$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
View map of 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
imperial county. ca
May 31, 2010

FAMILY TRIP

Staff a check in was friendly. Rooms were small, parking spaces were extremely small and limited. We ended up parking on the street about 1 block away from Hotel. Requested parking not be charged, we were told this would be reveresed from our charges. Will check billing once it comes in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to shopping and Dave & Busters close by for family entertainment and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, CA
Mar 10, 2010

Fairly Ordinary

Was a fine experience. The hotel was a bit outdated when compared to other hotel chains and a bit institutional. This hotel should be downgraded to a 3-star instead of 4-star as the experience of staying there did not measure to other 4-star hotels. The walls are very thin, and you can hear everything in the hallway and the nearby rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very Close to Mission Valley Shopping Malls and Fashion Valley Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudia the traveler
Business
pasadena, california
Feb 16, 2010

great relaxing get-away

the room was very clean which is one of the most important things for me when traveling, and the staff was very helpful and energetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the night life in the gas lamp quarter is the best!! its packed with an energetic crowd, and there are tons of bars to choose from=]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westerly Rhode Island
Feb 2, 2010

caters to Marriott elite/businessmen

parking was $14 a night....very expensive no free coffee in the lobby at any time free internet should be available in your room dedicate a computer and printer just to print boarding passes concierge should be available for anyone staying at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat on the roof top of Mr. A's in San Diego....fabulous view, superb service, and great menu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 25, 2010

Average

Parking fee at hotel was additional ($14.00) and not disclosed when reserving. While the bed had a foam pad on top the pad itself was not on the bed properly and quite lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outostate Visitor
Business
New London, CT
Oct 31, 2009

Great Location for access to everywhere!

Great location for exploring San Diego. Trolley is located about 500 feet behind the hotel, great for getting to Downtown, Old Town, or San Diego State.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of great dining in the Mission Valley area and near Fashion Valley, both available by Trolley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gemini
Business
New Jersey
Oct 20, 2009

Fabulous Friendly Fun.....

We came to San Diego to visit our son and found this marvelous Marriott. The services were outstanding and it was so centrally located it made our travel experience and wonderful one. We were able to travel easily thorough out San Diego. It was also very close to my sons home which made this trip so much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blud
Business
Charlotte,N.C.
Oct 19, 2009

Excellent location

I rested while i stayed in the hotel. The remote control did'nt work well at all, that was a minus.. Overall, i enjoyed my stay at your hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey19
Business
Ontario, Canada
Oct 12, 2009

Nice! Nice! Nice!

Enjoyed the hotel, the staff and especially the bed and bedding...extremely comfortable.Very nice pool area. The staff was very courteous. The front desk staff helped us out with directions etc. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.If you want to be near downtown or the harbour then you may want to look for something else in that area otherwise definitely stay here it's very easy to get around via the commuter train. This place is well worth it. Rated as a 4 star & believe me it is. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk from the hotel is the commuter train(trolley train). You can buy a day pass for $5 ride the train, transfer to buses, get off & on as much as you want. Stops at all of the sightseeing places. Fashion Valley Shopping mall is on the route which is a beautiful shopping area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 9, 2009

San Deigo Chargers Game

the trolley was located behind the hotel and took us right practically into the stadium. we also took the trolley to old town for a bite to eat before the game. very easy and inexpensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top