$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
321 reviews
Beutiful views of the city and waterfront

Loved our stay. We were on the fifth floor (roof) and had fantastic views of the City and... See full review

  • David B.
  • Jun 27, 2015
Great location

We loved the location, close to many restaurants and walking distance to many spots in San Diego.... See full review

  • Agustin P.
  • Jun 7, 2015
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Nearby attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Policies
  • Parking fee is $25 USD per night.
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 321
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devon G.
Business
Carlsbad
Apr 23, 2015

Mr. Gilreath

Everything was great. Awesome location - walking distance to everything down town. Even though there was a convention going on and the hotel was fully packed the rooms remained silent. I will return and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew T.
Business
lakewood
Apr 21, 2015

Nice hotel

Wasn't sure what to expect. Price seemed too good to be true. Hotel has mandatory valet parking, which wasn't a problem. Hotel has a unique vibe. The middle of hotel is open to the outside, which is nice in San Diego's weather. Relatively close to many attractions if you don't mind walking. There was a party on the top of the hotel, which we didn't mind, but may not be the best place for families to stay due to the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chela A.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

not good

My best friend and I planned this mini getaway. We pulled into hotel to get our reservation and Alex the valet driver told us there was a $25 parking fee for guests, which I wasn't aware of this fee at all. When I asked him questions to find out what my options were he was extremely rude and impatient with my inquiries. When I went to the front desk to figure it out, Alex then made my girlfriend pull on the street. And then he disappeared for 15 min. So we had to drive our car completely around the long block which was extremely confusing when your from out of town and wait for Alex the valet driver to get back. When he got back I asked him more questions about the ticket he gave me and he mumbled something. I just gave up at this point cause we were tired from our trip. It was also disappointing not to be able to take a bath. When I ran the water no matter what, the shower head sprayed out water. Some of us girls have ethnic hair and don't want to get the hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Ann C.
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Within Walking Distance fo Fun Part of the City

This was great price for the downtown location. I looked at my room just as a comfortable place to return to at the end of the day. Could walk one block and be in the vibrant Little Italy area with those sidewalk cafes three blocks to the Trolley Line to go anywhere in the city. I am an older single lady and did not go out after dark alone but always felt comfortable (safe) when dropped off by my son at 8:30 or 9 P.M. walking into the hotel alone and up the stairs ( my preference to the elevator) and to my room. Room was very adequate for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
s.diego
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Subpar hotel stay

The hotel was significantly older than expected. The staff was very helpful and friendly, but the rooms were much older and smaller than they appeared online. Great location, but not a "luxury" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ironside Oysters was a great bar/restaurant right down the road! Fun and lively.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dyana M.
Business
Riverside
Jan 25, 2015

Spontaneous San Diego trip

I decided to go to San Diego spontaneous at 7pm and checked in to the Porta Vista at 9pm. This wasn't the first time I had stayed there and both times I was impressed with the room for the price. The rooms are comfortable, clean and I feel safe staying there. The staff is great and even was upgraded to a suite for no additional charge just because. Its close to the gaslamp district fun and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESTHELA P.
Business
Yuma
Jan 22, 2015

Great location near restaurants

This is a great hotel if you want something close to the restaurants in little Italy and you don't want take a taxi. The valet parking was like $27 but they do a really good job, and you don't have to worry about leaving the car in a parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Girls trip

Had a great time at this hotel. Roof top bar was fun and I was impressed with the food. Great location and room was clean. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining options within a short walking distance from hotel.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Salvie251
Business
Anaheim, CA
Oct 20, 2014

3 C's Clean, Close (to everything) and Comfortable

Located in Little Italy, this super clean hotel had everything to offer. I was in town for a wedding and it met and exceeded all of my needs. The restaurant on the 4th floor had a full bar and kitchen that served great food. I ended up checking out the surrounding areas on foot with my fellow wedding goers and enjoyed the offerings of little Italy. This place is about $6-8 cab ride to the Gaslamp district as well. Stay here, you'll love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk to The Waterfront bar, try the Chipotle Fries - AWESOME

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sowitty
Business
oceanside ca
Sep 22, 2014

Local Birthday Weekend

What a Great Place! the staff was so friendly and helpful. I recently moved to Cali. I wanted to get a room that we would be able to walk to places downtown or in little Italy and Porta Vista was perfect! had a great bar and restaurant right in the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

to every where you would want to go!

Back to menu Return to top