$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

4 stars
8757 Rio San Diego Drive, 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
45 reviews
Beautiful rooms.

Beautiful rooms, very comfortable, top notch staff, great restaurant in the hotel. Superb breakfast. See full review

  • JosephMott
  • Dec 7, 2014
Extraordinary service, comfortable, quiet getaway

The service was incredible ! Every person working on the premises makes certain your stay is... See full review

  • NYCgirlfriends
  • Feb 13, 2014
Welcome to the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel - a central location providing convenient access to the premier attractions in America's Finest City. Immerse yourself in our Mission Valley hotel's resort-style setting, with a unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. Enjoy a full host of amenities and services, from breathtaking balcony views, to the downtown trolley stop within steps of our door. Relax in our corners of comfort loungers throughout the hotel. Experience the excitement of Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, SeaWorld, and much more - all just minutes from our hotel. Each of our Mission Valley hotel's guest rooms offer high-speed internet, premium cable, luxurious bedding by Marriott, and other first-rate amenities. Our concierge floors, premium suites, and business traveler-friendly rooms set us apart from other hotels in Mission Valley, California at the one-of-a-kind San Diego Marriott Mission Valley hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Marriott Mission Valley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.9 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.5 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 4.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 4.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 4.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.7 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 7.2 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 8.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 23.8 mi
  • Legoland: 26.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,115.5 mi

Dining

DEN (DineEntertainNetwork)
The DEN, our on-site Mission Valley restaurant, is the perfect place to dine, entertain and network with friends and colleagues. Relax and enjoy great selections from our menu featuring American cuisine and delicious dining in Mission Valley.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demal
los angeles, ca
Sep 30, 2013

great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they took care of it in less the 5 mins. We were there for the game, we bought our tickets from stub hub which we picked up in the hotel lobby very convient trolly was available to and from the stadium and it ran every 15 min! Bed was extremly comfortable. The lady at front desk recommended their marriot burger it was excellent and huge we only stayed for one night but I would definitely stay again and recommend it to a friend. Also gorgeous view of stadium and san diego from the 17th floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take trolly to stadium only 5 dollars for both ways cheaper than stadium parking beat the crowd and avoid walking the hill of doom

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JosephMott
Business
West Hollywood, CA
Dec 7, 2014

Beautiful rooms.

Beautiful rooms, very comfortable, top notch staff, great restaurant in the hotel. Superb breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents always on the go
Business
Murrieta, ca
Aug 9, 2014

Great place

It was a great mini vacation for my family. My kids really love the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kevwow
Business
Los angeles
Jul 7, 2014

great place to stay in

Enjoyed my time here. Really great staff. VERY clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James James James
Business
Houston, Texas
May 21, 2014

Enjoyed my stay

Arrived at this hotel and noticed how it is nearby many chain restaurants and mall/shopping strips. Check in was smooth and easy. Lobby (with complimentary wifi) was decent. Three elevators were right behind the front desk. Hallways are a little small. Room is decent, just a tad bit small. Rooms could use a few more easily accessible outlets and a master light switch. Bathroom has no vent. Those were all minor complaints. Gym is decent. Pool looks nice, they said it was heated, but when I touched the water, it didn't feel heated. Parking was plenty. Hotel was no more than 10-15 minutes from Hilcrest, Gaslamp, La Jolla, Pacific Beach. Would stay again. Overall, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Break Mom 2014
Business
Colorado
Apr 6, 2014

Spring Break

Very nice hotel. Great amenities. Parking was a little expensive, but I think it is average for the area. Only compliant would be the fact that they only provided 3 towels for a room that had 4 females in it. We had to call for extra towels everyday, but they were delivered very promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYCgirlfriends
Business
NYC
Feb 13, 2014

Extraordinary service, comfortable, quiet getaway

The service was incredible ! Every person working on the premises makes certain your stay is perfect in every way. It took 5 mins to check in. Was able to check in early. They have complementary chilled water with fresh strawberries daily. Fresh oranges and apples, complimentary. Gym has earphones, again complimentary. Wall St Journal, u guessed it ! Housekeeping professional and fills every request promptly. Incredible pool with many chaise lounge chairs. A hot tub. Workout room with several machines. Laundry available for guests ( did not use, nice for families). Nice gift shop. Efficient elevators. Great upscale sports bar and restaurant. Professional staff, wonderful food. Several stores, restaurants within walking distance. A "trolley" (above ground train) that takes you to more shopping and attractions. Recommend Super Shuttle to and from airport $12 per person (each way). Front Desk will set up with just 1 call. I honestly have only good things to say about my stay !Highly recommend ! Wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take Trolley/ train to Fashion Valley Shopping for nice stores and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TestTaker007
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 15, 2013

Could stay again in this hotel

Cons: parking ($16 daily), Internet is not free, continental breakfast $20 daily... And many other charges that you usually have for free on other hotels Pros: location was great ... You are like 10-20minutes to every corner of the city... Very centric and nearby major freeways... Plus food, malls, etc around the hotel are plenty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dnoff
Business
Virginia
Oct 8, 2013

Over-charge

I understand that hotels in San Diego charge for parking...now. But why does a three star hotel charge for internet? With the price of the room, charging for internet seems close to price-gouging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demal
Business
los angeles, ca
Sep 30, 2013

great for visting charger stadium

Staff was very friendly, and helpful our door had latch from the inside (a small defect) and they took care of it in less the 5 mins. We were there for the game, we bought our tickets from stub hub which we picked up in the hotel lobby very convient trolly was available to and from the stadium and it ran every 15 min! Bed was extremly comfortable. The lady at front desk recommended their marriot burger it was excellent and huge we only stayed for one night but I would definitely stay again and recommend it to a friend. Also gorgeous view of stadium and san diego from the 17th floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take trolly to stadium only 5 dollars for both ways cheaper than stadium parking beat the crowd and avoid walking the hill of doom

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuliaG
Business
Aliso Viejo, CA
Aug 26, 2013

Nice Hotel

This was a nice hotel, very clean, great pool area. The only issue we had was that they were over-sold and they had a water leak so they did not have a room for us. The put us in a "Hospitality Suite" so there was no real bed. The murphy bed was not fabulous and the roll-aways were basically springs. If t weren't for that, it would have been a perfect stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from Sea World and MUCH less expensive than other Sea World hotels (and cleaner).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top