$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

4 stars
View map of 660 K Street, 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isolde and Albert
Business
Yuma, AZ
Feb 27, 2010

Marriot @Gaslamp on K Street/San Diego

My boyfriend and I went to SD for Valentine's weekend and we reserved a room at the Marriot in the Gaslamp Distric in downtown San Diego, CA. It was a little hard to find; we had to drive around the block a few times, but needless to say, the valet service was excellent! Check in was easy. The hotel lobby was beautiful and everyone was very friendly. The room was clean and we had a really nice view from our 15th fl room. We didn't know this hotel had one of the best restaurants and rooftop clubs in San Diego, which was very exciting for myself and my partner. The restaurant is called the Soleil. We had their Valentine's Day dinner and it was excellent! The rooftop club is called Altitude Sky Lounge - which is small, but you get awesome, beautiful views of Petco Park and the bay... We also had the breakfast at Soleil which was a buffet and it was delicous but the service was very, very slow. Overall, we loved staying there and will do so again when we feel the need to be in downtown San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Negotiate your transportation with the cabbies/bike rides/horse carriages.. There are many out there and you don't want to take your own vehicle if you're staying in the Gaslamp District...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin the Night
Business
SM, CA
Feb 7, 2010

Just what we needed..

It was my birthday and some friends and I needed a hotel that was near all downtown activities. This hotel was perfect Petco Park and the Convention Center are across the street and the night club we went to was in walking distance (took less than 5 minutes walking). Honestly, everything was in walking distance almost. Not only is the location great but the hotel itself is beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you don't want to pay for valet parking a parking structure is directly in front of the hotel for a bit less for overnight parking. But if you're staying longer I would recommend valet. The only thing that wasn't too great was in the morning the maid was a little loud and the walls are a little thin but we didn't notice any of this until the morning, and it's not even that bad. Oh, and did I mention that the beds are EXTREMELY comfortable!! Best hotel bed I've ever slept in, from the mattress to the blankets to the pillows. Will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Dec 20, 2009

SD and Marriott make a great pair

Party with friends in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Nov 24, 2009

Perfect Rest, Perfect LOCATION!

I was at this hotel for business meetings that were held on-site. Everything from the breakfast service to the friendly front desk staff was perfect! I was there for 5 days, 4 nights and every aspect of my stay exceeded my expectations. This is the first hotel where my key doesn't lose its magnetic qualities. Also the location of the hotel was just right for shopping and sight-seeing. The quality was commensurate with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to Coronado Island and just caught the ferry for a very small fee. There are eateries along the beach and it was a beautiful sight in the night. I also recommend the war memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin Ghosts
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Sep 30, 2009

San Diego Marriott

The free breakfast buffet was a nice suprise. Rooms were clean and cumfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The bar on top of the roof is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comic-Con-er
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Comic-Con

Everything was great except for our request for an extra cot. Despite calling in several times before, and asking throughout our stay, they were unable to provide one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best food we had that weekend was at the Red Pearl.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 14, 2009

Good location, unusual room

Nice hotel with great location near Petco Park and restaurants and nightlife in Gaslamp district. Also, close to boardwalk on San Diego Bay. However, note that bathrooms have sliding doors that do not completely close so you hear all noises from the bathroom. No swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bovinefodder
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 7, 2009

Good times!

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location, with restaurants, clubs, and ballpark right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles Southbay area
Jun 28, 2009

Nice place to stay

Nice place. Lots of restaurants and night life places to choose from. No parking available $30 valet parking force fed to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

check area on internet to see various businesses to pick from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top