$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
View map of 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neurotraveler
Business
SF bay area, ca
Nov 17, 2010

Quiet but filthy

The hotel was very quiet and the staff was friendly, but my room was really dirty. I could see gross filth running down side of toilet and on seat that was never cleaned in my 4 nite stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shuttle bus takes about 30 min from this hotel to SD convention center.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IT Geek
Couples
Pleasantview, Idaho
Nov 10, 2010

A bit much

My wife and I had just returned from a week in Maui, HI. We stayed in a condo run by Marriott and assumed the Hotel in San Diego would be equal if not close to Hawaii. It was far from what we had expected. The first surprise was the $14.00 per night charge for parking. Then add charges for in room movies and the lack of a microwave. To top it off there were two bottles of water in the room, the label on the water stated in large print "Complimentary" in very small print impossible to see with 60 year old eyes there would be a $3.50 charge to our bill for a drink of bottled water. On the second night when the covers were rolled back a small spider ran across the sheets. I was able to hunt it down and smash it with my shoe. We were on the fifth floor. I wonder what we would have found on the second or third floor. As far as the staff is concern everyone was friendly and very helpful. The grounds were well maintained and very nice. The location was very convenient and close to shopping and freeways. I would recommend this hotel to others as long as nickels and dimes are not a concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shop around a bit, I wish I had.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foxynanna
Couples
Grand Prairie, TX
Nov 9, 2010

Family Wedding

Over all the stay was wonderful. Did not like the idea we had to pay to park at the hotel everyday. That did not make sense. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again and tell friends and family to stay there also. Loved that it was close to everything that you want to go see. Plenty of resteraunts, beaches, seaworld, and the zoo. Had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaworld, San Diego Zoo, the beaches.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles
Oct 11, 2010

Older hotel refurbished

The hotel required you to pay for parking. $14 a day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skie500
Friends
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 19, 2010

Nice Hotel, good service,awesome pool!

This is a better then average hotel, pretty lobby, friendly staff, comfy bedding, good location near Hillcrest via cab just over $10 bucks. The pool was amazing it has a resort feel with great poolside cocktail service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Macys/Target shopping center is right down the street very short drive.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago
Jul 14, 2010

Old hotel and bad location

Old hotel with small bathrooms, old carpets and, what is worse, dirty. No Wi-Fi in the rooms and almost insignificant business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Diego
Jun 6, 2010

California

Checked in Early but room we booked not available. Room Very Small. Food very expensive with limited choice in hotel restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Indio

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
imperial county. ca
May 31, 2010

FAMILY TRIP

Staff a check in was friendly. Rooms were small, parking spaces were extremely small and limited. We ended up parking on the street about 1 block away from Hotel. Requested parking not be charged, we were told this would be reveresed from our charges. Will check billing once it comes in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to shopping and Dave & Busters close by for family entertainment and dining.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
san francisco, CA
Mar 10, 2010

Fairly Ordinary

Was a fine experience. The hotel was a bit outdated when compared to other hotel chains and a bit institutional. This hotel should be downgraded to a 3-star instead of 4-star as the experience of staying there did not measure to other 4-star hotels. The walls are very thin, and you can hear everything in the hallway and the nearby rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very Close to Mission Valley Shopping Malls and Fashion Valley Mall.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claudia the traveler
Couples
pasadena, california
Feb 16, 2010

great relaxing get-away

the room was very clean which is one of the most important things for me when traveling, and the staff was very helpful and energetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

the night life in the gas lamp quarter is the best!! its packed with an energetic crowd, and there are tons of bars to choose from=]

Back to menu Return to top