$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Etniesboi83
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 11, 2011

If it weren't for the General Manager

I don't typically review things, but this was interesting: 1. Booked same day, 1 King Balcony room. 2. Checked in and went to room, it was 2 Queens, no balcony. 3. Went back to front desk. Spoke with GM this time (by chance) he booked us in the Balboa Suite, which was very nice of him. 4. We went to the Balboa Suite and it had not been made up, like I was concerned that someone was still staying there. 5. Back to the front desk. Checked us into the Midway Suite. 6. To the Midway Suite. Keys didn't work. By chance I thought to try the suite next door (Harbor Suite) SUCCESS! Well, we got in... Room was big but sparsely appointed. Balcony was large but not private, though the view was divine. THEN, we woke up... To the sound of the restaurant directly above us... Chairs dragging across hardwood floors until checkout. Overall, not bad for the value, and the staff were very accommodating. However, I doubt we'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frump
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 12, 2011

OK

Good, but we did not like the clogged bathroom sink, no tops on the bathroom to put our things. Toilet paper holder is breaking off. Also, they charged me for failed attempts to make long distance calls. They also charge for the hotel shuttle to the airport. It feels like they just want to nickel and dime you for everything. There are just so many hotels that if I ever go again to San Diego, It will be worth it to use another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to Ralph's Supermarket to get groceries so that you can get an excellent salad or other deli things to take to your room so that the Gaslamp alligator restaurantscan't eat up all your dough with their expensive menus and mandatory 15% tips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LCarter
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 25, 2011

Good price

Overall, average experience. We basically just needed a place to sleep, we weren't looking to spend a whole lot of time in our hotel room. The rooms were clean but very small. Nice view out the bathroom window. We were on the top floor and had a beautiful view of the harbor just outside our door. For the price, we couldn't pass it up. It's about a mile from the Gas Lamp district, but it's an easy walk. Would we stay here again...? Yeah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff Kolob
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Good value in Little Italy

This was my second time staying at the Porto Vista. It's a cute, little hotel in Little Italy and is a pretty good deal considering the price and location. (Close to freeways/trolley/airport and in a walking neighborhood with plenty of dining, shopping, entertainment options.) Rooms are small, but clean. Comfy beds. TV was a little old and janky, as were the shower and toilet. And $22 for daily parking is quite steep. Otherwise, it's a nice place and I would recommend to other travelers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
burnclean
Business
Bozeman, Mt, USA
Nov 10, 2011

quick break

the location was perfect - close to fun stores and delis in the center of Little Italy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great sandwiches at Mona Lisa - a deli near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phile
Business
Maryland
Nov 20, 2011

trying to be hipster but still a motel

Not a bad place to stay. Essentially a motel renovated with some upscale decorations and flair. Room was small, functional and clean (except the ac air filter). Restuarant was ok, they swept the floor around me during breakfast. Upscale menu was ok but limited. Valets were good. Deskstaff acceptable. They don't tell you on the website but valet parking is mandatory and $22 a day as of Nov 2011. Great location if you want to walk to Little Italy or even the bay/Spanish Landing. To far to walk to Gaslamp through downtown and bums sleeping on sidewalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CoolKid
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Very Average, but Great Location

The hotel is in a great location. It is next to the trolly and train stations so it makes traveling to the harbor, TJ, or the gaslamp district a breeze. However, it gets pretty noisy at night. the ac/heater is not centralized and is also pretty loud. The bathrooms are not in the best conditions and yes, you might see a bug or two. This place reminded me more of a motel than hotel. The price, restaurant, and location really saved this hotel from getting a bad review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheezit
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Chemistry Convention

Overall, I had a great experience. Stayed there for seven days. The hotel was far away from the convention center, our frequent destination. We didn't have a car, so walking there took approximately 25-30 minutes. The rooms looked like they were newly renovated, painted with soothing colors. They have a black and white pictures of A GIRL MODEL (that's right, just one girl) throughout the hotel, which creepily stares directly in your soul. All staff members served with kindness and respect. However, we did have trouble getting in our room one night. When we went to the front desk, one of the front desk staff members did argue with me that leaving our credit card in our wallets caused our hotel keys to demagnetized. I told him the chances of three hotel cards demagnetizing at the same time were slim and this must of been an error on their part. He never apologized, nor admit he was wrong. Other than that, staff members gave great recommendations and were happy to assist. The hotel was essentially in a garage. Look down the center of the balcony was where they park the valet cars. The scenery at the hotel restaurant was very beautiful. It was very relaxing to eat out and had the view of the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to Spaghetteria. From the moment we sat down, service was horrible till the time we left. Being a server and manager at a restaurant for seven years, they did absolutely EVERYTHING wrong from waiting to management.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warren Harding
Business
San Quentin
Apr 27, 2012

OK for a cheap week in town if you sleep well

Convenient location in Little Italy a few blocks from the trolley stop. You can get downtown, to the convention center, the gaslight, or old town easily. The staff was helpful. Rooms were clean and adequate; a lot of noise from the airport and guests. This could be a much nicer place with some attention. There is not much going on and a lot of vacant and unfurnished public space. The advertised claim of free parking is a lie; they charge $22 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diegan Traveler
Business
Orange, California
May 16, 2012

San Diego Stay

The hotel is average and does require some updating of the rooms and amenities provided within them. The staff was not very helpful when the elevator broke and we were unable to get the luggage cart down from the third floor. The valet fee you pay is over priced and the attendants are not very helpful. Finally, the onsite restaraunt/bar has minimal offerings, over priced, and has a staff that is very unfriendly and not customer service orientated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good place to stay if you are going to the Little Italy area of San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top