$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A bruin for ever
Family
Laguna Niguel
Sep 21, 2014

Exceptional service

Exceptional staff with great attention to detail and service. Lobby coffee was not going to be ready until 645 am and I was there at 630 am. A parking valet attendant saw me waiting and went back to the kitchen to get me 2 cups of coffee so I wouldn't have to wait! Their clearly is a culture of service there that everyone of their staff is dedicated to help every customer every opportunity they get regardless of their job description. Will stay there everytime now!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Fun Early 30s
Couples
Huntington Beach, California
Aug 11, 2014

Nice 4-star

Nice 4-star hotel. You get what you expect with the price. Nothing blew me away. Jacuzzi tub was worth the extra price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K1r9n1
Friends
Orange county
Aug 4, 2014

Nothing special

It's close to everything. I think that's the best part. The staff are uber friendly too. Otherwise, i can't think of anything special about this hotel. For the price i paid, i was expecting more. And oh.... Water is $7 per bottle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's close to altitude sky lounge

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Homie13
Couples
San Gabriel
Jul 9, 2014

great location!

The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice! Every time we pulled out to drive somewhere the valet guys would always ask if we needed any help getting anywhere. I was a little shocked with a valet fee every day, it was a little unexpected. Other than that the hotel was in walking distance of everything! shopping and late light dining!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dash Hova
Couples
Connecticut
Jul 1, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Solamar. Room was very nicely designed, and the staff was wonderful. Walls were a little thin (or the kids next door were just REALLY loud), but we didn't mind overall. Will return when we're in the area again. Great value and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Realeasye
Couples
Southern California
Jun 30, 2014

Great location

Perfect spot to experience San Diego Gaslamp. Close to everything but a bit away from the craziness

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smitty2kool
Couples
Los Angeles
Apr 10, 2014

Best place to stay

Love erything their will stay again on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk it better then looking for parking

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas K
Couples
Las Vegas
Apr 6, 2014

Excellent location

This was an excellent place to stay if you want to be in the gas lamp district. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt Z.
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 1, 2014

Great Room! Horrible bed...

When we got there, the front desk receptionist was super friendly and was able to upgrade us to a Spa Suite. It was amazing! The bath tub was huge! The roof top pool bar was great and very chic. However, everything else was just okay. The bed was horrible and they seemed to nickel and dime you for everything. Parking was a rediculous $41 a night, valet only option. Over all, it was a nice stay, but wouldn't stay there again. ** if you are in the area and wants dinner and drinks, head to their pool bar on the 4th floor, AMAZING**

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyderx7
Single
NYC
Jan 20, 2014

San Diego...if you want it

After a week of long meetings. I was hoping for some quiet and relaxation, so I chose the Solamar. $41/night for valet (ugh...park across the street or down 1 block for 1/2 that). Very gracious staff - top notch and friendly. The suite I got was perfect - with Fiji soak tub...well, too bad I never got to use it. From the time I checked in til the time I left, a group of 10 30 something year old guys consumed more beer, didn't sleep and made more noise than I could handle. The staff did all they could to subdue, but alas I left a day early. Unfortunate stay. But the hotel is great, although one downside is the walls are paper thin, I could hear these noring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at "Gang" - awesome Asian fusion joint with great decor and fabulous food. Try the miso glaxed BBQ salmon and wild mushroom pot stickers.

Back to menu Return to top