$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
270 reviews
Great location, funky specialness

Staff went out of their way, location excellent, restaurant and bar and views terrific. This one is... See full review

  • Practical Theovaler
  • Nov 22, 2014
Okay stay

The Internet sucked but overall the experience was good. See full review

  • OneLoveSD
  • Nov 22, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dahlia Seattle traveler
Business
Seattle
Dec 8, 2012

Nice hotel

It was clean, location was good--lots of nearby area to explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Convention Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
czyrun09
Business
Orange County
Dec 7, 2012

business

The only thing I'd say anything about is the complementary drinks. Beer only bud light? I wanted a better beer. Didn't feel like having wine after my hard cIder beer . Bought my own instead. .. Otherwise, clean and neat rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Got a $50 all ticket on the street. Should' ve valet parked it... Great location for the price.nice views from the patio bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cri Cri
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Dec 31, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

This hotel is at walking distance from all interesting points in downtown San Diego. It's very easy to find and has a convenient garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indigo Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princessbrat
Business
Pasadena, ca
Jan 2, 2013

NYE getaway

Great experience. Love the location in little Italy. Only 20 min walk to Gaslamp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJB3
Business
St Louis, MO
Jan 25, 2013

Friendly, Helpful Staff

Wonderful reception at check-in, staff was especially helpful with directions, shuttle service to the Convention Center was quick and exceptionally friendly. When i requested a cab the night before my departure to be at the hotel at 5am, when I arrived in the lobby at 4:55am to check -out it was waiting for me. Close to Little Italy (you can smell the garlic in the air!). Price as good as you can get in the winter. This was my 3rd stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crgirl
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Jan 23, 2013

Love this place, would stay there again!

My husband and I stayed at the Porto Vista, in San Diego, as we wanted to be in the heart of the Little Italy and experience the “olde world charm”. The hotel was however, modern and upbeat, clean and friendly. Front staff were charming and helpful, pointing out places nearby to walk to and offering trips to the famous zoo, if we wanted them and giving directions to shops and nearby areas to explore. Valet parking, whilst charged for, was a good value per day and the valets were spot on. Rooms were bright and clean (we made use of previous comments and asked for an updated room) with all amenities to make you comfortable and entertained. Wasn’t a great fan of the large 60’s style “art work” but that didn’t detract from the overall ambiance I was thrilled with the rooftop yoga, relaxing and yet, exciting, with the view below of the harbor. Shuttle service was a plus and, at $5 per trip, not too bad for price The bar/restaurant was a pleasant surprise with gorgeous glass lamps, colored neon at the harbor counter and that great view! Food was plentiful, but somewhat limited for those of us that don’t eat meat or fish, but was enjoyed by everyone. Wine selection could be better, but all in all, every meal was delicious. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thegeegs
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Jan 22, 2013

Great place, great staff!

My husband and I stayed at the Porto Vista, in San Diego, as we wanted to be in the heart of the Little Italy and experience the “olde world charm”. The hotel was however, modern and upbeat, clean and friendly. Front staff were charming and helpful, pointing out places nearby to walk to and offering trips to the famous zoo, if we wanted them and giving directions to shops and nearby areas to explore. Valet parking, whilst charged for, was a good value per day and the valets were spot on. Rooms were bright and clean (we made use of previous comments and asked for an updated room) with all amenities to make you comfortable and entertained. Wasn’t a great fan of the large 60’s style “art work” but that didn’t detract from the overall ambiance I was thrilled with the rooftop yoga, relaxing and yet, exciting, with the view below of the harbor. Shuttle service was a plus and, at $5 per trip, not too bad for price The bar/restaurant was a pleasant surprise with gorgeous glass lamps, colored neon at the harbor counter and that great view! Food was plentiful, but somewhat limited for those of us that don’t eat meat or fish, but was enjoyed by everyone. Wine selection could be better, but all in all, every meal was delicious. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Front staff were really helpful about trips to nearby attractions but not pushy and I appreciated that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pambla
Business
Gainesville Fla
Feb 8, 2013

Loved my balcony and the neighborhood

Well, ar first my cookie cutter mentality had a difficult time wrapping around this place...but frankly, once I saw my balcony I was sold! great little restaurant right on the premesis...good food and drinks. Free hot brakfast and good coffe:} Nice views of the water. FABULOUS neighborhood if you want to get a way from the convention crazies but still want good places to eat n shop. The Little Italy area is quaint. Shutle service to down town...all in all I was quite happy here! It was nice to break away from the typical big chain hotels for a few glorious nites!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian food and little cafes just two ahort blocks away...yummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moe from s..d.
Business
san diego, california
Feb 16, 2013

valentines getaway

It was a last minute idea, and it was perfect for the occasion. The 4th floor restaurant/ bar had a great view. Very romantic! Staff was extremely helpful. Only problem, the free breakfast buffet offered was nowhere to be found! Otherwise, I d recommed this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Its right behind the main street in little italy! Absolutely great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Lamartist
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 25, 2013

Great Hotel!

We stayed for 5 nights at the Porto Vista Hotel and it was great! They have a hot breakfast (complementary to people who book certain rooms I believe?) and the rooms looked nice. We would've liked a pool, but we were aware it didn't have one before we booked it. The restaurant is crazy expensive, which we expected. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful in finding places to eat, shop, etc while we were staying with them. Also, a shuttle picked us up from the airport for only $5 a person! Overall, it was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fig Tree Cafe in Hillcrest was an amazing restaurant!! My girlfriend and I had crab-stuffed prawn and mahi mahi. It's the best meal we've ever eaten, hands down, and the waitress was super friendly and great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top