$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
45 reviews
Extraordinary service, comfortable, quiet getaway

The service was incredible ! Every person working on the premises makes certain your stay is... See full review

  • NYCgirlfriends
  • Feb 13, 2014
great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they... See full review

  • demal
  • Sep 30, 2013
Welcome to the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel - a central location providing convenient access to the premier attractions in America's Finest City. Immerse yourself in our Mission Valley hotel's resort-style setting, with a unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. Enjoy a full host of amenities and services, from breathtaking balcony views, to the downtown trolley stop within steps of our door. Relax in our corners of comfort loungers throughout the hotel. Experience the excitement of Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, SeaWorld, and much more - all just minutes from our hotel. Each of our Mission Valley hotel's guest rooms offer high-speed internet, premium cable, luxurious bedding by Marriott, and other first-rate amenities. Our concierge floors, premium suites, and business traveler-friendly rooms set us apart from other hotels in Mission Valley, California at the one-of-a-kind San Diego Marriott Mission Valley hotel.

Hotel Map

32.7749 -117.1399
Area served
Downtown San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Marriott Mission Valley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 7.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 23.8 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.5 mi

Dining

DEN (DineEntertainNetwork)
The DEN, our on-site Mission Valley restaurant, is the perfect place to dine, entertain and network with friends and colleagues. Relax and enjoy great selections from our menu featuring American cuisine and delicious dining in Mission Valley.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sri824u
Business
richmond,bc
May 31, 2010

Too Bad

room was ok but the internet is not free...this is the first hotel in my life that i paid internet for and parking.....the internet did not work properly.....to make to work i had to stay with customer service for 20 mins..... then i had to wait for technician for 2 hours.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTTTddd
Business
CA
Nov 10, 2011

DD

Very dated hotel, totally over priced. Not good ould not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dnoff
Business
Virginia
Oct 8, 2013

Over-charge

I understand that hotels in San Diego charge for parking...now. But why does a three star hotel charge for internet? With the price of the room, charging for internet seems close to price-gouging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IT Geek
Business
Pleasantview, Idaho
Nov 10, 2010

A bit much

My wife and I had just returned from a week in Maui, HI. We stayed in a condo run by Marriott and assumed the Hotel in San Diego would be equal if not close to Hawaii. It was far from what we had expected. The first surprise was the $14.00 per night charge for parking. Then add charges for in room movies and the lack of a microwave. To top it off there were two bottles of water in the room, the label on the water stated in large print "Complimentary" in very small print impossible to see with 60 year old eyes there would be a $3.50 charge to our bill for a drink of bottled water. On the second night when the covers were rolled back a small spider ran across the sheets. I was able to hunt it down and smash it with my shoe. We were on the fifth floor. I wonder what we would have found on the second or third floor. As far as the staff is concern everyone was friendly and very helpful. The grounds were well maintained and very nice. The location was very convenient and close to shopping and freeways. I would recommend this hotel to others as long as nickels and dimes are not a concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shop around a bit, I wish I had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
imperial county. ca
May 31, 2010

FAMILY TRIP

Staff a check in was friendly. Rooms were small, parking spaces were extremely small and limited. We ended up parking on the street about 1 block away from Hotel. Requested parking not be charged, we were told this would be reveresed from our charges. Will check billing once it comes in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to shopping and Dave & Busters close by for family entertainment and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 14, 2010

Old hotel and bad location

Old hotel with small bathrooms, old carpets and, what is worse, dirty. No Wi-Fi in the rooms and almost insignificant business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 25, 2010

Average

Parking fee at hotel was additional ($14.00) and not disclosed when reserving. While the bed had a foam pad on top the pad itself was not on the bed properly and quite lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Cruces, NM
Aug 5, 2010

Roadtrip

The bed was very comfortable. Hotel location was good. Parking was not very good. Charge $14.00 a day however if you get in late the parking lot gets full so you have to park out on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

near the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paid for internet
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

FEE FOR WI-FI...RIDICULOUS

Hotel was perfect. Staff were great. Room was clean...But they charge for wi-fi. Who in their right mind nickel and dime people over wi-fi. It like charging for toilet paper...it is ridiculous. I'd rather they raise their rates by a few bucks and give me free wi-fi. Charging for internet just left a bad taste...it tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 11, 2010

Older hotel refurbished

The hotel required you to pay for parking. $14 a day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top