$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Mar 30, 2010

Nice hotel

Wasn't around long enough to review everything the hotel had to offer, but the staff was friendly, parking is expensive (pay for the lot across the street--it's cheaper)and the location is great! There are tons of shops and restaurants nearby to shop and eat at and lots are in walking distance. This is a wonderful location to stay if you want to see downtown SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vivster
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Solamar- Exemplary service

although our room was not ready until about 1 hour and a half past check in time (and we had gotten there about more than an hour before), they more than made it up to us with excellent perks. i'm grateful to the staff for turning things around for a birthday! rooms were a bit small, but clean and beds were super comfy. pool scene was nice. overall, i loved our stay here and this will likely be my choice next time i'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego local
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2010

Perfect for a young couple

Loved the room, the location, and the free wine hour. Such a cute, botiquey-type hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Water Grill

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines
Mar 3, 2010

Very nice and environmentally responsive

Very well appointed,comfortable, functional room. Truly practices what it professes environmentally--recycling trash can in room, really doesn't change sheets/towels unless requested, etc. Parking at hotel is pricey ($35!), street parking is free 6 pm-8am, but carefully read the street sweeping restrictions or risk a $40 ticket!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vegetarians will be please to know about Pokez vegetarian restaurant about a 10 minute walk at 10th and E. Funky, good food, not for those freaked out by servers with tats.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billikenpt
Business
Memphis
Feb 25, 2010

Easy convention stay

The staff was always friendly and helpful. ALso this was a great location in the gaslamp district. I was attending a convention at the convention center and had an easy 5 minute walk. I did notice the HVAC was pretty quiet--not one of those usual noisy ones that drown out hall noise and neighbor noise. Luckily, my floor did not have any kids. We almost took our kids, but it would've been rough trying to keep them quiet. Workout room is tiny--couple of treadmills and 1 elliptical. Not even a bike. But good value overall for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese Shop

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 24, 2010

Sunny San Diego

We loved the evening wine reception, the staff was very friendly and it created a welcoming feeling. I really appreciated the coffee & tea in the morning, too. The location was great - reasonably close to the trolley line, Petco Park, good restaurants and other great downtown sights. Staff was also helpful with dinner reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bliss
Business
Vista Ca.
Feb 16, 2010

Great Trip, Nice hotel.

Hotel is in a wonderful location, close to the Gaslamp, harbor, convention center and Petco Park. Due to the cost we did not use the Hotels valet, ended up parking in a downtown garage just down the street. Once the car was parked we walked everywhere, shops, resturants and the bay. Staff were all very nice and very couteous. We enjoyed the wine which is served to the guests between 5-6 pm. Our only complaint, which was not the hotels fault was the noisey guests in the room next door. Does make you question the sound insulation used though. Would definitly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bliss
Business
Vista Ca.
Feb 16, 2010

Great Trip, Nice hotel.

Hotel is in a wonderful location, close to the Gaslamp, harbor, convention center and Petco Park. Due to the cost we did not use the Hotels valet, ended up parking in a downtown garage just down the street. Once the car was parked we walked everywhere, shops, resturants and the bay. Staff were all very nice and very couteous. We enjoyed the wine which is served to the guests between 5-6 pm. Our only complaint, which was not the hotels fault was the noisey guests in the room next door. Does make you question the sound insulation used though. Would definitly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TooTallTraveler
Business
Eastern Washington
Feb 12, 2010

Location, Location and a great Staff

As the title states the location is near perfect for our purpose. We were there for a show at the convention center and the hotel is centrally located in the Gaslamp district just one block off the "main drag" therefore quiet at the hotel. Staff was friendly and courteous for whatever the reason we contacted them. We had a little housekeeping issue with our room upon arrival but is was corrected immediately after we notified the staff. We did not use the amenities or restaurant due to our schedule but everything looked as good as advertised. We received a great discount for our business stay otherwise I would not pay the going rate unless you go for vacation and fully utilize the services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great places to eat within walking distance. You may have to step around a panhandler or bum sleeping on the sidewalk. None were aggressive but it tainted the experience. San Diego should keep it clear in the main tourist areas.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 12, 2010

Great Location very accommodating staff

Location in the Gas Lamp Dist. Close to everything. Staff very helpful and accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's Mexican Restuarant (great margarittas) and Blue Point for awesome seafood and service.

Back to menu Return to top