San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

4 stars
660 K Street, 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
74 reviews
100 %

We stayed here from 8-26-13 thru 8-29-13. Everything was amazing. From the time we pulled up in... See full review

  • grt8
  • Sep 1, 2013
Friendly Staff

A nice Hotel with friendly staff in a great location. Parking is $40. The internet is $12.95 and... See full review

  • Crazy Marine
  • Jun 15, 2014
Familiar luxury in Gaslamp Quarter with rooftop lounge
Situated right next to Petco Park, the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter offers familiar comforts in a small and intimate setting. The property underwent extensive renovations in 2009 and 2010 and emerged with an updated, sophisticated look. Indoor public spaces are bright and airy. An open-air, rooftop lounge sits 22 stories above the city and features spectacular views. The on-site restaurant, Soleil@k, serves California cuisine with notable wine country flair.
Highlights
  • Enjoy cocktails and the view from the 22nd-floor rooftop lounge
  • Located next to Petco Park
  • Open and spacious rooms
Rooms

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter offers 291 rooms, including 15 suites. Accommodations are spacious and modern and many have views of San Diego Bay. Each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, Gilchrist & Soames bath products, comfortable work desk and nightly turndown service. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available (fees apply). The hotel also sells special communication packages that include high-speed Internet access and unlimited local and long distance calls (fees apply).

Features

The San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has received AAA's three diamond award, as well as a host of other accolades for a commitment to sustainability.

Guests receive complimentary access to an on-site, 24-hour fitness center with LifeFitness equipment. Guests also receive special VIP treatment at Altitude, the open-air lounge on the 22nd floor that looks out onto the playing field at Petco Park. In 2010, the lounge was named to Conde Nast Traveler's tenth annual Hot List.

The on-site restaurant, Soleil@k, serves fresh food cooked in a California style--a definite nod to nearby wine country.

Transportation
  • MTS Bus (1 block)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (3 mi/4.5 km)
Attractions
  • Petco Park (1 block)
  • Gaslamp Quarter (1 block)
  • San Diego Zoo (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • Point Loma (6 mi/10 km)
  • Sea World (8 mi/13 km)
Business
  • 8,375 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center in lobby
Policies and fees
  • Valet and self parking are available (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

32.7086 -117.1587
Area served
Downtown San Diego
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.70, MI, SW; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 125.00, MI, S; Long Beach Airport, (LGB), 106.00, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Nearby points of interest

  • PETCO Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.8 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.4 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1.6 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.8 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.9 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 5.8 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6.5 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.5 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.7 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.5 mi
  • Legoland: 30.4 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

City Sights at Altitudes Sky Lounge
Come and enjoy our new venue City Sights added to the hotel’s Altitude Sky Lounge rooftop located 22 floors above the street level. Guests can enjoy year-round gatherings and events on the hotel’s rooftop.
Soleil @k
Soleil @K is a warm, welcoming downtown San Diego restaurant celebrating sun drenched flavors. Rich in new taste experiences, our wine list and menu are prepared with a passion for the culinary heritage of California's wine country & Napa Valley cuisine.
Altitude Sky Lounge
ALTITUDE is an over 21 roof top bar 22 stories above downtown San Diego with stunning ocean, skyline, and ballpark views serving appetizers and drinks. ALTITUDE Sky Lounge was named to Conde Nast Traveler's 10th Annual Hot List.
Latitude Lounge
Thirsty? Enjoy one of our signature cocktails. Hungry? We're serving up everything from bar classics like beef sliders and Baja fish tacos, to fancy favorites like an artisan cheese plate. The Latitude Lounge is open Friday – Sunday for lunch as well.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Murrieta Marv
Business
Murrieta, Ca
Nov 28, 2011

A great place to stay

We live only an hour north of San Diego so staying at a hotel there is rarely necessary. However this was our 34th wedding anniversary with dinner planned at a great restaurant, so we decided to make a whole night of it. The Marriott in the Gaslamp was terrific in every way, from the roof-top bar to the courteous, helpful staff. We travel quite a bit and stay at a variety of places - high end and not so much ----but for value and exceptional service, this is our place in San Diego from now on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDM COUPLE
Business
Corona, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Marriott Hotel, Gaslamp district

The Marriott at the gas lamp district in SA an Diego was right in the middle of it all. The shopping and restruants were fastastic. The hotel itself was very nice. We even watched a few innings of the Padres baseball game from the rooftop lounge, and with a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't plan on walking too far to any of the 100 or so restaurants in the gaslamp district

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beeonca
Business
Murrieta, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Just average. Great location!

The location is perfect! Right in the heart of Gas Lamp! The club on the 9th floor closed before 2am on a Thursday night which was a disappointment. Not too much too look at from the outside and the room is just average. Definitely could use a renovation. For the same price and same location I will probably try The Omni Hotel next time. The Omni is beautiful on the outside and inside and is obviously newer with more upgrades. Just a few steps away from Marriott. We had breakfast at The Broken Yoke a block down. I would not recommend this eatery. Don't let the long line to get in fool you. I've had better food at IHOP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Jun 28, 2011

Not a good deal

Room was a bit disappointing and not worth the price. The hotel has a club at the top, and the hotel is very crowded and noisy in the evening. Only valet parking was available, which was pricey and not convenient as we had to wait at least 10 minutes for our car each time. Finally, we booked a king bed room, but they had only a two queen beds room, which was not OK for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Mar 25, 2011

Nice and smooth!

Everything about our stay was just that: nice and smooth. We had a rental car which we used 2-3 times a day to drive to Seaworld, Coronado Island, Mission Bay, Old Town, La Jolla which, by the way, were all fast and easy (with GPS of course) to get to. The valet staff were great. We had one dinner in the Soleil K restaurant that was definitely different in selection and taste which I didn't mind but my wife and 21 year old son weren't happy with it. There is no pool, and no in room refrigerator or microwave. Otherwise the hotel was great. Top floor has the Altitude bar with a good view of Petco Park (they weren't playing baseball at the time), but it was fun just the same despite the moderately windy conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A myriad of restaurants and nightlife in Gaslamp Quarter. The hotel is on the outskirts of the quarter but we were still able to walk relatively short distances to get to our destination of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Mar 24, 2011

Almost perfect

My wife and I wanted to have a get away weekend, and that's what we got. Near San Diego's gaslamp, I was able to take her to a very good restaurant. After that we went back to the hotel for a nice intimate evening. The room was more than we could hope. Except, our room was opposite the parking structure from Petco park. Late at night, I could hear tires screeching and people screaming from "their" night in the gaslamp district. It was frustrating. Overall I would say it was very good, not great. My advice - Make sure you do not get a room facing the parking structure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Mar 20, 2011

Good Experience

The hotel had nice amenities and plush rooms. It was clean and quite comfortable. The fitness room of the hotel was nice, and the restaurant and bar had nice atmospheres as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snowed in Green Bay
Business
Green Bay, WI
Feb 2, 2011

January 2011 Trip

Hotel was excellent. Very close to all the action on 4th and 5th streets. Concierge was very helpful in helping us find good places to eat. Reservations were made on our behalf with no problem. Hotel was nicely laid out. The views from the roof-top bar were spectacular and worth a few high-dollar drinks. Room was very clean and near perfect. Bathroom a little small for two people but that is my only complaint. We made a noise complaint on Saturday night due to an argument outside our room door. Staff clear it up quickly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Librarian with luggage
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 10, 2011

Loved my view of the water!

Very convenient location for the San Diego Convention Center and for numerous other hotels and restaurants during this business conference. I'd visit again or recommend to others. My 17th floor room facing the bay side allowed me to see sky and water beyond other buildings in the foreground, and also into the Petco Park baseball stadium--though it wasn't in season. Staff were friendly and helpful. Coffeemaker but no fridge in the room. Open window brought a fresh breeze as I worked at the desk one sunny morning. Sat on a pillow, since desk chair didn't adjust higher. I should have asked for better chair...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfasts at the Broken Yolk, just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dirtdevil
Business
Henrietta, Mo.
Jan 1, 2011

Good location.

Visited nearby famous sights and attended football game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Coronado Island, Midway Battleship, and Torrey Pines Sate Park all short driving distances from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top