$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

San Diego Downtown Lodge

2 stars
1345 10th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
18 reviews
weekend getaway

good overall experience. walking distance to gaslamp and petco park. nice tthat parking was... See full review

  • Weekend Adventur3r
  • Jun 25, 2014
One nigher

Came here for my birthday weekend, this place was good for the limited amount of time we were... See full review

  • Missbea3s
  • Mar 31, 2014
Newly remodeled hotel in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Minutes from the motel are San Diego's finest attraction hotel has to offer. All of rooms have private bathrooms in the rooms. All of rooms provide Free Cable TV, Free Wi-Fi & Free Parking. The hotel has no smoking policy.

Hotel Map

32.7195 -117.1554
Area served
San Diego.
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport (SAN) is Located 3.3 Miles.
Area description
Located in Downtown San Diego, located minutes from the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, San Diego Airport,Tijuana, Beaches and walking distance to Gaslamp, Convention Center, San Diego Bay, Little Italy. The hotel is located in the heart of San Diego Downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Diego Downtown Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

San Diego Downtown Lodge Rooms

Queen - Motel
Queen Motel offers Two Queen Beds can accommodate up to maximum of 4 occupancy. All of the rooms have private bathrooms in the room. The room offer free Wi-Fi, free parking, free local calls & Cable TV with HBO.
Queen - Motel
Queen Motel offers one queen Bed can accommodate up to maximum of 4 occupancy. All of the rooms have private bathrooms in the room. The room offer free wifi, free parking, free local calls & Cable TV with HBO

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 0.9 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Building: 0.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.5 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.4 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 5.1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 6.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 6.6 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 7.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.8 mi
  • Legoland: 29.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,117.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for San Diego Downtown Lodge

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.5

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missbea3s
La puente ca
Mar 31, 2014

One nigher

Came here for my birthday weekend, this place was good for the limited amount of time we were there. Found that our destinations where nearby so it was above all a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lz lizzie
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Day in San diego

Great room with two TVs and a couch and table. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Adventur3r
california
Jun 25, 2014

weekend getaway

good overall experience. walking distance to gaslamp and petco park. nice tthat parking was included just lot felt a lil tight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

cheaper to leave car at hotel and walk to gaslamp/petco park.

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hank87
Chestnut Hill, Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Good

Booked a hotel room with a extra bed and we got a big room with a bed sofa. The staff was really good. The bad thing is that the did the cleaning at around 5pm and we were always there then. It was only a 10 min walk then u were in down town san diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moniitaco
San bernardino
Jan 2, 2014

New Years Experience

The manager of the facility was very judemental and rude. He kept pressuring me to getting another room. There were a lot of homeless people outside. Its literally right off the freeway so the cars were a little loud. The room smelled like vomit. We had to air it out for a good while. And the staff made us uncomfortable, a lot of staring. The price was too bad but for the way we were treated and the how badly the room smelled I feel I could have done better. The beds were very comfortable though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It was a long walk away from gaslamp quarter. Not terribly bad but not as close as it should be.

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gogoamy
Los Angeles
Jul 4, 2014

Cheapskates paraidse

It's the best price in downtown and easily walkable to bars and other fun stuff. Plus it's also pet friendly and the guy running the front desk was super nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous37
not USA
Nov 17, 2012

Convenient

Value for money, and located conveniently: two short blocks from a light-rail stop, and with a petrol station close by for hot coffee and packaged snacks. The wifi worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I went for for the marine attractions: harbour cruise, maritime museum, USS Midway museum. I didn't have a long walk or a short drive: I used the light rail, which isn't an option in this survey.

Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justice4animals
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Clean room without frills!

Pros: just blocks from Gas Lamp District, flat screen TV, nice clean bathroom and room, free parking (limited spots). Cons: Room 112 - We had 1 pillow + 1 full-sized towel in the bathroom (for 2 people!) , no closet , no coffeemaker, no tissues in the tissue holder, cigarette hole in comforter, the ac/heater was missing a knob and was filthy (with dust) so thankfully the weather was great and we had no need to turn it on. If you aren't picky and just need a clean/ inexpensive room to crash, this is the place for you. But if you need certain amenities, spend a little more and go elsewhere or you will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RainSean
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Jun 6, 2012

A little shabby

The exterior was a little worn. Interior was clean and comfortable. Inexpensive but still slightly overpriced for the distance from the gas lamp district. Within a couple of miles from the San Diego zoo. Had to walk by three homeless guys who live permanently on the sidewalk at the nearest corner. The immediate neighborhood isn't great, but not unsafe. I would recommend some of the budget hotels near little Italy neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of San Diego Downtown Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oracle718
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 9, 2012

Get what you pay for?

The hotel was easily accessible to the trolley and downtown. However, when we asked for a room with 2 beds, they asked for an additional $15 dollars per night. On top of the already $90 spent for this type of accommodation, I thought that was a bit much for this location. But, because the HYATT lost our reservation, we were left with no real choice. Overall, the staff was nice and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Coronado Beach

Back to menu Return to top