$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
View map of 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demal
Couples
los angeles, ca
Sep 30, 2013

great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they took care of it in less the 5 mins. We were there for the game, we bought our tickets from stub hub which we picked up in the hotel lobby very convient trolly was available to and from the stadium and it ran every 15 min! Bed was extremly comfortable. The lady at front desk recommended their marriot burger it was excellent and huge we only stayed for one night but I would definitely stay again and recommend it to a friend. Also gorgeous view of stadium and san diego from the 17th floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take trolly to stadium only 5 dollars for both ways cheaper than stadium parking beat the crowd and avoid walking the hill of doom

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuliaG
Friends
Aliso Viejo, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Nice Hotel

This was a nice hotel, very clean, great pool area. The only issue we had was that they were over-sold and they had a water leak so they did not have a room for us. The put us in a "Hospitality Suite" so there was no real bed. The murphy bed was not fabulous and the roll-aways were basically springs. If t weren't for that, it would have been a perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from Sea World and MUCH less expensive than other Sea World hotels (and cleaner).

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
synv
Couples
mass
May 7, 2013

great getaway

hotel was clean, the room was clean and neat, friendly staffs, main highway was close by, near lots of shopping centers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

La Jolla Cove most beautiful and peaceful place ever about 20 min or less from san diego and you will not be disappointed. one of my favorite place to visit everytime i am in san diego

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariaugusta
Single
San Diego, California
Sep 23, 2012

Not Bad

The hotel staff was really nice, the room was clean, overall a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Space Marine
Friends
Oakland, CA
Jul 18, 2012

Homebase during convention

Stayed here for Comic-Con 2012; be warned, it's one of the furthest from Downtown but still serviced by the free shuttles and is about a 30 minute ride one-way. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was very friendly. The room (2 double beds) seemed a little on the small side but the bathroom was pretty large. Would recommend if you're OK with the location and would stay again if it weren't so far from the Gaslamp and Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For toiletries/misc. stuff you forgot to pack, skip the gift shop in the lobby and check out the K-Mart that's across the street.

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Napa and Noma
Couples
Tustin CA
May 7, 2012

son's birthday weekend

ideal location for us to get between two son's homes. staff is extremely helpful. our favorite place to stay in S.D.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

excellent hotel food

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lonestar Ranger
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Positive Experience

It was a smooth stay overall. The staff were responsive to our needs and were respectful of our privacy. Everything was very clean and the soaps and lotions were great. After checking other parking rates, this hotel had one of the lower daily rates. However, if you caught the right time, street parking was also available. The location was near food and groceries which was convenient. It wasn't too far from the airport and it was also near other tourist attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TTTTddd
Business
CA
Nov 10, 2011

DD

Very dated hotel, totally over priced. Not good ould not return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paid for internet
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

FEE FOR WI-FI...RIDICULOUS

Hotel was perfect. Staff were great. Room was clean...But they charge for wi-fi. Who in their right mind nickel and dime people over wi-fi. It like charging for toilet paper...it is ridiculous. I'd rather they raise their rates by a few bucks and give me free wi-fi. Charging for internet just left a bad taste...it tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Football fan from California
Friends
Oakland, CA
Dec 7, 2010

Overpriced

This Marriott is very close to Qualcomm Stadium, which was convenient for us since we visited San Diego to see the Raiders/Chargers game. The trolley is a 3-minute walk from the hotel, and the trolley is a quick 5-minute ride to the stadium. The hotel is quiet and the staff were helpful. However, for the size room and the quality of the bathroom, it was not worth what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top