$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bpagan4
Redlands, ca
Apr 22, 2013

amazing hotel experience

We had Such A Great Experience At The SolamaR Hotel In San Diego! The Staff WEre Extremely Friendly And Helpful! I Will Look For Kimpton Hotels Wherever I Vacation Now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Perfect weekend for a birthday

The hotel was fantastic - we arrived early and they called as soon as the room was ready. While waiting, we had time to wander the Gaslamp District and grab lunch. As we were there for my girlfriend's birthday, we took advantage of the great location as didn't have to drive or use transportation to hit any of the spots we wanted to go to. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelinghappy
Business
atlanta
Mar 14, 2011

Associate Director of Development

Clean, conveniently located, great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2011

Sleepless Night

4 star staff and accommodations. Very well managed and maintained. Surprise $35 per night valet only parking. 7th floor room with view to two sides, but also Friday night life sounds from two sides until 2:00 a.m. Ear plugs didn't help. If you don't want to go to sleep until 2:00 a.m., it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ramona, CA
Mar 10, 2011

Great city experience!

The hotel was beautifully decorated. The rooftop pool and bar were spectacular! The location is close to Petco Park, the convention center, and the gaslamp district. The hotel parking was expensive, so we parked down the street in a public parking lot for half the cost. The only problem we found was the walls were a bit thin. Overall we had a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Went to the Broadway Pier and took a cruise of the bay. They also have whale watching and a dinner cruise.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Mar 7, 2011

Hotel Solamar

Great hotel. Good location, nice staff, nice rooms. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Clemente
Mar 1, 2011

Great location in the Gaslamp

Located near the restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Feb 26, 2011

Great value and location

Great location and service. Always ennjoy the wine happy hour that Klimpton Hotels have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Feb 7, 2011

nice hotel, location, friendly

great location, quiet, Gaslamp fringe visited Balboa Park, the Seaport, close to cruise- ship port where after 3 nights we embarked on the HAL Statendam for the Panama Canal friendly, helpful staff nice restaurant (somewhat pricey)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honey<3mooner
Business
Philly
Jan 20, 2011

Awesome Getaway

Very super nice, clean, modern, luxurious hotel. It was by far one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Excellent location could walk to everything. Didn't even need the rental that we got. We had an amazing view of the entire city. The hotel was quiet we didn't hear a thing and the staff was overly friendly and extremely helpful. The room was really pretty and decorated nicely with fluffy sheets (my fav) and a huge mirror. The decor was beachy but not annoying or overkill. It was just a wonderful place to stay and I will look to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't pay to valet teh car, there is a well lit parking lot around the block (safe walking distance) to pay just $4-$5 for 10 hours, we just did that it was so much easier than paying $35 a day.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 6, 2011

You will not regret

Great overall experience staying here and reasonable price. Decor is beautiful, excellent front desk and valet service. I got the standard room with 1 king size which I think was too small. The great thing was that the room was very nicely decorated, and felt clean! However, I'll probably get either a suite or standard room with 2 beds (at minimum) assuming the room sizes for those would be bigger. Loved the bathroom with the powerful shower head! I'm a very light sleeper and surprisingly, I did not get woken up in the middle of the night. The leopard and tiger print robes were just hilarious and started our SD trip with a good laugh. Valet overnight parking is is a bit steep, but pretty convenient if you need to get access to your car. Otherwise, check to see if you can park overnight at the lot across the street or at the meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top