$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristinsongs
Business
Canyon Country
Dec 30, 2014

Great value

This was a nice hotel. An easy walk to the trolley. The Farmer's market on Saturday was an awesome bonus. The only part we didn't like was the door to the bathroom. It was a sliding frosted glass door. A little awkward for the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The one way streets made it a little tricky to find the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Girls trip

Had a great time at this hotel. Roof top bar was fun and I was impressed with the food. Great location and room was clean. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining options within a short walking distance from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESTHELA P.
Business
Yuma
Jan 22, 2015

Great location near restaurants

This is a great hotel if you want something close to the restaurants in little Italy and you don't want take a taxi. The valet parking was like $27 but they do a really good job, and you don't have to worry about leaving the car in a parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott M.
Business
sugar land
Feb 4, 2015

Weekend in Little Italy

Nice place with a great location. View from Bar was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hot chocolate runners
Business
Riverside
Mar 26, 2015

1 night stay

We decided last minute to stay here. We have stayed here before , but this time we decided to do some exploration. We found some great breweries in the area , within walking distance and even got to take a painting and wine class. The staff was friendly and we got a great room with a balcony and a view. The price was not bad either and it looks like they will have a pool soon which will be great I'm sure. Overall not too shabby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michelle b.
Business
Wigan
Mar 24, 2015

Nice hotel

Hotel within walking distance of Little Italy! Nice hotel rooms, clean and spacious. We had two queen beds in room. Free shuttle to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracy G.
Business
Buford
Apr 19, 2015

Mother/Daughter Trip

If you are a person who spends lots of time hanging out in the hotel room on vacation, this isn't the place for you. The rooms are very dark with one window that overlooks the parking deck. However they are very clean and comfortable, so if you just need a place to crash at night after a day of sightseeing I would definitely recommend the Porto Vista. The location of this hotel is great - easily accessible to the heart of downtown San Diego, walking distance to the Little Italy strip of Italian restaurants/bars and the Saturday morning farmer's market (which is definitely worth exploring if you have the time). Valet parking was $25 per day and the only option, but if you like the hotel facebook page the price drops to $15. Front desk and valet staff were very nice and accommodating. We never timed it right to actually eat at Glass Door restaurant on the roof, but we did go up and look around and the view was great - open air seating (San Diego weather is just absolutely perfect) overlooking the city. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew T.
Business
lakewood
Apr 21, 2015

Nice hotel

Wasn't sure what to expect. Price seemed too good to be true. Hotel has mandatory valet parking, which wasn't a problem. Hotel has a unique vibe. The middle of hotel is open to the outside, which is nice in San Diego's weather. Relatively close to many attractions if you don't mind walking. There was a party on the top of the hotel, which we didn't mind, but may not be the best place for families to stay due to the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
49erPhil
Business
LA CA
Jan 27, 2014

Family getaway

No on demand movies or pool. And the parking price per day was high compared to other hotels. Other guest coming back from the bar at the hotel kept waking us up all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy was a shot walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mashup
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 9, 2014

Great Location, Friendly Staff

The good: Free shuttle service, restaurant on site, excellent location in a completely walkable neighborhood, staff was top notch, extremely friendly and helpful. Free WiFi. The bad: It's basically a motel which isn't evident from the photos. It's noisy. Our room was over a parking lot and we heard people, doors opening, etc for the bulk of the evening. Small TV. Couldn't get room to cool. What could be better: Free breakfast, a better TV reception (HD!), better WiFi, soundproofing. We typically don't travel to stay in hotels, we travel to experience the city. So if you're looking for a comfortable place to crash, this will fit the bill. If you're looking to be pampered, maybe not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Influx for a great breakfast and coffee. One black walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top