$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
View map of 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles
Oct 11, 2010

Older hotel refurbished

The hotel required you to pay for parking. $14 a day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego
Jun 6, 2010

California

Checked in Early but room we booked not available. Room Very Small. Food very expensive with limited choice in hotel restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Indio

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neurotraveler
Business
SF bay area, ca
Nov 17, 2010

Quiet but filthy

The hotel was very quiet and the staff was friendly, but my room was really dirty. I could see gross filth running down side of toilet and on seat that was never cleaned in my 4 nite stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shuttle bus takes about 30 min from this hotel to SD convention center.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
san francisco, CA
Mar 10, 2010

Fairly Ordinary

Was a fine experience. The hotel was a bit outdated when compared to other hotel chains and a bit institutional. This hotel should be downgraded to a 3-star instead of 4-star as the experience of staying there did not measure to other 4-star hotels. The walls are very thin, and you can hear everything in the hallway and the nearby rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very Close to Mission Valley Shopping Malls and Fashion Valley Mall.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blud
Business
Charlotte,N.C.
Oct 19, 2009

Excellent location

I rested while i stayed in the hotel. The remote control did'nt work well at all, that was a minus.. Overall, i enjoyed my stay at your hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shawn
Family
Bakersfield
Mar 2, 2015

Business trip

I did not receive the King room I had booked and nothing was offered to accommodate or compensate for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Francisco
Family
N/A
Aug 5, 2015

Summer Family trip

The stay could have been better if a continental breakfast were offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTTTddd
Business
CA
Nov 10, 2011

DD

Very dated hotel, totally over priced. Not good ould not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dnoff
Couples
Virginia
Oct 8, 2013

Over-charge

I understand that hotels in San Diego charge for parking...now. But why does a three star hotel charge for internet? With the price of the room, charging for internet seems close to price-gouging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IT Geek
Couples
Pleasantview, Idaho
Nov 10, 2010

A bit much

My wife and I had just returned from a week in Maui, HI. We stayed in a condo run by Marriott and assumed the Hotel in San Diego would be equal if not close to Hawaii. It was far from what we had expected. The first surprise was the $14.00 per night charge for parking. Then add charges for in room movies and the lack of a microwave. To top it off there were two bottles of water in the room, the label on the water stated in large print "Complimentary" in very small print impossible to see with 60 year old eyes there would be a $3.50 charge to our bill for a drink of bottled water. On the second night when the covers were rolled back a small spider ran across the sheets. I was able to hunt it down and smash it with my shoe. We were on the fifth floor. I wonder what we would have found on the second or third floor. As far as the staff is concern everyone was friendly and very helpful. The grounds were well maintained and very nice. The location was very convenient and close to shopping and freeways. I would recommend this hotel to others as long as nickels and dimes are not a concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shop around a bit, I wish I had.

Back to menu Return to top