$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
435 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
142 reviews
Best place to stay

Love erything their will stay again on my next visit See full review

  • Smitty2kool
  • Apr 10, 2014
Wow... just wow!

This may be my first time staying in this class of hotel, but wow was this place awesome. Anytime a... See full review

  • TJ Awesome
  • Dec 16, 2013
Hip boutique in Gaslamp District features wine hour
In-room spa treatments and a complimentary evening wine hour highlight the experience at the Hotel Solamar, a boutique hotel located in the heart of the Gaslamp District. Part of the Kimpton chain, the hotel rooftop also features a pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar, both of which offer sweeping city views. Rooms come with gourmet organic honor bars and include complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). The on-site restaurant, Jsix, serves California coastal cuisine in a modern and inviting setting.
Highlights
  • Complimentary hosted nightly wine reception
  • Located in the heart of the Gaslamp District
  • Rooftop pool deck and LOUNGEsix bar offer sweeping views of the city
  • Dine on fresh seafood at on-site restaurant Jsix
Rooms

Hotel Solamar offers 235 rooms, including 6 suites, decorated in aqua blue and chocolate brown. Each room boasts a flat-screen TV, iron with ironing board, hair dryer and Gilchrest & Soames bath products. Rooms also include gourment organic honor bars. Guests receive complimentary overnight shoe shines (upon request). Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available. Pets are welcome, and Hotel Solamar provides complimentary use of food and water bowls and pet beds.

Features

The Hotel Solamar is part of Kimpton's Eco Program, which means it subscribes to a number of sustainable and eco-friendly practices. The hotel received Green Seal Silver certification in 2010.

All guests have complimentary access to the on-site rooftop pool and on-site fitness center. The wellness program includes Pilates and power walks with the hotel staff. Guests also are invited to participate in the complimentary nightly hosted wine reception. The hotel offers 24-hour valet laundry service (fees apply). Passes to a nearby independent fitness center also are available (fees apply).

The Holel Solamar offers in-room spa services that range from skin treatments to full-body massage.

Enjoy fresh seafood at Jsix, the on-site restaurant. LOUNGESix, a rooftop bar and lounge overlooking the pool, serves food as well--mostly small plates.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (8 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (4 mi/7 km)
Attractions
  • Gaslamp District (1 block)
  • Petco Park (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Zoo (2 mi/3 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
  • Point Loma (5 mi/9 km)
  • Sea World (6 mi/10 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • 5,009 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)
  • Hybrid vehicles pay half-price parking

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7103 -117.1594
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, NW; General Abelardo L. Rodriguez, (TIJ), 21.80, MI, N; Palm Springs Regional Airport, (PSP), 142.00, MI, SW; Long Beach Airport Daugherty Field, (LGB), 106.00, MI, S
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Accessible Master 1 King Bed
Accessible Master Suite 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Choreographer Suite 1 King Bed
Choreographer Suite with 1 King Bed 725 sq ft, private furnished patio, wet bar, views of pool, living area with sofa sleeper,
Accessible Chrgrphr 1 King Bed
Accessible Choreographer 1 King Roll-In 725 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, accessible tub, comm features ,
Skyline Deluxe with 1 King Bed
Skyline Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Deluxe Guest Room 2 Queen Beds
Deluxe Guest Room with 2 Queen Beds 340 sq ft, frette linens, animal print robes, oversized desk, HD TV, gourmet honor bar,
Accessible Dlx 2 Queen Roll-In
Accessible Deluxe 2 Queen Roll-In 340 sq ft, roll-in shower, comm features,
Spa Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Guest Room with 1 King Bed 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, frette linens, animal print robes,
Spa Corner Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Corner Guest Room with 1 King 420 sq ft, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of East Village, frette linens, robes,
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed
Virtuoso Suite with 1 King Bed 480 sq ft, living room with sofa sleeper, Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views East Village
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed
Masters Suite with 1 King Bed 570 sq ft, corner, living room, sofa sleeper Fuji Soak Tub, glass shower, views of Gaslamp,

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.2 mi
  • Sea World: 5.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.4 mi
  • Legoland: 30.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

LOUNGEsix
LOUNGEsix on the fourth floor rooftop deck is a tropical urban oasis overlooking downtown and the bay. Plush fireside seating and a casual lounge surround the pool and cabana-bordered patio . Soak in the sun in the day and lounge in style at night.
JSix Restaurant
Chef Christian Graves menu features Coastal California cuisine showcasing fresh innovative foods inspired by seafood flown in every day and ingredients of nearby farms. The dining room offers an ambiance blending different cultural influences of the area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruno Escobedo
Los Angeles, California
Nov 26, 2012

Excellent Staff!

excellent staff. the room was clean and it was at great location. the only thing is that I would complain is the stiff mattress and high pillows. we will bring our own pillows next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Fun Early 30s
Huntington Beach, California
Aug 11, 2014

Nice 4-star

Nice 4-star hotel. You get what you expect with the price. Nothing blew me away. Jacuzzi tub was worth the extra price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K1r9n1
Orange county
Aug 4, 2014

Nothing special

It's close to everything. I think that's the best part. The staff are uber friendly too. Otherwise, i can't think of anything special about this hotel. For the price i paid, i was expecting more. And oh.... Water is $7 per bottle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's close to altitude sky lounge

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dash Hova
Connecticut
Jul 1, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Solamar. Room was very nicely designed, and the staff was wonderful. Walls were a little thin (or the kids next door were just REALLY loud), but we didn't mind overall. Will return when we're in the area again. Great value and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smitty2kool
Los Angeles
Apr 10, 2014

Best place to stay

Love erything their will stay again on my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk it better then looking for parking

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas K
Las Vegas
Apr 6, 2014

Excellent location

This was an excellent place to stay if you want to be in the gas lamp district. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt Z.
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 1, 2014

Great Room! Horrible bed...

When we got there, the front desk receptionist was super friendly and was able to upgrade us to a Spa Suite. It was amazing! The bath tub was huge! The roof top pool bar was great and very chic. However, everything else was just okay. The bed was horrible and they seemed to nickel and dime you for everything. Parking was a rediculous $41 a night, valet only option. Over all, it was a nice stay, but wouldn't stay there again. ** if you are in the area and wants dinner and drinks, head to their pool bar on the 4th floor, AMAZING**

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyderx7
NYC
Jan 20, 2014

San Diego...if you want it

After a week of long meetings. I was hoping for some quiet and relaxation, so I chose the Solamar. $41/night for valet (ugh...park across the street or down 1 block for 1/2 that). Very gracious staff - top notch and friendly. The suite I got was perfect - with Fiji soak tub...well, too bad I never got to use it. From the time I checked in til the time I left, a group of 10 30 something year old guys consumed more beer, didn't sleep and made more noise than I could handle. The staff did all they could to subdue, but alas I left a day early. Unfortunate stay. But the hotel is great, although one downside is the walls are paper thin, I could hear these noring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at "Gang" - awesome Asian fusion joint with great decor and fabulous food. Try the miso glaxed BBQ salmon and wild mushroom pot stickers.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
7652walkwalk
Business
San Diego
Jan 13, 2014

Under construction

Entire hotel was under construction. Staff was nice under such conditions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron Vegas Visitor
San Clemente, CA
Jan 1, 2014

New Year's Get-a-way !

Just an overnight getaway for the wifey and I to San Diego, we don't live far, just wanted a break...Hotel is in a great place for shopping, dining, bar scene in the Gaslamp District. Walking distance to everywhere, Petco Park (SD Padres), Gaslamp restaurants, bars, Horton's Plaza shopping center. Spent most of our time at Horton's grabbing end of year specials...great dinner at Donovans Steakhouse, 1 block away from hotel. Had a nice wine and beer reception at hotel (gratis) in the evening, didn't make the free continental in the morning... Have stayed at the Solamar before, its our go to place in SD and hightly recommend it ! Oh yeah, the hotel allows pets...saw many dogs of all sizes...great atmosphere for those that enjoy traveling with their canine kids !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barleymash Pub on 5th...about 3 blocks from hotel. Great selection of beers, good pub food ! Place to be for before, after football games, before-after SD Padres games.

Review of Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ctl drivers
Charlotte , nc
Jan 1, 2014

Family vacation/football game

When we checked in, it was not a good start. Since we booked it through a third party (cheap tickets) the hotel was sold out. We booked a room with 2 queens since their was 3 of us, the only thing they had open for us was a king room. We had to make a bed for him out of the chair and 2 ottomans since he is 6' 5" but we made due, the next day we got to move to a room like I had booked. Location was perfect, close to all the restaurants, bus station, ect. The walls are very thin, as doors slammed all night and was awakened around 3 am due to someone's phone ringing. All in all we would probably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search