$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

4 stars
View map of 660 K Street, 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
June Peters
Business
De Pere, WI
Oct 2, 2013

good experince

room, staff, etc good. Only complaint was expense of wifi. Chose not to pay and had terrible reception on phone. Could not use ipad. Who is going to pay $80 a week for wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoyed closeness to attractions and conference location

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles Southbay area
Jun 28, 2009

Nice place to stay

Nice place. Lots of restaurants and night life places to choose from. No parking available $30 valet parking force fed to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

check area on internet to see various businesses to pick from.

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Aug 16, 2010

Great location, convenient Gaslamp fun!

I have stayed at this hotel for 5 years and continue to enjoy its location and views. I was given an option of 2 rooms to select from and the staff chose for me - well done! Quiet room overlooking the ballpark and water/bridge. However, the other guests tend to be younger on the weekends and were very noisey. Business Center is workable, although 20-min limit on computer access it tough when you are working deals. I will plan to stay here again! I enjoy seeing the staff in Padre shirts on game day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Glendale, Ca
May 9, 2010

great location....great price!

wonderful experience here...stayed on a saturday night for $100...perfect location for bar hopping on a saturday night. wonderful view of petco park from our room. no waiting in line and free admission for altitude bar/lounge with 360 views of petco park and the bay. only bad point - beds were springy and uncomfortable. i would also suggest that you park across the street. overnight parking with them is $16 where valet with the hotel is $32

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington State
Mar 25, 2011

Nice and smooth!

Everything about our stay was just that: nice and smooth. We had a rental car which we used 2-3 times a day to drive to Seaworld, Coronado Island, Mission Bay, Old Town, La Jolla which, by the way, were all fast and easy (with GPS of course) to get to. The valet staff were great. We had one dinner in the Soleil K restaurant that was definitely different in selection and taste which I didn't mind but my wife and 21 year old son weren't happy with it. There is no pool, and no in room refrigerator or microwave. Otherwise the hotel was great. Top floor has the Altitude bar with a good view of Petco Park (they weren't playing baseball at the time), but it was fun just the same despite the moderately windy conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A myriad of restaurants and nightlife in Gaslamp Quarter. The hotel is on the outskirts of the quarter but we were still able to walk relatively short distances to get to our destination of interest.

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin the Night
Friends
SM, CA
Feb 7, 2010

Just what we needed..

It was my birthday and some friends and I needed a hotel that was near all downtown activities. This hotel was perfect Petco Park and the Convention Center are across the street and the night club we went to was in walking distance (took less than 5 minutes walking). Honestly, everything was in walking distance almost. Not only is the location great but the hotel itself is beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you don't want to pay for valet parking a parking structure is directly in front of the hotel for a bit less for overnight parking. But if you're staying longer I would recommend valet. The only thing that wasn't too great was in the morning the maid was a little loud and the walls are a little thin but we didn't notice any of this until the morning, and it's not even that bad. Oh, and did I mention that the beds are EXTREMELY comfortable!! Best hotel bed I've ever slept in, from the mattress to the blankets to the pillows. Will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Mar 24, 2011

Almost perfect

My wife and I wanted to have a get away weekend, and that's what we got. Near San Diego's gaslamp, I was able to take her to a very good restaurant. After that we went back to the hotel for a nice intimate evening. The room was more than we could hope. Except, our room was opposite the parking structure from Petco park. Late at night, I could hear tires screeching and people screaming from "their" night in the gaslamp district. It was frustrating. Overall I would say it was very good, not great. My advice - Make sure you do not get a room facing the parking structure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drumdudesmom
Family
Portland, OR
Nov 15, 2010

Great hotel - great location!

Service excellent. Great tips from concierge. Friendly staff. Location great - in the heart of fantastic shopping and restaurants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location with easy access to Zoo / Sea World.

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Jul 14, 2009

Good location, unusual room

Nice hotel with great location near Petco Park and restaurants and nightlife in Gaslamp district. Also, close to boardwalk on San Diego Bay. However, note that bathrooms have sliding doors that do not completely close so you hear all noises from the bathroom. No swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NY
Nov 12, 2010

Great Vacation Spot for all ages

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and nice. always greeted you with a smile and helping attitude. the rooftop lounge/bar area with the firepit overlooking petco park was very enjoyable. the gym facilities were also very nice, lots of windows and space. the only negative about the hotel...would have to be there was no pool area. maybe my mistake but when on the website i thought it had mentioned a pool. i think it would be a nice addition to the hotel. There were plenty of different types of restuarants in walking/close distance from the hotel. i do suggest a car in san diego though...we went the the san diego zoo which was amazing to see the animals so close up, we also drove to universal studios for a day trip. Old town san diego was nice to walk around for a few hours. Overall the trip was great and im looking to going back to California again soon [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since it is a tourist area, every night of the week around 8:30ish all the restaurants worth going to get crowded. so if you have a bigger group make reservations! hit up Mission for breakfast (university ave), broken yolk was very good for breakfast also (5th), Nobu was the best sushi i have ever eaten (5th).

Back to menu Return to top