7103 -117.1594
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW; General Abelardo L. Rodriguez, (TIJ), 21.80, MI, N; Palm Springs Regional Airport, (PSP), 142.00, MI, SW; Long Beach Airport Daugherty Field, (LGB), 106.00, MI, S
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.2 mi
  • Sea World: 5.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.4 mi
  • Legoland: 30.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

LOUNGEsix
LOUNGEsix on the fourth floor rooftop deck is a tropical urban oasis overlooking downtown and the bay. Plush fireside seating and a casual lounge surround the pool and cabana-bordered patio . Soak in the sun in the day and lounge in style at night.
JSix Restaurant
Chef Christian Graves menu features Coastal California cuisine showcasing fresh innovative foods inspired by seafood flown in every day and ingredients of nearby farms. The dining room offers an ambiance blending different cultural influences of the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MsDDS
NYC
Jul 18, 2010

don't stay near the lounge

We had a late check in and were given a room on the 4th floor, which basically meant the 2 nights we were there we had no sleep because the lounge and pool are on the 4th floor. The tub in the room was filthy and when we can back from a day of running about, our bed was half made (!?!?!) I think maybe if we were younger we would have like the hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MsDDS
NYC
Jul 18, 2010

don't stay near the lounge

We had a late check in and were given a room on the 4th floor, which basically meant the 2 nights we were there we had no sleep because the lounge and pool are on the 4th floor. The tub in the room was filthy and when we can back from a day of running about, our bed was half made (!?!?!) I think maybe if we were younger we would have like the hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2011

Sleepless Night

4 star staff and accommodations. Very well managed and maintained. Surprise $35 per night valet only parking. 7th floor room with view to two sides, but also Friday night life sounds from two sides until 2:00 a.m. Ear plugs didn't help. If you don't want to go to sleep until 2:00 a.m., it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2011

Sleepless Night

4 star staff and accommodations. Very well managed and maintained. Surprise $35 per night valet only parking. 7th floor room with view to two sides, but also Friday night life sounds from two sides until 2:00 a.m. Ear plugs didn't help. If you don't want to go to sleep until 2:00 a.m., it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Aug 2, 2009

Good Location

I had called ahead a few weeks before to change my spa room king bed to a 2 queen beds. Upon arriving I was told there are not any spa rooms w/ 2 beds, this was not explained to me on the phone so I was disappointed and called orbitz who called the hotel management but nothing ever came of it, and nobody from the hotel even bothered to contact me. On the 3rd day as I was taking a shower the towel rack fell off the wall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Aug 2, 2009

Good Location

I had called ahead a few weeks before to change my spa room king bed to a 2 queen beds. Upon arriving I was told there are not any spa rooms w/ 2 beds, this was not explained to me on the phone so I was disappointed and called orbitz who called the hotel management but nothing ever came of it, and nobody from the hotel even bothered to contact me. On the 3rd day as I was taking a shower the towel rack fell off the wall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt Z.
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 1, 2014

Great Room! Horrible bed...

When we got there, the front desk receptionist was super friendly and was able to upgrade us to a Spa Suite. It was amazing! The bath tub was huge! The roof top pool bar was great and very chic. However, everything else was just okay. The bed was horrible and they seemed to nickel and dime you for everything. Parking was a rediculous $41 a night, valet only option. Over all, it was a nice stay, but wouldn't stay there again. ** if you are in the area and wants dinner and drinks, head to their pool bar on the 4th floor, AMAZING**

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, ny
Feb 10, 2010

nice but...

Got the king with jacuzzi tub. The room was very comfortable. The hotel has a nice look and feel. My only issue was the automatic 22% gratuity and $3 delivery charge on room service. I Felt nickel and dimed by the hotel. There are other high quality hotels in downtown San Diego. I'd pick another one next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joiephilly
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 9, 2010

As Expected...

The hotel was nice, clean and efficiently run. Free coffee and tea every morning in the lobby and free wine/beer at night during happy hour. Perfect location in the Gaslamp - blocks from the convention center, and only a $12 taxi ride from the airport. The staff is on the young side and not the most client-oriented. One front desk woman in particular was mildly condescending when asked various questions ranging from locations of certain restaurants to where the closest drug store was. Sort of ironic, as the word "like" surfaced in her sentences more frequently than actual nouns or verbs. On Friday nights, the place turns into a club of sorts and passed out drunk people were peppering the hallways - a little disconcerting if you are there with young children. However, in the hotel's defense, when we made a phone call from our room regarding said sleepers, the staff thanked us profusely and it was handled quickly and quietly. The "fitness center" had two treadmills, one elliptical and some dumbbells. A little surprising given the fact we are in downtown San Diego and not a European B&B. If nothing else, a day pass to any one of the multiple gyms that are nearby would have been a much better and classier option. Overall, I would stay here again for the location, cleanliness and price. NOT a luxury hotel, but it sufficed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good-to-great restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joiephilly
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 9, 2010

As Expected...

The hotel was nice, clean and efficiently run. Free coffee and tea every morning in the lobby and free wine/beer at night during happy hour. Perfect location in the Gaslamp - blocks from the convention center, and only a $12 taxi ride from the airport. The staff is on the young side and not the most client-oriented. One front desk woman in particular was mildly condescending when asked various questions ranging from locations of certain restaurants to where the closest drug store was. Sort of ironic, as the word "like" surfaced in her sentences more frequently than actual nouns or verbs. On Friday nights, the place turns into a club of sorts and passed out drunk people were peppering the hallways - a little disconcerting if you are there with young children. However, in the hotel's defense, when we made a phone call from our room regarding said sleepers, the staff thanked us profusely and it was handled quickly and quietly. The "fitness center" had two treadmills, one elliptical and some dumbbells. A little surprising given the fact we are in downtown San Diego and not a European B&B. If nothing else, a day pass to any one of the multiple gyms that are nearby would have been a much better and classier option. Overall, I would stay here again for the location, cleanliness and price. NOT a luxury hotel, but it sufficed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good-to-great restaurants within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top