$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just me not you
Business
San Francisco
Aug 23, 2013

Nice hotel

Nice modern hotel. Stayed two days on way back from Mexico. Parking was somewhat high and wireless connection was not great, but otherwise I would stay again. Very close to Little Italy and downtown sights and easy access to the trolley. Good location. And staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy, Pasta Bolognese at Lindini's on India St a block away. Quick, cheap and yummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lizbn
Business
bloomington, ca
Sep 16, 2013

birthday bash

This was a great hotel. I can't complain. I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TaraLynn
Business
Little Italy San Diego
Sep 16, 2013

Good location

Love the location of this hotel. Great prices! Valet staff is amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MagicDiverPilot
Business
Redondo Beach California
Sep 19, 2013

Great for what you pay

I was very pleased with this moderate, if not low price I paid to stay here. The staff was MORE THAN FRIENDLY. Very accommodating to my requests. They even had a toothbrush and paste when I realized I had forgotten mine. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landini's pizza by the slice. Great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zuthiel
Business
Mexico
Sep 23, 2013

Good Experience

Stayed for one week and was a great experience. The staff always help me with any question or request i had. My next trip to SD will stay again here for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Glass Door is a great place to dinner with a great view of the sunset

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach ocean fanatic
Business
Sonora,ca
Sep 25, 2013

Good downtown hotel

Hotel was nice only thing is they could put down runners in front of rooms to cut down noise from baggage and foot traffic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowie10
Business
Pico Rivera, Ca
Oct 1, 2013

Fun stay.

Really enjoyed my stay here, Room was very clean , AC worked fantastic and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole J.
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 6, 2013

Urban Getaway in Downtown

Perfect for couples looking for a unique getaway in the heart of downtown San Diego. The location is just a few minutes walk or drive to Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, San Diego Harbor, and Seaport Village. Or if you don't feel like going far, the hotel's own restaurant, The Glass Door, offers an upbeat late-night setting, or a relaxing weekend brunch. Hotel service was excellent, as well as the amenities; but an added Jacuzzi or spa would make the stay more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy is one street down from the Porto Vista Hotel, where you can find shopping, dining, gelato, and live entertainment for any time of day or night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IBDH
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Sep 30, 2013

Very nice hotel

We stayed in San Diego 4 nights. Our room was upgraded to king, which was very nice! The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The room was pretty clean. Location is just great! Everything is in short drive or walk distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toptiger
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Nov 3, 2013

Close to airport

Rooms open to the outdoors, and are a bit noisy. Near airport & near downtown. Restaurant provides nice setting for up-scale dinner, outdoor balcony or indoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For an inexpensive day trip, take the ferry from Broadway pier to Coronado island. Quiet residential neighborhoods and great beach along the Pacific side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top