San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
68 reviews
Extraordinary service, comfortable, quiet getaway

The service was incredible ! Every person working on the premises makes certain your stay is... See full review

  • NYCgirlfriends
  • Feb 13, 2014
great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they... See full review

  • demal
  • Sep 30, 2013
Welcome to the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel - a central location providing convenient access to the premier attractions in America's Finest City. Immerse yourself in our Mission Valley hotel's resort-style setting, with a unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. Enjoy a full host of amenities and services, from breathtaking balcony views, to the downtown trolley stop within steps of our door. Relax in our corners of comfort loungers throughout the hotel. Experience the excitement of Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, SeaWorld, and much more - all just minutes from our hotel. Each of our Mission Valley hotel's guest rooms offer high-speed internet, premium cable, luxurious bedding by Marriott, and other first-rate amenities. Our concierge floors, premium suites, and business traveler-friendly rooms set us apart from other hotels in Mission Valley, California at the one-of-a-kind San Diego Marriott Mission Valley hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Hotel Map

32.7749 -117.1399
Area served
Downtown San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 8.00, MI, NE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Sea World: 5.2 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 7.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 23.8 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.5 mi

Dining

DEN (DineEntertainNetwork)
The DEN, our on-site Mission Valley restaurant, is the perfect place to dine, entertain, and network with friends and colleagues. Relax and enjoy great selections from our menu featuring American cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariaugusta
San Diego, California
Sep 23, 2012

Not Bad

The hotel staff was really nice, the room was clean, overall a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Marine
Oakland, CA
Jul 18, 2012

Homebase during convention

Stayed here for Comic-Con 2012; be warned, it's one of the furthest from Downtown but still serviced by the free shuttles and is about a 30 minute ride one-way. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was very friendly. The room (2 double beds) seemed a little on the small side but the bathroom was pretty large. Would recommend if you're OK with the location and would stay again if it weren't so far from the Gaslamp and Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For toiletries/misc. stuff you forgot to pack, skip the gift shop in the lobby and check out the K-Mart that's across the street.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa and Noma
Tustin CA
May 7, 2012

son's birthday weekend

ideal location for us to get between two son's homes. staff is extremely helpful. our favorite place to stay in S.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

excellent hotel food

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lonestar Ranger
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Positive Experience

It was a smooth stay overall. The staff were responsive to our needs and were respectful of our privacy. Everything was very clean and the soaps and lotions were great. After checking other parking rates, this hotel had one of the lower daily rates. However, if you caught the right time, street parking was also available. The location was near food and groceries which was convenient. It wasn't too far from the airport and it was also near other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTTTddd
Business
CA
Nov 10, 2011

DD

Very dated hotel, totally over priced. Not good ould not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paid for internet
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

FEE FOR WI-FI...RIDICULOUS

Hotel was perfect. Staff were great. Room was clean...But they charge for wi-fi. Who in their right mind nickel and dime people over wi-fi. It like charging for toilet paper...it is ridiculous. I'd rather they raise their rates by a few bucks and give me free wi-fi. Charging for internet just left a bad taste...it tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Football fan from California
Oakland, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Overpriced

This Marriott is very close to Qualcomm Stadium, which was convenient for us since we visited San Diego to see the Raiders/Chargers game. The trolley is a 3-minute walk from the hotel, and the trolley is a quick 5-minute ride to the stadium. The hotel is quiet and the staff were helpful. However, for the size room and the quality of the bathroom, it was not worth what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Football fan from California
Oakland, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Overpriced

This Marriott is very close to Qualcomm Stadium, which was convenient for us since we visited San Diego to see the Raiders/Chargers game. The trolley is a 3-minute walk from the hotel, and the trolley is a quick 5-minute ride to the stadium. The hotel is quiet and the staff were helpful. However, for the size room and the quality of the bathroom, it was not worth what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neurotraveler
Business
SF bay area, ca
Nov 17, 2010

Quiet but filthy

The hotel was very quiet and the staff was friendly, but my room was really dirty. I could see gross filth running down side of toilet and on seat that was never cleaned in my 4 nite stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shuttle bus takes about 30 min from this hotel to SD convention center.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neurotraveler
Business
SF bay area, ca
Nov 17, 2010

Quiet but filthy

The hotel was very quiet and the staff was friendly, but my room was really dirty. I could see gross filth running down side of toilet and on seat that was never cleaned in my 4 nite stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shuttle bus takes about 30 min from this hotel to SD convention center.

Back to menu Return to top