$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
46 reviews
Beautiful rooms.

Beautiful rooms, very comfortable, top notch staff, great restaurant in the hotel. Superb breakfast. See full review

  • JosephMott
  • Dec 7, 2014
Extraordinary service, comfortable, quiet getaway

The service was incredible ! Every person working on the premises makes certain your stay is... See full review

  • NYCgirlfriends
  • Feb 13, 2014
Welcome to the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel - a central location providing convenient access to the premier attractions in America's Finest City. Immerse yourself in our Mission Valley hotel's resort-style setting, with a unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. Enjoy a full host of amenities and services, from breathtaking balcony views, to the downtown trolley stop within steps of our door. Relax in our corners of comfort loungers throughout the hotel. Experience the excitement of Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, SeaWorld, and much more - all just minutes from our hotel. Each of our Mission Valley hotel's guest rooms offer high-speed internet, premium cable, luxurious bedding by Marriott, and other first-rate amenities. Our concierge floors, premium suites, and business traveler-friendly rooms set us apart from other hotels in Mission Valley, California at the one-of-a-kind San Diego Marriott Mission Valley hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Marriott Mission Valley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 7.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 23.8 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.5 mi

Dining

DEN (DineEntertainNetwork)
The DEN, our on-site Mission Valley restaurant, is the perfect place to dine, entertain and network with friends and colleagues. Relax and enjoy great selections from our menu featuring American cuisine and delicious dining in Mission Valley.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 46
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevwow
Business
Los angeles
Jul 7, 2014

great place to stay in

Enjoyed my time here. Really great staff. VERY clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TestTaker007
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 15, 2013

Could stay again in this hotel

Cons: parking ($16 daily), Internet is not free, continental breakfast $20 daily... And many other charges that you usually have for free on other hotels Pros: location was great ... You are like 10-20minutes to every corner of the city... Very centric and nearby major freeways... Plus food, malls, etc around the hotel are plenty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dnoff
Business
Virginia
Oct 8, 2013

Over-charge

I understand that hotels in San Diego charge for parking...now. But why does a three star hotel charge for internet? With the price of the room, charging for internet seems close to price-gouging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demal
Business
los angeles, ca
Sep 30, 2013

great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they took care of it in less the 5 mins. We were there for the game, we bought our tickets from stub hub which we picked up in the hotel lobby very convient trolly was available to and from the stadium and it ran every 15 min! Bed was extremly comfortable. The lady at front desk recommended their marriot burger it was excellent and huge we only stayed for one night but I would definitely stay again and recommend it to a friend. Also gorgeous view of stadium and san diego from the 17th floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take trolly to stadium only 5 dollars for both ways cheaper than stadium parking beat the crowd and avoid walking the hill of doom

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
synv
Business
mass
May 7, 2013

great getaway

hotel was clean, the room was clean and neat, friendly staffs, main highway was close by, near lots of shopping centers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

La Jolla Cove most beautiful and peaceful place ever about 20 min or less from san diego and you will not be disappointed. one of my favorite place to visit everytime i am in san diego

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa and Noma
Business
Tustin CA
May 7, 2012

son's birthday weekend

ideal location for us to get between two son's homes. staff is extremely helpful. our favorite place to stay in S.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

excellent hotel food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lonestar Ranger
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Positive Experience

It was a smooth stay overall. The staff were responsive to our needs and were respectful of our privacy. Everything was very clean and the soaps and lotions were great. After checking other parking rates, this hotel had one of the lower daily rates. However, if you caught the right time, street parking was also available. The location was near food and groceries which was convenient. It wasn't too far from the airport and it was also near other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IT Geek
Business
Pleasantview, Idaho
Nov 10, 2010

A bit much

My wife and I had just returned from a week in Maui, HI. We stayed in a condo run by Marriott and assumed the Hotel in San Diego would be equal if not close to Hawaii. It was far from what we had expected. The first surprise was the $14.00 per night charge for parking. Then add charges for in room movies and the lack of a microwave. To top it off there were two bottles of water in the room, the label on the water stated in large print "Complimentary" in very small print impossible to see with 60 year old eyes there would be a $3.50 charge to our bill for a drink of bottled water. On the second night when the covers were rolled back a small spider ran across the sheets. I was able to hunt it down and smash it with my shoe. We were on the fifth floor. I wonder what we would have found on the second or third floor. As far as the staff is concern everyone was friendly and very helpful. The grounds were well maintained and very nice. The location was very convenient and close to shopping and freeways. I would recommend this hotel to others as long as nickels and dimes are not a concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shop around a bit, I wish I had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foxynanna
Business
Grand Prairie, TX
Nov 9, 2010

Family Wedding

Over all the stay was wonderful. Did not like the idea we had to pay to park at the hotel everyday. That did not make sense. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again and tell friends and family to stay there also. Loved that it was close to everything that you want to go see. Plenty of resteraunts, beaches, seaworld, and the zoo. Had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, the beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudia the traveler
Business
pasadena, california
Feb 16, 2010

great relaxing get-away

the room was very clean which is one of the most important things for me when traveling, and the staff was very helpful and energetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the night life in the gas lamp quarter is the best!! its packed with an energetic crowd, and there are tons of bars to choose from=]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top