$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Sep 13, 2009

Best location in town

It was easy to enjoy the entire San Diego area with the Solamar as a home base. The hotel staff was very helpful and dining at JSIx was a great experience. The pool is small but adequate and the rooftop bar is a SanDiego hotspot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Sep 7, 2009

the good and the bad

The staff was friendly but not over friendly. The housekeepers were very friendly and greeted you. The rooms were very small but clean. The bed slept good. The showerhead was wonderful. The only thing that was available was coffee and water, when you went downstairs. There was nothing available for non-coffee drinkers. It seem more for business travelers than people on vacation. No readily information was available for example: how to get around the city or the highlights of the city. There was no phone books available because they went "green". They could look the number up for you and connect you. The only problem was you could not do any searching for yourself. We could not enjoy the pool after a long day of sightseeing. We felt like it was not a family like atmosphere. We do realize that it was located in the nightlife zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Broken Yolk was wonderful. Great service, great food, and did not have to wait long to receive your food. If you want to take a cab because the walk is long try Hob Nob Hill. The food is excellent and the service is wonderful.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iGOiAM
Business
Albany, CA
Aug 28, 2009

Urban Oasis

California Dreaming in San Diego. We stayed in the Hotel Solimar within the Gas Light district of town. Our stay centered upon potential University candidates for our college bound high school senior. Hotel Solimar was impecable, friendly and casual with a refined edge for urban art decor. The beds are very comfortable, pillows clean and downy and the room details most thoughtful. Small touches like a mirror floating off the wall with soft back lighting renders a fun and surprising presentation. A very nice find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Over night parking in the lot across the street for half the hotel rate.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 19, 2009

Hotel Solamar

Nice place and very well located. Just don't bring your kids. This place gets a little R rated in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You really don't need a car when you stay here. Everything is so close and the 30$ parking fee makes having a car a waste. You are better off walking to most things or taking a short cab or bicycle-cab ride to your destination.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Aug 2, 2009

Good Location

I had called ahead a few weeks before to change my spa room king bed to a 2 queen beds. Upon arriving I was told there are not any spa rooms w/ 2 beds, this was not explained to me on the phone so I was disappointed and called orbitz who called the hotel management but nothing ever came of it, and nobody from the hotel even bothered to contact me. On the 3rd day as I was taking a shower the towel rack fell off the wall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mauilu
Business
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Aug 2, 2009

A fabulous Find

The location in the Gaslamp District was ideal! No need for a car. However, if you do have a car, I suggest parking it at the parking lot across the street from the hotel for $15.00/night instead of paying the pricey $35.00/night at the hotel. This hotel has a very good 'feel' about it - Totally fantastic decor - hip, cool, sophisticated casual. Fourth floor level with outside pool, cabanas, firepits, food and bar with glowing colored lights. Complimentary coffee/tea hour in the mornings, icecream treats in the afternoon and wine from 5-6pm! Loved it, loved it. Request any room ending in "10" will give you a larger room, about extra 90 sq feet of sitting space. Will definitely seek out other Kimpton Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent Weekend Getaway

My wife and I stayed at the Solamar for 4 days/3 nights and we could not be happier. Although the rooms are a bit on the smaller side, they were very clean and comfortable. You could not beat the location of this hotel. Tons of restaurants/bars within walking distance. While there, we also took advantage of their 5pm wine hour which was fantastic and gave us an opportunity to meet other guests.Jsix, the restaurant inside the hotel served excellent food (try the burgers) and [...] the bartender served up some great drinks. The bar located on the 4th floor was also nice but definitely go on a Fri/Sat when there are more guests. Petco Park is also 2 blocks away and we attended a Padres game which was also enjoyable since they had fireworks after the game on Fri.All in all, we hope to be back soon and were very happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

While there, check out SeaPort Village, USS Midway Museum, A Padres Game and u have to try the Chorizo/Cheese empanadas served up at Sevilla Tapas Bar.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 20, 2009

Great Hotel

Awesome hotel in great location!! If you don't plan on really exploring San Diego outside of downtown/gaslamp this is the place for you. Great rooftop pool/bar with reasonable prices on food and drinks(big fan of the turkey/avacado sandwhich). Two blocks walk to the MTS stop in front of the convention center. All the bars/restaruants on fifth st. one block away. The only downside would be the absurd cost for valet parking, which is the only option. Other than that, we loved and will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Jul 18, 2009

hotel solamar

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Great rooms!

The room was awesome. It was very clean! I had read that there was a jetted tub in the room,and it actually did meet my expectations. We stayed in the virtuoso suite, which wasn't as big as we expected. But still a great room. I was a little disappointed however because my girlfriend informed me that she followed the link from the website to email the concierge and they never responded. I was getting home from deployment and she wanted to see if she could have the room set up a little more romantic for the two of us along with a few other questions. And like I said, they never responded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top