$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Vegas Visitor
Business
San Clemente, CA
Jan 1, 2014

New Year's Get-a-way !

Just an overnight getaway for the wifey and I to San Diego, we don't live far, just wanted a break...Hotel is in a great place for shopping, dining, bar scene in the Gaslamp District. Walking distance to everywhere, Petco Park (SD Padres), Gaslamp restaurants, bars, Horton's Plaza shopping center. Spent most of our time at Horton's grabbing end of year specials...great dinner at Donovans Steakhouse, 1 block away from hotel. Had a nice wine and beer reception at hotel (gratis) in the evening, didn't make the free continental in the morning... Have stayed at the Solamar before, its our go to place in SD and hightly recommend it ! Oh yeah, the hotel allows pets...saw many dogs of all sizes...great atmosphere for those that enjoy traveling with their canine kids !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barleymash Pub on 5th...about 3 blocks from hotel. Great selection of beers, good pub food ! Place to be for before, after football games, before-after SD Padres games.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RZ1307
Business
California
Dec 29, 2013

nice hotel

it was a clean and good hotel. the only thing is that parking there is $41 per night, which is a little bit over my budget. other than that, the hotle is at a nice position, you can walk to downtown in one or two minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ Awesome
Business
Murrieta, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Wow... just wow!

This may be my first time staying in this class of hotel, but wow was this place awesome. Anytime a member of the staff saw me, they greeted me, always with a smile, always with a pleasant and cheerful tone. No in room coffee maker, but just ask and they deliver a Keurig to the room for you. I left something in the car after it was valet parked, and a valet retrieved it an delivered it to my room. They have bikes in the lobby that guests can just grab and ride around downtown. They also have wagons (with helmets) behind the front desk to cart around the kiddos. Wifi was free just by signing up for their rewards program which took 30 seconds during the process of connecting to the wifi. Parking is typical for the area ($40/day), but after looking at a number of hotels in the area, what sold me on this one was that parking is only $20/night if you have a hybrid (which we do). They have a nightly reception fron 5-6 in the lobby where guests can enjoy free beer and wine. We will definitely be returning to this hotel, and looking for other Kimpton hotels in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Request an in room coffee maker and check-in and one will be delivered to your room.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hollybaby757
Business
Grapevine, TX
Jun 24, 2013

Toddler in Tow

This was our first family trip to San Diego and our stay at Hotel Solamar helped to make it a great one. They had cookies at the front desk when we checked in which made my little girl very happy. The location was perfect with lots to do and explore within walking distance. We took our two year old to the New Children’s Museum a few blocks away and to a Padres game which was super close. The room was clean and the bedding was very comfortable. Everything looked modern and trendy. The only downside for me was all the loud music coming from the pool area, but it never seemed to go on too late at night. Nice hotel, would recommend to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Broken Yolk for an easy and delicious breakfast. Get there before 8am or have to wait. Kid friendly.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DP Lone traveler
Business
Las Cruces, NM
Jun 19, 2013

Great experience, friendly staff.

I really enjoyed my stay here. Friendly staff. I enjoyed the wine and beer tasting and nice chance to meet people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grellphish
Business
Berkeley, CA
Apr 22, 2013

Very helpful, friendly staff, great location!

Can't beat the location. Right in the middle of the gaslamp district. Restaurants, bars and shopping abound. 10 min to the airport, 10 min cab ride to Balboa park, 10 min drive to beautiful Coronado beaches. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. My only qualm was that the rooftop pool was closed, which we weren't informed about, and we did not receive any kind of discount because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bpagan4
Business
Redlands, ca
Apr 22, 2013

amazing hotel experience

We had Such A Great Experience At The SolamaR Hotel In San Diego! The Staff WEre Extremely Friendly And Helpful! I Will Look For Kimpton Hotels Wherever I Vacation Now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fundraiser Extraordinaire
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 12, 2013

Not as great as usual

Staff friendly. Can't read by the lights in the room. Can't see to do makeup in the bathroom. Want a restaurant with a reasonably priced breakfast, not the usual hotel "trapped by the prices" rates. This was my first Kimpton hotel experience where I really can't rave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not take the airport shuttles. Cab is only $15, taking 5 minutes. Shuttles are $8-10, but took an hour and a half. I could have walked the distance in less time.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family matriarch
Business
Reston, VA, USA
Apr 1, 2013

Great boutique hotel in perfect location.

My daughter and I stayed at the Solamar for one night and it was a great experience. Comfortable and clean and well located for walking to almost everything in downtown San Diego and the harbor area. We arrived early and had to wait to check in, but the staff were thoughtful and gave us card key access to their lovely pool deck on the fourth floor. After a long flight from the East Coast, we were grateful to a place to relax and enjoyed sitting in the sun and having a bite to eat while we waited. They called my cell phone to let me know when the room was ready. Well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe 222 - fabulous breakfast place ... specializing in waffles. one of the best breakfasts I have ever had! Delicious food and great service, but get there early and the line forms quickly. Worth the trip to San Diego!

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracy RD
Business
bakersfield, Ca
Apr 1, 2013

Weekend getaway

Hotel was in such a great location to every thing in the gas lamp district. Staff were friendly and loved the morning coffee and wine hour in the evening. Would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top