$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry Duplass
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
Mar 15, 2013

Great vacation spot

Everything was better than we had hoped. Hotel staff was excellent. Ambiance was great. We will go out of our way to stay at a Kimpton Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceanaire Restaurant. Excellent seafood

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaitlyn H
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2013

Great Vacation!

The hotel was in a great location - right near a lot of restaurants and bars in the Gaslamp district. The staff was very helpful with answering questions. The hotel was clean and the pool area is nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Need a mental day travele
Business
El Paso, Texas
Feb 20, 2013

Great Stay

We went to San Diego for the Valentine/President's Day holiday and stayed at the Solamar Hotel. It was our first stay at a Kimpton Hotel and weren't quite sure what to expect. Well our worries were put to rest quickly. We were greeted by a very friendly staff who were more than eager to make our stay in San Diego most enjoyable. They recommended several places for us to visit and must-see in and around town. Our accommodations were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. They have a wine hospitality hour which was very popular among the guests and have free robust coffee each morning. Their location is only a couple of blocks from the main bustling downtown gaslight district. You won't need a car because every thing is so close. However the only reason I gave it four stars is the parking fee of $40 a night. However its not a total loss considering everything it offers. The parking fees are not totally outside other four star hotel's price structures, and without free wine. Me and my wife enjoyed it and will plan on staying here on another ocassion later on this year. I also plan at looking out for other Kimpton Hotels which will offer the great customer service we enjoyed at Solamar in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The pulsating beat of the Gaslight Diatrict is sure to please every taste and dining preference, but a short walk will also take you to Seaport Village where you gotta have lunch or dinner by the waterfront on the Edgewater Grill Restaurant.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutchtraveller
Business
Netherlands
Jan 27, 2013

Stopover

We stayed only one night. It was good value for money and a good location in the gaslamp district just off the main street. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail the Scientist
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 24, 2013

Great place to stay in San Diego

From the elegant lobby to the comfortable lounges to the large, well-appointed rooms, this hotel is an excellent choice for those who want to be in downtown San Diego, close to the heart of the restaurant, sports and convention centers. The outdoor pool and the indoor exercise room aren't huge, but they are very pleasant and definitely adequate. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and our stay was definitely enhanced by the free wine tastings every evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The JSix restaurant in the hotel is high-quality, but there are also at least a dozen interesting restaurants within three blocks.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John the Fearless
Business
Piedmont, CA
Jan 24, 2013

Terrific hotel

Same quality as the Kimpton in Portland, OR where we stayed last September

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SarahLouise90
Business
Orange County, California
Jan 8, 2013

Perfect birthday weekend :)

Sunday the 6th was my 23rd birthday so my boyfriend and I decided to go get away for overnight. The hotel was beautiful. The room was awesome. The bed was the most comfortable thing ever. The staff was a big help. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tegan H.
Business
San Francisco, California
Jan 3, 2013

Great Hotel! But Beware of Holiday Limitations

This hotel was classy, hip, fun and comfortable. We stayed New Years Day and quickly learned that not everything was available - including room service. Their hotel restaurant was closed, the pool bar was closed, there were no lights on at the pool - but it was open... we swam anyway. The cool blue lights were bright enough for us... :) We were looking forward to drinks by the pool and room service, but these were not options. I did not think it was very professional to have limitations on a holiday. At a hotel?!? Seemed odd. Otherwise, the hotel was fantastic. I would stay there again. The bed was super comfortable, the loction was smack in the middle of the gaslamp. The pool was warm and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Rockbottom for the crab and artichoke dip. YUM

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Yorker in Town
Business
New York, NY
Dec 31, 2012

Pretty Good Choice in San Diego

The hotel was lovely and the wine hour was great. They don't have self-parking so prepare to pay $40 each day for their valet service or "park at your own risk" across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't even try to park at the Seaport Village in San Diego. Park at your hotel and walk--or take a short cab.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshuabee
Business
Carlsbad, CA
Dec 10, 2012

Hip hotel at a great price

Exactly what you'd expect from a Kimpton hotel - clean, hip decor, well-appointed comfortable rooms, and a good location. The only complaint I had was that people in the hallways can be LOUD. I get that it's something of a party hotel, but wow it seems like the doors must be made of paper for all the good they did in blocking noise. Side note- If you don't want to hear bass thumping in your room, make sure you request specifically not to be placed on the 5th floor overlooking the pool. It wasn't overwhelming, but it wasn't helping my hangover any while I was trying to sleep it off on a Saturday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're a sports fan, Bub's is literally across the street. Great place to kick it while watching the game - food's good and they have a sizable beer selection on tap.

Back to menu Return to top