$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
View map of 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa and Noma
Tustin CA
May 7, 2012

son's birthday weekend

ideal location for us to get between two son's homes. staff is extremely helpful. our favorite place to stay in S.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

excellent hotel food

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
synv
Business
mass
May 7, 2013

great getaway

hotel was clean, the room was clean and neat, friendly staffs, main highway was close by, near lots of shopping centers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

La Jolla Cove most beautiful and peaceful place ever about 20 min or less from san diego and you will not be disappointed. one of my favorite place to visit everytime i am in san diego

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariaugusta
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 23, 2012

Not Bad

The hotel staff was really nice, the room was clean, overall a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Marine
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 18, 2012

Homebase during convention

Stayed here for Comic-Con 2012; be warned, it's one of the furthest from Downtown but still serviced by the free shuttles and is about a 30 minute ride one-way. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was very friendly. The room (2 double beds) seemed a little on the small side but the bathroom was pretty large. Would recommend if you're OK with the location and would stay again if it weren't so far from the Gaslamp and Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For toiletries/misc. stuff you forgot to pack, skip the gift shop in the lobby and check out the K-Mart that's across the street.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lonestar Ranger
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Positive Experience

It was a smooth stay overall. The staff were responsive to our needs and were respectful of our privacy. Everything was very clean and the soaps and lotions were great. After checking other parking rates, this hotel had one of the lower daily rates. However, if you caught the right time, street parking was also available. The location was near food and groceries which was convenient. It wasn't too far from the airport and it was also near other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTTTddd
Business
CA
Nov 10, 2011

DD

Very dated hotel, totally over priced. Not good ould not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paid for internet
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

FEE FOR WI-FI...RIDICULOUS

Hotel was perfect. Staff were great. Room was clean...But they charge for wi-fi. Who in their right mind nickel and dime people over wi-fi. It like charging for toilet paper...it is ridiculous. I'd rather they raise their rates by a few bucks and give me free wi-fi. Charging for internet just left a bad taste...it tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Football fan from California
Business
Oakland, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Overpriced

This Marriott is very close to Qualcomm Stadium, which was convenient for us since we visited San Diego to see the Raiders/Chargers game. The trolley is a 3-minute walk from the hotel, and the trolley is a quick 5-minute ride to the stadium. The hotel is quiet and the staff were helpful. However, for the size room and the quality of the bathroom, it was not worth what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neurotraveler
Business
SF bay area, ca
Nov 17, 2010

Quiet but filthy

The hotel was very quiet and the staff was friendly, but my room was really dirty. I could see gross filth running down side of toilet and on seat that was never cleaned in my 4 nite stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shuttle bus takes about 30 min from this hotel to SD convention center.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IT Geek
Business
Pleasantview, Idaho
Nov 10, 2010

A bit much

My wife and I had just returned from a week in Maui, HI. We stayed in a condo run by Marriott and assumed the Hotel in San Diego would be equal if not close to Hawaii. It was far from what we had expected. The first surprise was the $14.00 per night charge for parking. Then add charges for in room movies and the lack of a microwave. To top it off there were two bottles of water in the room, the label on the water stated in large print "Complimentary" in very small print impossible to see with 60 year old eyes there would be a $3.50 charge to our bill for a drink of bottled water. On the second night when the covers were rolled back a small spider ran across the sheets. I was able to hunt it down and smash it with my shoe. We were on the fifth floor. I wonder what we would have found on the second or third floor. As far as the staff is concern everyone was friendly and very helpful. The grounds were well maintained and very nice. The location was very convenient and close to shopping and freeways. I would recommend this hotel to others as long as nickels and dimes are not a concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shop around a bit, I wish I had.

Back to menu Return to top