$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

4 stars
View map of 660 K Street, 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mutnick
Family
UK Berkshire
Nov 14, 2012

Amazing location, Amazing Staff, Great stay!

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The location was perfect, many shops, bars and restaurantsbwithin easy walking distance and very convenient for the trolley. The staff were outstanding, we have stayed in quite a few hotels but the staff here went above and beyond. Rooms were good size, we were on the 17th floor and the views were great. Special thanks to the security guy who helped open my daughters room which she had managed to lock herself out of! Also Maricella one of the room maids who gave fantastic service. The rooftop bar is a must with great views. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Grande
Friends
El Monte, CA, USA
Jun 8, 2012

Great Location, Just too Expensive!

I loved the Location and the Roof top bar they have is A Great Place to predrink before you head out bar hopping Gaslamp district. They do have Great Staff and the rooms are just not as I expected for the price you pay. But however they do make up for it with the view you get. It a good location to go with a couple but not with friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Roof top bar they got at the Hotel has the best view in SD and has A great atmosphere!

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FFS Duck
Couples
La Verne, CA
May 29, 2012

Great location

The staff was great. We ate at the restaurant at the Marriott and it was very good. The bar looking over Petco field was fantastic. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MisterMaGruber
Business
Missouri
Apr 27, 2012

Great Location, Good Staff, Great Stay

Pros: Great location. Clean Rooms. Friendly staff. Altitude Sky-lounge. Free Salt-water taffy. Cons: A pool would have been nice for this price, but honestly this really isn't a con as we knew beforehand that this hotel had no pool. The hotel is located right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. We were a 5 minute walk away from the convention center and a 10 minute walk from a plethora of amazing restaurants. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean. The beds were soft. Overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Murrieta Marv
Couples
Murrieta, Ca
Nov 28, 2011

A great place to stay

We live only an hour north of San Diego so staying at a hotel there is rarely necessary. However this was our 34th wedding anniversary with dinner planned at a great restaurant, so we decided to make a whole night of it. The Marriott in the Gaslamp was terrific in every way, from the roof-top bar to the courteous, helpful staff. We travel quite a bit and stay at a variety of places - high end and not so much ----but for value and exceptional service, this is our place in San Diego from now on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDM COUPLE
Couples
Corona, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Marriott Hotel, Gaslamp district

The Marriott at the gas lamp district in SA an Diego was right in the middle of it all. The shopping and restruants were fastastic. The hotel itself was very nice. We even watched a few innings of the Padres baseball game from the rooftop lounge, and with a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't plan on walking too far to any of the 100 or so restaurants in the gaslamp district

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beeonca
Couples
Murrieta, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Just average. Great location!

The location is perfect! Right in the heart of Gas Lamp! The club on the 9th floor closed before 2am on a Thursday night which was a disappointment. Not too much too look at from the outside and the room is just average. Definitely could use a renovation. For the same price and same location I will probably try The Omni Hotel next time. The Omni is beautiful on the outside and inside and is obviously newer with more upgrades. Just a few steps away from Marriott. We had breakfast at The Broken Yoke a block down. I would not recommend this eatery. Don't let the long line to get in fool you. I've had better food at IHOP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
san jose, ca
Jun 28, 2011

Not a good deal

Room was a bit disappointing and not worth the price. The hotel has a club at the top, and the hotel is very crowded and noisy in the evening. Only valet parking was available, which was pricey and not convenient as we had to wait at least 10 minutes for our car each time. Finally, we booked a king bed room, but they had only a two queen beds room, which was not OK for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington State
Mar 25, 2011

Nice and smooth!

Everything about our stay was just that: nice and smooth. We had a rental car which we used 2-3 times a day to drive to Seaworld, Coronado Island, Mission Bay, Old Town, La Jolla which, by the way, were all fast and easy (with GPS of course) to get to. The valet staff were great. We had one dinner in the Soleil K restaurant that was definitely different in selection and taste which I didn't mind but my wife and 21 year old son weren't happy with it. There is no pool, and no in room refrigerator or microwave. Otherwise the hotel was great. Top floor has the Altitude bar with a good view of Petco Park (they weren't playing baseball at the time), but it was fun just the same despite the moderately windy conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A myriad of restaurants and nightlife in Gaslamp Quarter. The hotel is on the outskirts of the quarter but we were still able to walk relatively short distances to get to our destination of interest.

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
Mar 24, 2011

Almost perfect

My wife and I wanted to have a get away weekend, and that's what we got. Near San Diego's gaslamp, I was able to take her to a very good restaurant. After that we went back to the hotel for a nice intimate evening. The room was more than we could hope. Except, our room was opposite the parking structure from Petco park. Late at night, I could hear tires screeching and people screaming from "their" night in the gaslamp district. It was frustrating. Overall I would say it was very good, not great. My advice - Make sure you do not get a room facing the parking structure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Mar 20, 2011

Good Experience

The hotel had nice amenities and plush rooms. It was clean and quite comfortable. The fitness room of the hotel was nice, and the restaurant and bar had nice atmospheres as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top