$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

4 stars
View map of 660 K Street, 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2010

Comfortable and convenient

This hotel is located in the Gaslamp District of San Diego, where there are dozens of bars and restaurants in the surrounding blocks (including a fun rooftop bar on site). It is a very touristy area, which may or may not appeal to you. It's not really a neighborhood feel but it's convenient. The room was clean, the beds were extremely fluffy, and there's free wi-fi in the lobby. Unfortunately the hotel has no pool. One thing that would have made it more enjoyable is if the staff were more helpful with public transportation. We figured out that the trolley and buses were very close and easily saved $75-100 avoiding cabs, but the staff didn't know how to answer our questions and seemed annoyed that we asked. If you aren't used to taking buses/trolleys, it might be worth it to you to pay for cabs. The hotel restaurant is overpriced and staff there were unfriendly - Broken Yolk around the corner is half the price and people seem happy there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a $5 daily public transportation pass to easily get from hotel to Old Town, Balboa Park, etc!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cypress
Mar 29, 2010

Great location for the price

Stayed at the Marriot Gas Lamp on 03/28/10 to 03/29/10 on a last minute get away. The hotel was right across the street to the San Diego Padres Baseball Stadium. Great location if you have plans to watch a baseball game. And if not, still a great location for dinners and drinks. Close to everything thats located in the Gas Lamp area. I am very picky where I stay. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to stay in the Gas Lamp area of San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just outside the hotel there were many restaurants and shops in walking distance to and from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tep22
Business
CA
Mar 29, 2010

Excellent!

Excellent! Will stay again. Stayed one night (Saturday @ $109), room was very clean, and in an unbeatable location. One negative is the $32 valet parking. You can self park in a parking garage which the valet said was close, but we just went with the valet so not sure how much the parking garage costs or how far away it is. Walking distance to Petco Park, and located in the gaslamp area, where there are many restaurants and places to go. It was good with a 2 1/2 year old, but I would highly recommend if traveling without kids as there are many nightspots and restaurants extremely close including the rooftop bar(Altitude)at the hotel which has a view of the inside of Petco park, and the ocean. We also ate at soleil @ k, which is the restaurant inside of the hotel. The food was very good, a little pricey (but not over priced), nice atmosphere and I would definitely recommend eating here. (4/5 stars) My wife and I are already planning another vacation and staying in the same hotel, this time during baseball season to try to catch a Padres game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

and nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Action Pak
Business
Seattle
Mar 29, 2010

Very nice for $83 a night

I went to San Diego to attend a friend's wedding. Another friend came with me and she had never been to San Diego before. We both agreed that for $83 a night, it was a bargain. The rooms were nice, we had a great view at the 19th floor, and the location was excellent because it's just a short walk to all the clubs, lounges, and restaurants. We did not care for the Altitude Lounge on the 22nd floor because it just wasn't our thing. That did create a line and crowd for all the clubbers trying to get in. That got pretty noisy at times because of that. Aside from the noise, we didn't utilize any other facilities or services except for the valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gotcha3
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2010

Marriott Gaslamp Review

Very nice hotel. Great location. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy, wife
Business
Redlands, CA
Mar 23, 2010

great place, great location

Easy checkin, fast and welcoming. The room was nice and comfortable. We found a great deal with half price valet parking and breakfast included. We were able to walk to all the restaurants and shops. Also, great location to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are just a few blocks from 5th avenue. Check out all the stores. We were there on Sunday night,felt very safe out walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 8, 2010

Fantastic

Loved that it was walking distance from the clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isolde and Albert
Business
Yuma, AZ
Feb 27, 2010

Marriot @Gaslamp on K Street/San Diego

My boyfriend and I went to SD for Valentine's weekend and we reserved a room at the Marriot in the Gaslamp Distric in downtown San Diego, CA. It was a little hard to find; we had to drive around the block a few times, but needless to say, the valet service was excellent! Check in was easy. The hotel lobby was beautiful and everyone was very friendly. The room was clean and we had a really nice view from our 15th fl room. We didn't know this hotel had one of the best restaurants and rooftop clubs in San Diego, which was very exciting for myself and my partner. The restaurant is called the Soleil. We had their Valentine's Day dinner and it was excellent! The rooftop club is called Altitude Sky Lounge - which is small, but you get awesome, beautiful views of Petco Park and the bay... We also had the breakfast at Soleil which was a buffet and it was delicous but the service was very, very slow. Overall, we loved staying there and will do so again when we feel the need to be in downtown San Diego!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Negotiate your transportation with the cabbies/bike rides/horse carriages.. There are many out there and you don't want to take your own vehicle if you're staying in the Gaslamp District...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin the Night
Business
SM, CA
Feb 7, 2010

Just what we needed..

It was my birthday and some friends and I needed a hotel that was near all downtown activities. This hotel was perfect Petco Park and the Convention Center are across the street and the night club we went to was in walking distance (took less than 5 minutes walking). Honestly, everything was in walking distance almost. Not only is the location great but the hotel itself is beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you don't want to pay for valet parking a parking structure is directly in front of the hotel for a bit less for overnight parking. But if you're staying longer I would recommend valet. The only thing that wasn't too great was in the morning the maid was a little loud and the walls are a little thin but we didn't notice any of this until the morning, and it's not even that bad. Oh, and did I mention that the beds are EXTREMELY comfortable!! Best hotel bed I've ever slept in, from the mattress to the blankets to the pillows. Will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Dec 20, 2009

SD and Marriott make a great pair

Party with friends in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top