$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

4 stars
660 K Street, 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
75 reviews
Ready for a Second Visit

Marriot Gaslamp was in a prime location! My closest friends and I were walking distance from... See full review

  • Alyshiamarie
  • Dec 2, 2014
100 %

We stayed here from 8-26-13 thru 8-29-13. Everything was amazing. From the time we pulled up in... See full review

  • grt8
  • Sep 1, 2013
Familiar luxury in Gaslamp Quarter with rooftop lounge
Situated right next to Petco Park, the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter offers familiar comforts in a small and intimate setting. The property underwent extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010 and emerged with an updated, sophisticated look. Indoor public spaces are bright and airy. An open-air, rooftop lounge sits 22 stories above the city and features spectacular views. The on-site restaurant, Soleil@k, serves California cuisine with notable wine country flair.
Highlights
  • Enjoy cocktails and the view from the 22nd-floor rooftop lounge
  • Located next to Petco Park
  • Open and spacious rooms
Rooms

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter offers 291 rooms, including 15 suites. Accommodations are spacious and modern and many have views of San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Gilchrist & Soames bath products, comfortable work desk and nightly turndown service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). The hotel also sells special communication packages that include high-speed Internet access and unlimited local and long distance calls (fees apply).

Features

The San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has received AAA's three diamond award, as well as a host of other accolades for a commitment to sustainability.

Guests receive complimentary access to an on-site, 24-hour fitness center with LifeFitness equipment. Guests also receive special VIP treatment at Altitude, the open-air lounge on the 22nd floor that looks out onto the playing field at Petco Park. In 2010, the lounge was named to Conde Nast Traveler's tenth annual Hot List.

The on-site restaurant, Soleil@k, serves fresh food cooked in a California style--a definite nod to nearby wine country.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Petco Park (1 block)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
  • Sea World (8 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 8,375 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center in lobby
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • PETCO Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

City Sights at Altitudes Sky Lounge
Come and enjoy our new venue City Sights added to the hotel’s Altitude Sky Lounge rooftop located 22 floors above the street level. Guests can enjoy year-round gatherings and events on the hotel’s rooftop.
Soleil @k
Soleil @K is a warm, welcoming downtown San Diego restaurant celebrating sun drenched flavors. Rich in new taste experiences, our wine list and menu are prepared with a passion for the culinary heritage of California's wine country & Napa Valley cuisine.
Altitude Sky Lounge
ALTITUDE is an over 21 roof top bar 22 stories above downtown San Diego with stunning ocean, skyline, and ballpark views serving appetizers and drinks. ALTITUDE Sky Lounge was named to Conde Nast Traveler's 10th Annual Hot List.
Latitude Lounge
Thirsty? Enjoy one of our signature cocktails. Hungry? We're serving up everything from bar classics like beef sliders and Baja fish tacos, to fancy favorites like an artisan cheese plate. The Latitude Lounge is open Friday – Sunday for lunch as well.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mutnick
UK Berkshire
Nov 14, 2012

Amazing location, Amazing Staff, Great stay!

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The location was perfect, many shops, bars and restaurantsbwithin easy walking distance and very convenient for the trolley. The staff were outstanding, we have stayed in quite a few hotels but the staff here went above and beyond. Rooms were good size, we were on the 17th floor and the views were great. Special thanks to the security guy who helped open my daughters room which she had managed to lock herself out of! Also Maricella one of the room maids who gave fantastic service. The rooftop bar is a must with great views. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cypress
Mar 29, 2010

Great location for the price

Stayed at the Marriot Gas Lamp on 03/28/10 to 03/29/10 on a last minute get away. The hotel was right across the street to the San Diego Padres Baseball Stadium. Great location if you have plans to watch a baseball game. And if not, still a great location for dinners and drinks. Close to everything thats located in the Gas Lamp area. I am very picky where I stay. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to stay in the Gas Lamp area of San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside the hotel there were many restaurants and shops in walking distance to and from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tep22
Business
CA
Mar 29, 2010

Excellent!

Excellent! Will stay again. Stayed one night (Saturday @ $109), room was very clean, and in an unbeatable location. One negative is the $32 valet parking. You can self park in a parking garage which the valet said was close, but we just went with the valet so not sure how much the parking garage costs or how far away it is. Walking distance to Petco Park, and located in the gaslamp area, where there are many restaurants and places to go. It was good with a 2 1/2 year old, but I would highly recommend if traveling without kids as there are many nightspots and restaurants extremely close including the rooftop bar(Altitude)at the hotel which has a view of the inside of Petco park, and the ocean. We also ate at soleil @ k, which is the restaurant inside of the hotel. The food was very good, a little pricey (but not over priced), nice atmosphere and I would definitely recommend eating here. (4/5 stars) My wife and I are already planning another vacation and staying in the same hotel, this time during baseball season to try to catch a Padres game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

and nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Action Pak
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2010

Very nice for $83 a night

I went to San Diego to attend a friend's wedding. Another friend came with me and she had never been to San Diego before. We both agreed that for $83 a night, it was a bargain. The rooms were nice, we had a great view at the 19th floor, and the location was excellent because it's just a short walk to all the clubs, lounges, and restaurants. We did not care for the Altitude Lounge on the 22nd floor because it just wasn't our thing. That did create a line and crowd for all the clubbers trying to get in. That got pretty noisy at times because of that. Aside from the noise, we didn't utilize any other facilities or services except for the valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gotcha3
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2010

Marriott Gaslamp Review

Very nice hotel. Great location. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy, wife
Business
Redlands, CA
Mar 23, 2010

great place, great location

Easy checkin, fast and welcoming. The room was nice and comfortable. We found a great deal with half price valet parking and breakfast included. We were able to walk to all the restaurants and shops. Also, great location to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are just a few blocks from 5th avenue. Check out all the stores. We were there on Sunday night,felt very safe out walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 8, 2010

Fantastic

Loved that it was walking distance from the clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isolde and Albert
Business
Yuma, AZ
Feb 27, 2010

Marriot @Gaslamp on K Street/San Diego

My boyfriend and I went to SD for Valentine's weekend and we reserved a room at the Marriot in the Gaslamp Distric in downtown San Diego, CA. It was a little hard to find; we had to drive around the block a few times, but needless to say, the valet service was excellent! Check in was easy. The hotel lobby was beautiful and everyone was very friendly. The room was clean and we had a really nice view from our 15th fl room. We didn't know this hotel had one of the best restaurants and rooftop clubs in San Diego, which was very exciting for myself and my partner. The restaurant is called the Soleil. We had their Valentine's Day dinner and it was excellent! The rooftop club is called Altitude Sky Lounge - which is small, but you get awesome, beautiful views of Petco Park and the bay... We also had the breakfast at Soleil which was a buffet and it was delicous but the service was very, very slow. Overall, we loved staying there and will do so again when we feel the need to be in downtown San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Negotiate your transportation with the cabbies/bike rides/horse carriages.. There are many out there and you don't want to take your own vehicle if you're staying in the Gaslamp District...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin the Night
Business
SM, CA
Feb 7, 2010

Just what we needed..

It was my birthday and some friends and I needed a hotel that was near all downtown activities. This hotel was perfect Petco Park and the Convention Center are across the street and the night club we went to was in walking distance (took less than 5 minutes walking). Honestly, everything was in walking distance almost. Not only is the location great but the hotel itself is beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you don't want to pay for valet parking a parking structure is directly in front of the hotel for a bit less for overnight parking. But if you're staying longer I would recommend valet. The only thing that wasn't too great was in the morning the maid was a little loud and the walls are a little thin but we didn't notice any of this until the morning, and it's not even that bad. Oh, and did I mention that the beds are EXTREMELY comfortable!! Best hotel bed I've ever slept in, from the mattress to the blankets to the pillows. Will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Dec 20, 2009

SD and Marriott make a great pair

Party with friends in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Nov 24, 2009

Perfect Rest, Perfect LOCATION!

I was at this hotel for business meetings that were held on-site. Everything from the breakfast service to the friendly front desk staff was perfect! I was there for 5 days, 4 nights and every aspect of my stay exceeded my expectations. This is the first hotel where my key doesn't lose its magnetic qualities. Also the location of the hotel was just right for shopping and sight-seeing. The quality was commensurate with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to Coronado Island and just caught the ferry for a very small fee. There are eateries along the beach and it was a beautiful sight in the night. I also recommend the war memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top