$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 6, 2015

San Diego Downtown Lodge

2 stars
View map of 1345 10th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
21 reviews
great basic place

The place was clean and the staff were always available for anything. Close to many things in... See full review

  • gabby2014
  • Aug 26, 2014
Perfectly sound, cheap accommodation.

Checked in early, room was dated but clean and tidy. Location was great, all of the amenities... See full review

  • Mattyrm
  • Nov 7, 2014
Newly remodeled hotel in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Minutes from the motel are San Diego's finest attraction hotel has to offer. All of rooms have private bathrooms in the rooms. All of rooms provide Free Cable TV, Free Wi-Fi & Free Parking. The hotel has no smoking policy.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Downtown Lodge also booked these hotels.

★★
$89
2.8 / 5 69 reviews
★★
$49
2.7 / 5 200 reviews
$69
3.3 / 5 70 reviews
$59
3.1 / 5 16 reviews
★★★
$130
3.9 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$99
3.8 / 5 125 reviews
★★★
$103
3.3 / 5 302 reviews
★★
$75
2.9 / 5 63 reviews

San Diego Downtown Lodge Rooms

Queen - Motel
Queen Motel offers Two Queen Beds can accommodate up to maximum of 4 occupancy. All of the rooms have private bathrooms in the room. The room offer free Wi-Fi, free parking, free local calls & Cable TV with HBO.
Queen - Motel
Queen Motel offers one queen Bed can accommodate up to maximum of 4 occupancy. All of the rooms have private bathrooms in the room. The room offer free wifi, free parking, free local calls & Cable TV with HBO

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.8 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,117.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Downtown Lodge

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.7

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous37
Single
not USA
Nov 17, 2012

Convenient

Value for money, and located conveniently: two short blocks from a light-rail stop, and with a petrol station close by for hot coffee and packaged snacks. The wifi worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I went for for the marine attractions: harbour cruise, maritime museum, USS Midway museum. I didn't have a long walk or a short drive: I used the light rail, which isn't an option in this survey.

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveller453122
Family
san francisco
May 29, 2012

Very shady

Very shady, will not recommend it. No parking , drunk people all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bad wknd gettaway
Couples
southern california
Jul 24, 2012

romantic weekend getaway

One of the worst hotel experiences. Arrived 30 mins after check in time and our room was still not ready. Had to come back 30-45 mins later. Went to sleep and was rudely awakend by a drunk woman trying to get into our room. She didn't go away so I called the front desk only for the owner to ask me if I knew her. After I told him no, he finally came up only to allow the woman to pass out on the ground in front of our door. Since we got hardly any sleep, we asked the owner if it would be OK if we checked out an hour late. He let us but laughed and said "no more than that!" Extremely overpriced! Ghetto!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Concerned party of 1
Business
Pa
Aug 5, 2013

Unpleasant stay

Uncomfortable bed with holes in the frame, mold in the bathroom, scratchy towels with holes, and hobos in the backyard make this hotel an overpriced mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the donut bar. Fantastic place with lines out the door. Have to get there early

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teddy6627
Couples
Bakersfield, CA
Mar 3, 2014

Not booking again

Not the worst hotel I've been but it was still bad. Staff was great but stay was not good, found women hair bundles on shower wall, remote didnt work at all, and beds were very uncomfortable, towels stank...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Purple Peanuts
Family
Richmond, BC
Jun 4, 2012

Didn't sleep well... but it wasn't all bad.

Didn't sleep well for all nights. Given a ground floor room. Could hear loud noisy footsteps and bed creaking very clearly from the room above. Strangely, the person/ people above didn't seem to sleep much - because there were footstep noises going on even at 3am, 4am etc. Also woken up early at 6am one morning by the the couple next door having... ahem, fun. Requested for a change of room to the upper level, but was told there was none available. Thankfully - it was not all bad. Bathroom looked new. (But like the walls, their towels were too thin) Staff were efficient. Location: convenient; walking distance to the San Diego zoo (20 mins) and near the City College trolley station. So if you want to stay in this motel, bring your own ear-plugs - towel - and a kettle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RainSean
Single
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Jun 6, 2012

A little shabby

The exterior was a little worn. Interior was clean and comfortable. Inexpensive but still slightly overpriced for the distance from the gas lamp district. Within a couple of miles from the San Diego zoo. Had to walk by three homeless guys who live permanently on the sidewalk at the nearest corner. The immediate neighborhood isn't great, but not unsafe. I would recommend some of the budget hotels near little Italy neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oracle718
Family
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 9, 2012

Get what you pay for?

The hotel was easily accessible to the trolley and downtown. However, when we asked for a room with 2 beds, they asked for an additional $15 dollars per night. On top of the already $90 spent for this type of accommodation, I thought that was a bit much for this location. But, because the HYATT lost our reservation, we were left with no real choice. Overall, the staff was nice and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Coronado Beach

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Makuti
Family
olathe,kansas
Jul 21, 2012

hotel was less than we expected.

We really thought it was better than advertised,but we should have known better,we are used to staying at 4 to 5 start hotels ,so it was partly our fault.so we moved out and went to Courtyard of marriott for $250 a night and it was totally worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marvelous Mickey
Single
Los Angeles
Dec 10, 2013

Too much for too little.

At least the TV worked, plenty of heat and hot water and a big bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MelAK
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 17, 2013

Wake Up Call by Construction

Our stay was ok until we were woken up at 8:30am to a jackhammer sound just outside our door. Shortly after, a leaf blower sound was added. Unable to stand it, we checked out early. Found out it was the hotel doing repairs in the parking lot. They didn't mention anything during check in and the front desk person didn't seem concerned about running a hotel where guests are unable to sleep. Booooo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top