$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tinna325
Concord, CA
Mar 31, 2013

great location

Great location close to everything, clean rooms, gorgeous pool, absolutely love the complimentary wine hour and coffee and tea service. The staff is incredibly friendly and the rooms are nice. Really enjoyed our stay will definitely stay with a Kimpton again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the good places short walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutchtraveller
Business
Netherlands
Jan 27, 2013

Stopover

We stayed only one night. It was good value for money and a good location in the gaslamp district just off the main street. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail the Scientist
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 24, 2013

Great place to stay in San Diego

From the elegant lobby to the comfortable lounges to the large, well-appointed rooms, this hotel is an excellent choice for those who want to be in downtown San Diego, close to the heart of the restaurant, sports and convention centers. The outdoor pool and the indoor exercise room aren't huge, but they are very pleasant and definitely adequate. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and our stay was definitely enhanced by the free wine tastings every evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The JSix restaurant in the hotel is high-quality, but there are also at least a dozen interesting restaurants within three blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John the Fearless
Business
Piedmont, CA
Jan 24, 2013

Terrific hotel

Same quality as the Kimpton in Portland, OR where we stayed last September

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SarahLouise90
Business
Orange County, California
Jan 8, 2013

Perfect birthday weekend :)

Sunday the 6th was my 23rd birthday so my boyfriend and I decided to go get away for overnight. The hotel was beautiful. The room was awesome. The bed was the most comfortable thing ever. The staff was a big help. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tegan H.
Business
San Francisco, California
Jan 3, 2013

Great Hotel! But Beware of Holiday Limitations

This hotel was classy, hip, fun and comfortable. We stayed New Years Day and quickly learned that not everything was available - including room service. Their hotel restaurant was closed, the pool bar was closed, there were no lights on at the pool - but it was open... we swam anyway. The cool blue lights were bright enough for us... :) We were looking forward to drinks by the pool and room service, but these were not options. I did not think it was very professional to have limitations on a holiday. At a hotel?!? Seemed odd. Otherwise, the hotel was fantastic. I would stay there again. The bed was super comfortable, the loction was smack in the middle of the gaslamp. The pool was warm and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Rockbottom for the crab and artichoke dip. YUM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Yorker in Town
Business
New York, NY
Dec 31, 2012

Pretty Good Choice in San Diego

The hotel was lovely and the wine hour was great. They don't have self-parking so prepare to pay $40 each day for their valet service or "park at your own risk" across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't even try to park at the Seaport Village in San Diego. Park at your hotel and walk--or take a short cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshuabee
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Dec 10, 2012

Hip hotel at a great price

Exactly what you'd expect from a Kimpton hotel - clean, hip decor, well-appointed comfortable rooms, and a good location. The only complaint I had was that people in the hallways can be LOUD. I get that it's something of a party hotel, but wow it seems like the doors must be made of paper for all the good they did in blocking noise. Side note- If you don't want to hear bass thumping in your room, make sure you request specifically not to be placed on the 5th floor overlooking the pool. It wasn't overwhelming, but it wasn't helping my hangover any while I was trying to sleep it off on a Saturday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're a sports fan, Bub's is literally across the street. Great place to kick it while watching the game - food's good and they have a sizable beer selection on tap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vicky6119
Business
Oceanside
Dec 9, 2012

Very Nice Hotel, Excellent Restaurant

We had a very nice stay. The staff was excellent. We ate dinner at the restaurant and found the food to be excellent as was the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruno Escobedo
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 26, 2012

Excellent Staff!

excellent staff. the room was clean and it was at great location. the only thing is that I would complain is the stiff mattress and high pillows. we will bring our own pillows next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tartangeordie
Business
San Diego
Nov 15, 2012

Five day break in San Diego

This hotel is not cheap but it is remarkable value. I have stayed in hotels itn as nice rooms or fittings but very rarely have i stopped in a hotel with staff at such a high level without becoming fussy or stuffy. The staff went out of their wy to make you feel welcome and the attnention to detail was first class. I have stayed in various Kimpton hotels before and all an excellent standard but his one near the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a speedboat out on the harbour, bookable at harbour edge beside Marriot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top