$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

4 stars
View map of 1380 Harbor Island Drive, 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy Mack
Couples
phoenix az
May 29, 2013

great location

bathroom was small and needed hooks to hang clothing. parking was easy and close to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelvin from Saint Louis
Couples
St Louis MO
May 28, 2013

Find another place

This isn't close to being a four star hotel. There is an additional $22 per day parking charge that isn't disclosed online. This is to self park not valet park your vehicle. There is a sulfur or something smell from the bathroom water or vents. We left in the morning and returned at 4:30 pm to find that our room still hadn't been cleaned nor the bath towels replenished. They allowed a wedding reception and some other event to overwhelm the parking areas so that we VERY inconvenienced trying to park even though we are being charged a daily rate. I don't travel a whole lot but I definitely wasn't impressed with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el chaco
Couples
moss beach ca
May 20, 2013

fantastic good and fan

freely people and good service clean yacuzy fun pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unimpressed Momma
Family
Tucson, Az
Apr 30, 2013

You'd think that would be included...

I've always heard about how great staying at the Sheraton was. It's supposed to be all ritzy and luxurious but it lacked comfort and just plain old hospitality. The hotel and location was beautiful. The staff was beyond polite however every time I turned around I was greeted with an "Additional Charge". The first charge I incurred was $10 for the Disney channel (which only lasted until noon the following day). It was sold as an "On Demand" channel however it was no different from the FREE Disney Channel app that I downloaded on my iPad. In addition to having to pay for a standard tv channel I was told that if I wanted to connect to the hotel wifi I would have to pay $12 each day I'd like to have access. With as much as guests pay for rooms I would think these services would be complimentary. I would have preferred staying at a Holiday Inn or a La Quinta which offer lower prices for marginally smaller rooms and included free wifi and all cable channels. In addition they offer free continental and sometimes made to order breakfasts. If a less expensive hotel can offer all of these as FREE services, why can't a hotel like the Sheraton?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Vacation Sue
Couples
Townsend, MA
Apr 17, 2013

Sheraton Marina

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We were a little concerned over reading other post regarding the location by the airport but we found the location to be perfect. The only disappointment was parking. We didn't realize we were going to be charged $22/day for parking. The Marriott Court Yard has free parking and free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDexplorer
Single
Minneapolis
Apr 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable, attentive staff, but $22 a day parking??

Nice enough hotel. Far from downtown fun but close to airport so that's a wash. Needed an early check in (around 9am) which the staff accommodated by moving me from the Marina to the Bay tower. Both seemed nice. They actually have a third building that resembles a shabby motel behind the gorgeous main tower that they tried to move me to first. I objected and was put in the Bay tower after I decided to upgrade from a standard to a deluxe room for an extra $25 a night. Parking at the Marina tower is a joke. You literally park blocks away from the entrance in a partially dirt lot and get to pay $22 a night for the privilege. The lot at the Bay tower however is new, nice, a few steps away from the entrance and fully paved. That said, I'm glad I was moved to the Bay tower. Incidentally, when I made a fuss about the ridiculous parking situation, however, the gentleman at the check in desk waived my room upgrade fee to compensate for the parking - which he obviously didn't have to do since you really have no choice but to park there. There is only a laundry room in the Marina tower so I had to take the shuttle over and do my laundry there but that was only a small inconvenience. When I got there, the laundry soap vending machine was empty but they sent someone up to fill it within 10-15 minutes. Room was clean (except sea gull poo all over the balcony), quiet and comfortable. I slept like a baby in a the king bed.Great in-room movie selection, nice new furniture, very nice, attentive staff. No complimentary breakfast, restaurants are expensive, but so is everything in San Diego so I can't complain too much. Biggest complaint was the parking, but it was resolved on the spot. Probably a hit and miss place with the "Standard" experience, but my "Deluxe" stay was overall very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The whole "West Coast party don't stop" thing doesn't apply to San Diego. Last call is 1:30 and the bars start kicking you out at 1:45 - which seems strange for a self-proclaimed contender for "Convention Capital of America". Even the gentlemen's clubs close at 2 (if you're a single guy or group of guys interested in that kind of thing). Plan ahead and stock your room with drinks if you want to keep the party going after 2. Otherwise 5th Ave. in downtown is fun til they start rolling up the streets up at 1:30. Be sure to hit Po5 (Pizza on 5th) for a great late night slice.

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deft Joseph Q DJQ
Business
Bmore
Apr 13, 2013

Nice Quiet Place to Stay

The view is great. and you barely notice that you are right across the street from the airport. You do need a car to get around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslamp

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmgp
Business
Lima, Peru
Apr 8, 2013

Good hotel but....

A little bit off the beaten path but very close to the airport. The fun and exciting SD is not close. I was surprised to be charged $12 daily for internet access. For a 4star hotel that service should be included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidMatt
Couples
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 2, 2013

Nice Location

The hotel is right on the bay so you can request a bay view and wake up to the ocean every morning! Be prepared to pay $22/day to park at the hotel :/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Sushi Deli in the Gas Lamp area. 6 Sushi plates for 4 people with a few drinks was around $60, cheap! Be prepared for a long wait, no reservations accepted.

Review of Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandralea
Single
Dallas
Apr 2, 2013

Fabulous weekend!

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! It was so convenient with the airport shuttle taking me to the door. I stayed in the bay tower and the view was exceptional. I walked along the waters and enjoyed my own little sea world full of pelicans diving for dinner, harbor seals peeking out of the water, and the many ships, boats, and other harbor activities going on. Very much full of the flavor of San Diego. Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top