$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

San Diego Marriott Del Mar

4 stars
View map of 11966 El Camino Real, 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 16, 2010

Hotel review

Good experience but i don't understand paying $12.00 per day for internet service that's free at lesser hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Right place right price

The service was great! Our neighbors last night were noisy, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. When I called to ask them to come up and deal with the problem they did it right away! Right price, right place. We were right in the middle of where we were heading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown San Diego is only about 1/2 hour away.

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rice91104
Business
pasdena, ca.
Sep 7, 2009

Marriott Del Mar was Marvelous!!!!

It was good!!! rooms where clean and nice flat screen t.v. nice pool and juccuzi. the breakfast buffet was real good. few miles from Del Mar Beach.. nice city in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Del Mar on Camino Del Mar was Beautiful!!! Highly Recommend. Just 5-10 min away.. Great Nightlife with sportbars and lounges to eat/drink and listen to nice music from the DJ's Best of all Nice Women!!!!! Dress to kill... so if you are single, even better for you....So don/t bring sand to the beach if you know what i mean!!! Lol

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margie Cat Mommy
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Great stay at the Marriott Del Mar

Our main purpose of this trip was to attend Donuts Day at the Del Mar Racetrack. The event started at 8:00 am. Since we live quite a distance from the track, we wanted to stay nearby. The location of this hotel was really close to the track; and we had the choice of taking a short trip on the freeway or a short trip through the village of Del Mar and be there in just minutes. We were pleasantly surprised at the size and comfort of our room. We didn't have a view; but then we really didn't need one since we were only at the hotel when it was dark. The valet had in and out privileges and was very prompt in bringing our car around when needed. The other hotel employees we came into contact with were very professional and very helpful. I thought I had lost a ring; and the "personal service" person not only made arrangements for housekeeping to come to our room to thoroughly check and clean it and look for the ring; but she was willing to come to our room and look herself. (I found my ring. I had put it in a "safe" place and forgotten where!) The staff did indeed provide first class service. We had dinner in the more casual restaurant; and they did not mind that we were dressed in shorts. Dinner was wonderful. Especially good was the asparagus, mushroom and proscuitto appetizer. Compliments of the chef, we had a soup "shooter". We enjoyed the presentation so much that on the way home, we stopped and purchased plates and mini glasses to do the same at home. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a mini-getaway weekend. We absolutely will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel location is convenient for any San Diego attractions and for any events in the North County i.e. Del Mar, Encinitas, Carlsbad and Oceanside.

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 6, 2009

Easy get away

For a quick weekend get away it was a great place to stay. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. We were there to sight see and the hotel location was great for this. If I had gone to sit on the beach i would pick a hotel closer to the main beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo, Ca
Jul 6, 2009

Nice hotel, ok location

The hotel facilities and the staff were very nice. The pool although a little on the small side, was relaxing and had the most comfortable lounge chairs. The only problems with our stay were really the noise but I think that was because of the weekend we were visiting; it was 4th of July and the SD Padres were playing the LA Dodgers for Manny Ramirez's first game back since his suspension so the hotel was crawling with baseball fans of all ages. So, needless to say, it was not the quitest of locations. The bed was super comfortable and the room itself was very nice. The only other downside was that while it was listed as a convenient location to beaches and other attractions, I felt it was farther from the beach/attractions than the details listed. I was hoping for a beachside hotel or at least for the hotel to be in walking distance to the beach but no such luck. One other small downside we experienced was that housekeeping came to our room at 8:42 am on a Saturday morning. We were not up yet nor did we plan on getting up at that time so that was a bit of a bummer as we were there to relax and try to sleep in. Overall, it was a good experience- just a few minor details didn't meet our expectations. If I were looking for a hotel not super close to attractions but close to freeway access, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

had to drive about 15-20 minutes to get to any attractions or beaches

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jun 23, 2009

disapionting billing

The hotel was very good with five star dining. I was to recieve an adjustent on the price of the room through the price assurance program. I noticed that the address was my home address not my mailing address. I called orbitz to make the correction and was told that there is not any way to change the mistake and that the check will be mailed to my home address. I asked what will happen to it when it is returned and was told that department does not take phone calls. As the cheif operation officer of a company I find this kind of customer service dissappointing and will direct my company to explore other options for travel. Charles Purchase C.O.O. Au Goose Inc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
REDLANDS, CA
Jun 22, 2009

FANTASTIC STAY

WE STAYED FRO TWO NIGHTS THE ROOM WAS SPOTLESS, STAFF WAS FRIENDLY. OUR KIDS ARE 4 AND 6 AND THEY LOVED THE PLASMA TV WITH DIRECT ON DEMAND TV. THEY ALSO LOVED THE POOL AND SPA WITH THE FIRE PITS BURNING ALONSIDE THE CABANAS. WE LOVED THE OUTDOOR LOUNGE WHERE WE COULD TAKE IN THE SUN IN THE DAY AND ENJOY THE FIRE BY NIGHT WHILE SIPPING ON A COCKTAIL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

THE HOTEL IS LOCATED SO CLOSE TO EVERYTHING 15 MINUTES FROM OLD TOWN SAN DIEGO AND SEA WORLD. AS WELL AS 15 MINUTES FROM LEGOLAND

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
May 26, 2008

very family friendly.

Excellent location, awesome pool. Spacious rooms and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea world is only a 10-15min drive.

Back to menu Return to top