$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexan J.
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 22, 2014

A Gem In Little Italy

Quaint hotel literally a minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Little Italy. Our queen room was decent - clean, spacious enough for 2, cable on a flat screen TV, and an AC unit that worked well. My only complaint is that there was no conditioner in the bathroom? All in all, worth every penny since the location is excellent! I would stay here again. Next time, I'd like to try their rooftop restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Filippi's pizzeria!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sowitty
Business
oceanside ca
Sep 22, 2014

Local Birthday Weekend

What a Great Place! the staff was so friendly and helpful. I recently moved to Cali. I wanted to get a room that we would be able to walk to places downtown or in little Italy and Porta Vista was perfect! had a great bar and restaurant right in the hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

to every where you would want to go!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shandasb1
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 20, 2014

Perfect for a Staycation

Nothing bad to report. Valet was quick. Check in was smooth. The room was clean and provided all the basic amenities. The exterior and interior of the hotel is nice and swanky. I didn't get to enjoy the bar or restaurant, or the roof top venue but at a glance it looked pretty cool. It's in a perfect location, within walking distance of restaurants, shops, and the farmers market if you're there on Saturday. The only downside but no fault of the hotel...is the parking situation. If you opt not to valet, good luck finding street parking, and if you do be aware that most are metered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the best farmers market in all San Diego - but it's only on Saturday.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
velizkaren
Business
Fontana CA
Nov 17, 2014

Good location!

It is clean and the location is good if you want to enjoy down town San Diego... Breakfast is not included :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SindynTigger
Business
London
Dec 13, 2014

good value, clean good wifi lovely staff

friendly helpful staff, good location, clean , good wifi but phone connection not great for mobile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristinsongs
Business
Canyon Country
Dec 30, 2014

Great value

This was a nice hotel. An easy walk to the trolley. The Farmer's market on Saturday was an awesome bonus. The only part we didn't like was the door to the bathroom. It was a sliding frosted glass door. A little awkward for the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The one way streets made it a little tricky to find the hotel.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Girls trip

Had a great time at this hotel. Roof top bar was fun and I was impressed with the food. Great location and room was clean. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining options within a short walking distance from hotel.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESTHELA P.
Business
Yuma
Jan 22, 2015

Great location near restaurants

This is a great hotel if you want something close to the restaurants in little Italy and you don't want take a taxi. The valet parking was like $27 but they do a really good job, and you don't have to worry about leaving the car in a parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott M.
Business
sugar land
Feb 4, 2015

Weekend in Little Italy

Nice place with a great location. View from Bar was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hot chocolate runners
Business
Riverside
Mar 26, 2015

1 night stay

We decided last minute to stay here. We have stayed here before , but this time we decided to do some exploration. We found some great breweries in the area , within walking distance and even got to take a painting and wine class. The staff was friendly and we got a great room with a balcony and a view. The price was not bad either and it looks like they will have a pool soon which will be great I'm sure. Overall not too shabby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top