$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF, CA
Nov 4, 2010

Conference Hotel

Went to a conference in SD. Great hotel and location. Walkable to the SD Conventional Hall. Large spacious rooms. Modern design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of bars/clubs around the hotel in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 27, 2010

GREAT HOTEL GREAT LOCATION

This place was amazing. Great location within the Gaslamp/Downtown area. Everything is within walking distance or a short $15 dollar cab ride away. Tons of Restaurants/Pubs/Shops a short walk away. Zoo and Airport are 3 miles away. Petco Park is 2 blocks away, Navy Pier is 1 mile. Cool bar/lounge outdoors on the 4th floor. Service was great, room service breakfast was great. Definately worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harleygrndma39
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 15, 2010

Great Hotel

For the last minute reservation this was a perfect hotel. Close to clients and dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 9, 2010

Good Hotel

This hotel is great. However, if you are choosing this hotel for the pool services etc then it is worth checking whether it is closed for private functions. We were asked to leave the pool area at 4:30 pm having checked in at 4pm and the pool was one of the reasons we chose it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 6, 2010

Great location, friendly staff

Staff was very helpful, with excellent restaurant recommendations. Hotel is within walking distance of just about everything. Ballpark, convention center, restaurants, grocery and drug stores. The spa deluxe room was worth the extra money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Cafe 222 for a wonderful breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 19, 2010

Solamar a kimpton standards disappointme

We stayed at kimptons since its inception because of high standards. Haven't stayed at one in years, until this weekend at Hotel Solamar. Either Kimpton's standards have slipped or corporate hasn't visited The Solamar in awhile. Our roomwas nice. The bed was way too firm for us, and the bathrrom was dark with the most impractical bathroom sink - we had to keep a towel on the floor and towels all around the sink to sop up the water that flew out whenever we used it! The workmanship of the glass tile installation on the wall around the mirror and the shower was incredibly shoddy and sloppy! The lobby is so dark and uninviting, not reflective of the name solamar. Had breakfast at Jsix. Both of our entrees were good, but overly done. Banana Foster's pancakes were over the top sweet, and the pancakes were thin and chewy. The chiaquilies were flavorful but way too many tortilla strips that overpowered the dish! Staff was nice! And, we had the best mojitos! Sorry to say, we would not return, but still feel Kimpton is a strong brand, and would try another city! Nice bar/pool area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ok
Jul 27, 2010

Fantastic !! [...]

I was very pleased with the my stay at Solmar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MsDDS
Business
NYC
Jul 18, 2010

don't stay near the lounge

We had a late check in and were given a room on the 4th floor, which basically meant the 2 nights we were there we had no sleep because the lounge and pool are on the 4th floor. The tub in the room was filthy and when we can back from a day of running about, our bed was half made (!?!?!) I think maybe if we were younger we would have like the hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, cA
Jul 13, 2010

Awesome Hotel!!

Very friendly staff. Comfortable, modern and not pretentious. Courteous and efficient valet parking. No extra fee for dogs! Room Service is 24/7!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2010

Solamar-Gaslamp Quarter

Everyone was nice, room was comfortable, location was excellent. Wish they would have vacuumed atleast twice during our 4-night stay. (carpet was dark navy) Also, wish there was an exhaust fan in the bathroom...steamy shower left the bathroom damp for a while. But overall, very nice hotel. Valet guys were just the nicest and loved seeing dogs so welcomed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top