$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

San Diego Marriott Del Mar

4 stars
View map of 11966 El Camino Real, 11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ral1415
orlando
Sep 21, 2012

Good time with friends

Good hotel, the lounge was real nic on the top floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MF11
Business
Del Mar, California
Jun 21, 2012

Did not provide correct accomodation

I made a reservation for 4 guests 2 months in advance. When I got to the Marriott (Excellent hotel), I was told that Marriott does not reserve rooms with double beds for 3rd party reservations. I ended up with a king bed and I had to ask for a roll-away bed. If you go through 3rd party or other internet travel companies, make sure you call the hotel to demand the correct room at least one month in advance although a room with double beds is never guaranteed. Next time I will go through Marriott.com and pay the extra 20 dollars a night to avoid the hassle when I travel. Del Mar is a great place to stay even so, when you visit Southern Cal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RTINAZ
Business
Peoria, AZ
May 29, 2012

Best Mariott stay in a long time

The staff at this hotel provided outstanding service from check in to check out. They were genuine in every sense of the word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnW63
Business
Boston, MA, USA
May 26, 2012

I don't get it

Why can I get free Internet nd parking at a Courtyard and not at a Marriott? Tell me me why paying more for a room allows you to charge for extras included in cheaper hotels? Why would I make that choice again?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
evBoston
Business
Boston, ma
May 21, 2012

Great stay

I enjoyed staying at SD mariott Del Mar. If you have a car (which I assume you do) it is a quick drive away from Del Mar city center and about 15-20 mins from San Diego. Staff was very friendly and very helpful including with their restaurant suggestions and driving directions. The breakfast was over priced (which you would expect in any hotel...). The room was good sized and had a study as well as a complimentary coffee maker (coffee and tea provided). I believe they had free wi-fi which I did not need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris H.
Business
Denver, CO
May 21, 2012

Needed a cheap room

There was a convention in town so all the downtown hotels were booked. This place is in Del Mar (pretty far out of town) but was super cheap, so we went for it. Great staff -- accommodated us leaving a car in the garage for a day after we checked out, were super helpful and nice. Hotel was new and clean. We would stay here again if we needed to be in this area. If you are visiting San Diego for the first time, this is not the hotel for you as it's quite far from downtown and the fun beaches like PB and OB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own water -- their small bottles cost $4 each.

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always Boris
Business
Kansas
May 10, 2012

Good Value, Decent Hotel

Nice value. Room wasn't as comfortable as it looked. Watch out if you are driving, parking is $20 a night even if you don't valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dosmang
Business
Del Mar, CA
May 9, 2012

seminar

Overall was nice. One gentleman working at the bar was not very pleasant. Front desk agent (male in am) was very accomodating. Room was clean and nice. Food was good but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katgat
Business
Los Angeles
May 4, 2012

Great staff, clean and comfortable room

Great location with easy access to all parts of San Diego. Room was clean and cozy. Hotel staff was excellent and very friendly. Restaurant was simply "okay"...I'd venture out to dine. Otherwise, highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 4, 2011

Good location for auto connections

Hotel was excellent, although we wished the room came with extra towels. We had to request additional ones; no matter staff was pleasant and were happy to oblige.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Old Globe theater; great shows in anintimate setting.

Review of San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jun 30, 2011

Great for business, but not family.

This is not a hotel for a family to stay at. The majority (all) of the people staying here were on a business trip. There were no clean towels at the pool. It took two trips to the lobby before towels finally arrived. We also ordered room service and received 3 phone calls afterwards informing us that they did not have what was on the menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top