$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
68 reviews
Extraordinary service, comfortable, quiet getaway

The service was incredible ! Every person working on the premises makes certain your stay is... See full review

  • NYCgirlfriends
  • Feb 13, 2014
great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they... See full review

  • demal
  • Sep 30, 2013
Welcome to the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel - a central location providing convenient access to the premier attractions in America's Finest City. Immerse yourself in our Mission Valley hotel's resort-style setting, with a unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. Enjoy a full host of amenities and services, from breathtaking balcony views, to the downtown trolley stop within steps of our door. Relax in our corners of comfort loungers throughout the hotel. Experience the excitement of Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, SeaWorld, and much more - all just minutes from our hotel. Each of our Mission Valley hotel's guest rooms offer high-speed internet, premium cable, luxurious bedding by Marriott, and other first-rate amenities. Our concierge floors, premium suites, and business traveler-friendly rooms set us apart from other hotels in Mission Valley, California at the one-of-a-kind San Diego Marriott Mission Valley hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Marriott Mission Valley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7749 -117.1399
Area served
Downtown San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 7.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 23.8 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.5 mi

Dining

DEN (DineEntertainNetwork)
The DEN, our on-site Mission Valley restaurant, is the perfect place to dine, entertain, and network with friends and colleagues. Relax and enjoy great selections from our menu featuring American cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariaugusta
San Diego, California
Sep 23, 2012

Not Bad

The hotel staff was really nice, the room was clean, overall a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2009

San Deigo Chargers Game

the trolley was located behind the hotel and took us right practically into the stadium. we also took the trolley to old town for a bite to eat before the game. very easy and inexpensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa and Noma
Tustin CA
May 7, 2012

son's birthday weekend

ideal location for us to get between two son's homes. staff is extremely helpful. our favorite place to stay in S.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

excellent hotel food

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, ohio
Jun 1, 2009

san deigo

Regular visitor, fine facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey19
Ontario, Canada
Oct 12, 2009

Nice! Nice! Nice!

Enjoyed the hotel, the staff and especially the bed and bedding...extremely comfortable.Very nice pool area. The staff was very courteous. The front desk staff helped us out with directions etc. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.If you want to be near downtown or the harbour then you may want to look for something else in that area otherwise definitely stay here it's very easy to get around via the commuter train. This place is well worth it. Rated as a 4 star & believe me it is. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk from the hotel is the commuter train(trolley train). You can buy a day pass for $5 ride the train, transfer to buses, get off & on as much as you want. Stops at all of the sightseeing places. Fashion Valley Shopping mall is on the route which is a beautiful shopping area.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, ohio
Jun 1, 2009

san deigo

Regular visitor, fine facility

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 11, 2007

Customer Service Oriented Hotel

The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley was nice. The factor that made it most pleasurable was the staff of the hotel. From check-in to check-out, they were wanting to please. At check-in, I was assigned a room on a different floor from friends I was meeting. I inquired, and immediately the front desk put us on the same floor and next door to our friends room. In addition, I forgot my shaving kit. I called the front desk, and they quickly brought shaving creme and a razor to my room. Room Service was quick, and the food was awesome!!! Very tasty!!! The location was perfect and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World just 10-15 minutes away. The beach was also pretty close... a short drive away.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYCgirlfriends
NYC
Feb 13, 2014

Extraordinary service, comfortable, quiet getaway

The service was incredible ! Every person working on the premises makes certain your stay is perfect in every way. It took 5 mins to check in. Was able to check in early. They have complementary chilled water with fresh strawberries daily. Fresh oranges and apples, complimentary. Gym has earphones, again complimentary. Wall St Journal, u guessed it ! Housekeeping professional and fills every request promptly. Incredible pool with many chaise lounge chairs. A hot tub. Workout room with several machines. Laundry available for guests ( did not use, nice for families). Nice gift shop. Efficient elevators. Great upscale sports bar and restaurant. Professional staff, wonderful food. Several stores, restaurants within walking distance. A "trolley" (above ground train) that takes you to more shopping and attractions. Recommend Super Shuttle to and from airport $12 per person (each way). Front Desk will set up with just 1 call. I honestly have only good things to say about my stay !Highly recommend ! Wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take Trolley/ train to Fashion Valley Shopping for nice stores and restaurants

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demal
los angeles, ca
Sep 30, 2013

great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they took care of it in less the 5 mins. We were there for the game, we bought our tickets from stub hub which we picked up in the hotel lobby very convient trolly was available to and from the stadium and it ran every 15 min! Bed was extremly comfortable. The lady at front desk recommended their marriot burger it was excellent and huge we only stayed for one night but I would definitely stay again and recommend it to a friend. Also gorgeous view of stadium and san diego from the 17th floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take trolly to stadium only 5 dollars for both ways cheaper than stadium parking beat the crowd and avoid walking the hill of doom

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey19
Ontario, Canada
Oct 12, 2009

Nice! Nice! Nice!

Enjoyed the hotel, the staff and especially the bed and bedding...extremely comfortable.Very nice pool area. The staff was very courteous. The front desk staff helped us out with directions etc. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.If you want to be near downtown or the harbour then you may want to look for something else in that area otherwise definitely stay here it's very easy to get around via the commuter train. This place is well worth it. Rated as a 4 star & believe me it is. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk from the hotel is the commuter train(trolley train). You can buy a day pass for $5 ride the train, transfer to buses, get off & on as much as you want. Stops at all of the sightseeing places. Fashion Valley Shopping mall is on the route which is a beautiful shopping area.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2009

San Deigo Chargers Game

the trolley was located behind the hotel and took us right practically into the stadium. we also took the trolley to old town for a bite to eat before the game. very easy and inexpensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top