San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

4 stars
660 K Street, 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
72 reviews
100 %

We stayed here from 8-26-13 thru 8-29-13. Everything was amazing. From the time we pulled up in... See full review

  • grt8
  • Sep 1, 2013
Great hotel, great location

We picked the hotel based on the finish line for the San Diego Half Marathon. We were pleasantly... See full review

  • Bambi C.
  • Mar 11, 2013
Familiar luxury in Gaslamp Quarter with rooftop lounge
Situated right next to Petco Park, the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter offers familiar comforts in a small and intimate setting. The property underwent extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010 and emerged with an updated, sophisticated look. Indoor public spaces are bright and airy. An open-air, rooftop lounge sits 22 stories above the city and features spectacular views. The on-site restaurant, Soleil@k, serves California cuisine with notable wine country flair.
Highlights
  • Enjoy cocktails and the view from the 22nd-floor rooftop lounge
  • Located next to Petco Park
  • Open and spacious rooms
Rooms

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter offers 291 rooms, including 15 suites. Accommodations are spacious and modern and many have views of San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Gilchrist & Soames bath products, comfortable work desk and nightly turndown service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). The hotel also sells special communication packages that include high-speed Internet access and unlimited local and long distance calls (fees apply).

Features

The San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has received AAA's three diamond award, as well as a host of other accolades for a commitment to sustainability.

Guests receive complimentary access to an on-site, 24-hour fitness center with LifeFitness equipment. Guests also receive special VIP treatment at Altitude, the open-air lounge on the 22nd floor that looks out onto the playing field at Petco Park. In 2010, the lounge was named to Conde Nast Traveler's tenth annual Hot List.

The on-site restaurant, Soleil@k, serves fresh food cooked in a California style--a definite nod to nearby wine country.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Petco Park (1 block)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
  • Sea World (8 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 8,375 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center in lobby
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

32.7086 -117.1587
Area served
Downtown San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.70, MI, SW; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 125.00, MI, S; Long Beach Airport, (LGB), 106.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.6 mi
  • Sea World: 5.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

City Sights at Altitudes Sky Lounge
Come and enjoy our new venue City Sights added to the hotel’s Altitude Sky Lounge rooftop located 22 floors above the street level. Guests can enjoy year-round gatherings and events on the hotel’s rooftop.
Soleil @k
Soleil @K is a warm, welcoming downtown San Diego restaurant celebrating sun drenched flavors. Rich in new taste experiences, our wine list and menu are prepared with a passion for the culinary heritage of California's wine country & Napa Valley cuisine.
Altitude Sky Lounge
ALTITUDE is an over 21 roof top bar 22 stories above downtown San Diego with stunning ocean, skyline, and ballpark views serving appetizers and drinks. ALTITUDE Sky Lounge was named to Conde Nast Traveler's 10th Annual Hot List.
Latitude Lounge
Thirsty? Enjoy one of our signature cocktails. Hungry? We're serving up everything from bar classics like beef sliders and Baja fish tacos, to fancy favorites like an artisan cheese plate. The Latitude Lounge is open Friday – Sunday for lunch as well.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 25, 2010

Disappointed

Having stayed at (and enjoyed) numerous Marriott properties around the world, this particular establishment was very disappointing. My husband and I called to see if we could get an early check-in (check-in at this hotel is not until 4pm) and were told there would probably not be a room available until 4pm. We arrived promptly at 4 and were given a room on the 9th floor (the lowest floor of guest rooms) and were told there were no other rooms with king-size beds available at that time (a party had arrived at 2pm and taken 60 rooms--2pm was right around the time we called and asked for early check-in). Ultimately, we got a room on the 11th floor, which was okay, except that (1) the TV was in an armoire on a low shelf, such that if you were laying in bed, you could not see the bottom quarter of the screen (very poor design) (2) the bathroom door was a sliding door with no discernable latch, which meant that everytime my husband and I went to the bathroom, the door would slide open (luckily, we're comfortable with each other, and (3)the sink was leaked, so every few hours, we would hear water dripping loudly...it was so loud, we were woken up at least twice during the night. Additionally, one of the elevators broke down in the early evening; and before 6pm, the hotel makes another elevator an express elevator leading to their lounge on the top floor. This meant that there were only 2 working elevators for the 306 guest rooms on Saturday evening, which translated to long waits for the elevator. I would have thought that management would have foregone the express elevator for the comfort of their guests at that point...but this was not the case. Finally, at around 1am, drunk guests returned from bars and decided to have a party in the hallway outside of our door. My husband got out of bed to ask them to keep it down and was berated with expletives (not the most civilized of patrons here). Ultimately, we had to call security, who, to their credit, responded fairly quickly (though the unruly guests didn't settle down immediately). So as not to be entirely negative, I thought the location was good--in walking distance to pretty much everything--and they give you a travel-sized lufa in the bathroom, which was pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Parking is $32/night here, so factor that in if you are traveling on a budget. There is a self parking lot across the street that saved us about $12, but there are no in/out privileges. That said, we could walk pretty much everywhere and didn't need our car.

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
san jose, ca
Jun 28, 2011

Not a good deal

Room was a bit disappointing and not worth the price. The hotel has a club at the top, and the hotel is very crowded and noisy in the evening. Only valet parking was available, which was pricey and not convenient as we had to wait at least 10 minutes for our car each time. Finally, we booked a king bed room, but they had only a two queen beds room, which was not OK for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 1, 2010

Nice Hotel, service very disappointing

No rooms available upon check-in. Relocated to another hotel for one night then back to original hotel for the remainder of the stay. An apology was all that was received for such a tremendous inconvenience. We requested/suggested several ideas (dinner, breakfast, free internet, drinks at the bar and some other creative solutions) to help make up for the tremendous inconvenience but our requests were ignored. A nice hotel in a great location (right across from Petco Park) but very disappointing service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 7, 2010

Good location

Room was located next to the elevator and the window opened only a few inches and was frosted,so we could only see the HVAC units next to the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. They first gave us a room with only one bed for four people, but quickly changed it. We may have been better off with the first room that had a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to shopping at Horton Plaza and Seaport Village. Hotel across the street from the Padres home field.

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Joe and his family
San Jose, CA
Sep 3, 2013

Nice but not great

The location is great, but the rest of the hotel is ok. It's a good place to stay if you just need a place to sleep. But for what you pay I would expect more. It's nothing to rave about. If you are going to be out in town and just want a place to sleep this is fine because it's close to the night life, but that's about the best thing it has. Staff was ok, not rude but not too friendly either if that makes sense, probably overworked. Not a great place for family if that's what you are looking for. Won't stay here again, I like to get papered a bit if I'm paying 200 and up a night... no free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo, CA
Sep 16, 2010

Great location but no view, no parking

The hotel itself is beautiful, right across the street from petco park and the staff is really nice. the only downfall is no parking and our room didnt have a view. we were on the 9th floor and when i went to look out the window there was a cement wall. Keep in mind a lot of younger people room there so there might be loud noises at 2 or 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Delaware
Jun 1, 2010

The upside and downside

The location was great (very close to tons of restaurants plus one felt very safe walking at night; short cab ride to the zoo and Balboa Park, and within walking distance to the harbor). The room was very comfortable. However, both the room and bathroom were small. Also, there were only two hooks (not towel bars)in the bathroom. Hence, we needed new towels everyday (so forget trying to contribute to a green environment). The concierge was wonderful, but she was only there the first day of our trip. The staff was OK until the last night. There was a party next door to our room (apparently there was a fraternity dinner in the hotel that evening and I suppose a lot of the frat kids were staying overnight). It was impossible to sleep. I finally called the front desk and told the gentleman on the line that there was a lot of screaming, yelling, and doors slamming next door and in the hallway. I asked (very calmly and nicely) how they could put the kids on a floor with the other guests. The snitty reply was: "Well, I didn't put them there." He did say that he would send security to the party room. That did break up the party. The next day when checking out, I did tell the manager on duty what had occurred the night before, and it seemed like he didn't really care very much. His response was that all the frat reservations should have been put on a lower floor. Oh well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
San Diego CA
Nov 10, 2010

Marriott Gaslamp

Staff provided superior and timely service. The bar on the roof top was stellar, I wish that I had known it was up there before the last night I was there. Definitely one of the best business trips I have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Aug 16, 2010

Great location, convenient Gaslamp fun!

I have stayed at this hotel for 5 years and continue to enjoy its location and views. I was given an option of 2 rooms to select from and the staff chose for me - well done! Quiet room overlooking the ballpark and water/bridge. However, the other guests tend to be younger on the weekends and were very noisey. Business Center is workable, although 20-min limit on computer access it tough when you are working deals. I will plan to stay here again! I enjoy seeing the staff in Padre shirts on game day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
Beeonca
Murrieta, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Just average. Great location!

The location is perfect! Right in the heart of Gas Lamp! The club on the 9th floor closed before 2am on a Thursday night which was a disappointment. Not too much too look at from the outside and the room is just average. Definitely could use a renovation. For the same price and same location I will probably try The Omni Hotel next time. The Omni is beautiful on the outside and inside and is obviously newer with more upgrades. Just a few steps away from Marriott. We had breakfast at The Broken Yoke a block down. I would not recommend this eatery. Don't let the long line to get in fool you. I've had better food at IHOP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top