$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vicky6119
Business
Oceanside
Dec 9, 2012

Very Nice Hotel, Excellent Restaurant

We had a very nice stay. The staff was excellent. We ate dinner at the restaurant and found the food to be excellent as was the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruno Escobedo
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 26, 2012

Excellent Staff!

excellent staff. the room was clean and it was at great location. the only thing is that I would complain is the stiff mattress and high pillows. we will bring our own pillows next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tartangeordie
Business
San Diego
Nov 15, 2012

Five day break in San Diego

This hotel is not cheap but it is remarkable value. I have stayed in hotels itn as nice rooms or fittings but very rarely have i stopped in a hotel with staff at such a high level without becoming fussy or stuffy. The staff went out of their wy to make you feel welcome and the attnention to detail was first class. I have stayed in various Kimpton hotels before and all an excellent standard but his one near the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a speedboat out on the harbour, bookable at harbour edge beside Marriot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lostintheglades
Business
Miami,fl
Sep 17, 2012

Totally worth every penny!

From check in to check out the experience was seemless! The hotel is in walking distance to so many restaurants, parks, transit center, and shopping! The staff is so friendly and helpful, they strive to meet your needs as much as is possible to them! This place is a must go to!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They give valuable voupons in back of area map if hotel, the map is very easy to use that's how I got everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie O
Business
Rock Island, IL
Aug 15, 2012

Fantastic Wedding Getaway

We went for our nephew's wedding and were very surprised. The hotel was in the perfect location, the room wonderful, and the staff was fantastic! Loved the free cookies as we arrived as well as the free coffee & tea in the morning with wine in the afternoon. All the staff was very friendly and willing to make our stay the best possible! We loved the GasLamp District and would definately consider staying in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Petco Park where the San Diego Padres play was within walking distance and a very nice looking stadium. Unfortunately, they were not in town during our stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taralyn travels
Business
Los Osos, California
Aug 9, 2012

Conference turned vacation

When I arrived, I was absolutely exhausted from the drive from the San Luis Obispo on a Friday evening. I was greeted by the friendliest concierge staff who immediately made me feel like royalty. The ambiance sucked away any stress. My stay was more relaxing than any other 4 day trip I have had. I have stayed in nearby hotels priced similarly, and they don't even come close to how wonderful Solamar is!! The running map and healthy food is a plus. My only request would be a coffee maker in a room in addition to the great brew in the lobby every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Mission Brewery - get a growler to bring back to the room, play some shuffle board before a ball game

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego returners
Business
Hawaii
Jul 26, 2012

comfortable, convenient, efficient

Elevators timely, staff very friendly ... location perfect for all we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matty82
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 23, 2012

Great place for a young couple

The location of the hotel was incredible. We could hit the beaches and the zoo by day and then go out at night without the hassle or fees of a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an ace parking garage up the road that only charges $15 for overnight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 12, 2012

Excellent Hotel with a fabulous restaurant!

Perfect in every weay except when I pulled into the driveway. Unbeknowst to me they charged $40 for overnight parking. Outrageous, but they waived that fee. After that everything well extremely well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Echobao
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Jul 10, 2012

Enjoy the stay

The location is pretty convenient. I also like the happy hour from 5 to 6 and you can drink free white wine and red wine. The parking fee ($45) is really high though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top