$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
336 reviews
Perfect Spot! Close to EVERYTHING!

We were so impressed with this hotel! The room was a bit small but the overall decor and... See full review

  • letheecya
  • Jun 10, 2014
Porto Vista Hotel

Room was small but big enough to comfortable. We were there just to sleep. What I liked best about... See full review

  • bluecraby2k
  • Apr 16, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just me not you
San Francisco
Aug 23, 2013

Nice hotel

Nice modern hotel. Stayed two days on way back from Mexico. Parking was somewhat high and wireless connection was not great, but otherwise I would stay again. Very close to Little Italy and downtown sights and easy access to the trolley. Good location. And staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy, Pasta Bolognese at Lindini's on India St a block away. Quick, cheap and yummy.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago IL
Aug 23, 2010

Great Deal!

The location was great, we upgraded from the "cozy queen room" to the King room because we did not want to be located on the first floor as the doors opened out to the parking lot. The staff was friendly and the resturant had great views. The shuttle service was handy to/from the airport and attractions with a friendly driver. Overall great stay, good location and friendly service. This place is best if your planning to spend most of the trip out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

Better than expected

My girlfriend and I went to San Diego for the weekend, and we booked this hotel before reading some of the reviews online. After booking, I started doing more research and saw some pretty poor reviews, so I was a little worried about how things would be. This turned out to be a great hotel in a great location, with very good staff. When we checked in, the front desk informed us that there was an event on the top floor, and asked basically where we wanted our room. We chose the top floor still, and were pleasantly surprised by the deck/patio overlooking the harbor, and the open feel of the hotel as a whole. The room we had (a queen size bed) was larger than expected. Granted, it is not a huge room, but more than enough for two people to be comfortable in. The room was clean, and the hotel as a whole was clean. Complimentary breakfast is served each morning, and the selections are well above average, in my opinion. The location was AMAZING. Right next to Little Italy, and not far from the Gaslamp District. For the price, this was a perfect location. The hotel staff was helpful in answering questions about directions, and the valet service was quick and friendly. Overally, this was a great hotel.....if you are looking for a "resort" type setting, this is probably not for you. If, however, you are looking for a nice room, in a great location, with helpful staff, then I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to head to Little Italy, just a block away from the hotel!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke.ash
Murrieta, CA, USA
Mar 23, 2012

A nice one night getaway

It was a cute quant hotel. I only wish the room would have been a bit more up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crgirl
Hollywood, Florida
Jan 23, 2013

Love this place, would stay there again!

My husband and I stayed at the Porto Vista, in San Diego, as we wanted to be in the heart of the Little Italy and experience the “olde world charm”. The hotel was however, modern and upbeat, clean and friendly. Front staff were charming and helpful, pointing out places nearby to walk to and offering trips to the famous zoo, if we wanted them and giving directions to shops and nearby areas to explore. Valet parking, whilst charged for, was a good value per day and the valets were spot on. Rooms were bright and clean (we made use of previous comments and asked for an updated room) with all amenities to make you comfortable and entertained. Wasn’t a great fan of the large 60’s style “art work” but that didn’t detract from the overall ambiance I was thrilled with the rooftop yoga, relaxing and yet, exciting, with the view below of the harbor. Shuttle service was a plus and, at $5 per trip, not too bad for price The bar/restaurant was a pleasant surprise with gorgeous glass lamps, colored neon at the harbor counter and that great view! Food was plentiful, but somewhat limited for those of us that don’t eat meat or fish, but was enjoyed by everyone. Wine selection could be better, but all in all, every meal was delicious. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe mcDonald
Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Apr 17, 2013

Good location for bike granfondo event

Downtown parking a bit of a pain but it was downtown. Always tips to get something from your vehicle. We had bikes and thus lots of luggage. We stayed downtown because of the bike event, granfondo San Diego. Good meals downtown within walking distance. Room was good, king bed comfy, lots of room in room,, good wifi, good sleep although guests running hallways and loud Saturday night but hotel can't protect against that. Bathroom vanity needs updating. Put in a longer shelf for guest cosmetics, etc. had to ask for soap, towels, coffee. Staff friendly and accommodating. Valet parking a pain but staff friendly and helpful. Good access to freeways. Breakfast hot and good but would have liked fruit and yogurt and orange juice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhendr
kansas city, mo
Apr 30, 2010

Comfortable

The room was very comfortable. This was great since the Art Fair was in town and we did a lot of walking. Yoga daily @ 9:00am was great for working out the kinks. Restaurants everywhere within walking distance. The only draw back was that the hotel is very close to the airport and the planes fly directly over the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring comfortable walking shoes. You can walk to dine, shop and to entertainment.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
show me allen
mesa az
Jan 1, 2014

Maid service

Did not get maid service after our first night they said one of the washer were down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chell0
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 29, 2014

Great hotel in Little Italy

The staff was great and helpful. A few times all my towels weren't replaced but I easily got them replaced by asking at the front desk. The shuttle drivers were courteous and gave me restaurant suggestions. The free shuttle to the airport was a great addition. I would say the major drawback of this hotels is that it is not quiet. If you are a light sleeper you will get woken up by the random drunk guy who can't ready the signs to find the lobby, or people coming in late with their roller suitcase past your room. The walls are thin and you can hear all the traffic in the courtyard. I really liked the location of this hotel. It was walking distance to the bay, Balboa Park, and downtown. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby. The room was nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJB3
Business
St Louis, MO
Jan 25, 2013

Friendly, Helpful Staff

Wonderful reception at check-in, staff was especially helpful with directions, shuttle service to the Convention Center was quick and exceptionally friendly. When i requested a cab the night before my departure to be at the hotel at 5am, when I arrived in the lobby at 4:55am to check -out it was waiting for me. Close to Little Italy (you can smell the garlic in the air!). Price as good as you can get in the winter. This was my 3rd stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top