$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realeasye
Business
Southern California
Jun 30, 2014

Great location

Perfect spot to experience San Diego Gaslamp. Close to everything but a bit away from the craziness

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smitty2kool
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 10, 2014

Best place to stay

Love erything their will stay again on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk it better then looking for parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas K
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 6, 2014

Excellent location

This was an excellent place to stay if you want to be in the gas lamp district. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt Z.
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 1, 2014

Great Room! Horrible bed...

When we got there, the front desk receptionist was super friendly and was able to upgrade us to a Spa Suite. It was amazing! The bath tub was huge! The roof top pool bar was great and very chic. However, everything else was just okay. The bed was horrible and they seemed to nickel and dime you for everything. Parking was a rediculous $41 a night, valet only option. Over all, it was a nice stay, but wouldn't stay there again. ** if you are in the area and wants dinner and drinks, head to their pool bar on the 4th floor, AMAZING**

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyderx7
Business
NYC
Jan 20, 2014

San Diego...if you want it

After a week of long meetings. I was hoping for some quiet and relaxation, so I chose the Solamar. $41/night for valet (ugh...park across the street or down 1 block for 1/2 that). Very gracious staff - top notch and friendly. The suite I got was perfect - with Fiji soak tub...well, too bad I never got to use it. From the time I checked in til the time I left, a group of 10 30 something year old guys consumed more beer, didn't sleep and made more noise than I could handle. The staff did all they could to subdue, but alas I left a day early. Unfortunate stay. But the hotel is great, although one downside is the walls are paper thin, I could hear these noring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at "Gang" - awesome Asian fusion joint with great decor and fabulous food. Try the miso glaxed BBQ salmon and wild mushroom pot stickers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
7652walkwalk
Business
San Diego
Jan 13, 2014

Under construction

Entire hotel was under construction. Staff was nice under such conditions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Vegas Visitor
Business
San Clemente, CA
Jan 1, 2014

New Year's Get-a-way !

Just an overnight getaway for the wifey and I to San Diego, we don't live far, just wanted a break...Hotel is in a great place for shopping, dining, bar scene in the Gaslamp District. Walking distance to everywhere, Petco Park (SD Padres), Gaslamp restaurants, bars, Horton's Plaza shopping center. Spent most of our time at Horton's grabbing end of year specials...great dinner at Donovans Steakhouse, 1 block away from hotel. Had a nice wine and beer reception at hotel (gratis) in the evening, didn't make the free continental in the morning... Have stayed at the Solamar before, its our go to place in SD and hightly recommend it ! Oh yeah, the hotel allows pets...saw many dogs of all sizes...great atmosphere for those that enjoy traveling with their canine kids !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barleymash Pub on 5th...about 3 blocks from hotel. Great selection of beers, good pub food ! Place to be for before, after football games, before-after SD Padres games.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ctl drivers
Business
Charlotte , nc
Jan 1, 2014

Family vacation/football game

When we checked in, it was not a good start. Since we booked it through a third party (cheap tickets) the hotel was sold out. We booked a room with 2 queens since their was 3 of us, the only thing they had open for us was a king room. We had to make a bed for him out of the chair and 2 ottomans since he is 6' 5" but we made due, the next day we got to move to a room like I had booked. Location was perfect, close to all the restaurants, bus station, ect. The walls are very thin, as doors slammed all night and was awakened around 3 am due to someone's phone ringing. All in all we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RZ1307
Business
California
Dec 29, 2013

nice hotel

it was a clean and good hotel. the only thing is that parking there is $41 per night, which is a little bit over my budget. other than that, the hotle is at a nice position, you can walk to downtown in one or two minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ Awesome
Business
Murrieta, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Wow... just wow!

This may be my first time staying in this class of hotel, but wow was this place awesome. Anytime a member of the staff saw me, they greeted me, always with a smile, always with a pleasant and cheerful tone. No in room coffee maker, but just ask and they deliver a Keurig to the room for you. I left something in the car after it was valet parked, and a valet retrieved it an delivered it to my room. They have bikes in the lobby that guests can just grab and ride around downtown. They also have wagons (with helmets) behind the front desk to cart around the kiddos. Wifi was free just by signing up for their rewards program which took 30 seconds during the process of connecting to the wifi. Parking is typical for the area ($40/day), but after looking at a number of hotels in the area, what sold me on this one was that parking is only $20/night if you have a hybrid (which we do). They have a nightly reception fron 5-6 in the lobby where guests can enjoy free beer and wine. We will definitely be returning to this hotel, and looking for other Kimpton hotels in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Request an in room coffee maker and check-in and one will be delivered to your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top