$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee1226
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 13, 2011

Gets the job done!

The Porto Vista hotel definitely gets the job done. The location was great - walking distance to the Gaslamp district with Little Italy right outside the door. The room was small, but very comfortable with a spacious bathroom. The only drawbacks were parking; at $14/day the price was a bit steep, even if you are allowed to take your car in and out of the lot an unlimited amount of times (which isn't really necessary considering most places are a cab's drive away or within walking distance.) Luckily, we were able to find street parking both days we stayed so we wound up not having to pay. The restaurant had a nice view, but I wasn't too thrilled with the drinks (the cocktails just weren't that great) and the food seemed overpriced. Nevertheless, it's worth pregaming at the happy hour which runs until 7 p.m. every night. All-in-all I would say it was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Broken Yolk cafe in Gaslamp has amazing food! And not too far away if you're shopping on a budget and looking for inexpensive trendy clothing is Pink Zone - I managed to rack up 2 pairs of leggings, 2 shirts, 2 belts and a sweater for $37! (and that was regular priced).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 29, 2010

Great hotel for the price

The hotel had superb service. Everyone was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends. The only other downfall to the entire stay was that we had asked the front desk 4 times to have the refrigerator in our room looked at because they weren't working and they said it would be looked into. After the 4th time and finally seeing the maintenance manager working elsewhere in the hotel, we asked about the fridge. He stated that most of the refrigerators on our floor were not working due to a surge that knocked out their power. If only someone would have told us this initially, I wouldn't have wasted some of my time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelrick
Business
New York
Aug 19, 2010

San Diego Porto Vista

The hotel staff were excellent, the rooms cozy, and the atmosphere comfortable. Downside being if you didn't request the included breakfast tickets they didn't give them to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
May 28, 2011

simple and nice

I went to a concert at 4th and b and I didn't want to drive back to LA late at night so I decided to book a hotel this hotel is close to everything and it is very nice and can honestly say the service was excellent I just wished it had a pool but aside from that it was very clean and a pretty view of downtown San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhendr
Business
kansas city, mo
Apr 30, 2010

Comfortable

The room was very comfortable. This was great since the Art Fair was in town and we did a lot of walking. Yoga daily @ 9:00am was great for working out the kinks. Restaurants everywhere within walking distance. The only draw back was that the hotel is very close to the airport and the planes fly directly over the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring comfortable walking shoes. You can walk to dine, shop and to entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One night out
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 30, 2011

A night out

My friend and I were very satisfied. The hotel actually didnt have our reservation at all. They ended up upgrading us from one queen first floor to 2 queens 2nd floor and 2 complimentary drinks at the Glass Door!! I was super happy! I will definitely come back!! The rooms were clean, it did have the grapic photo wall, the location was awesome and the staff was friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 23, 2010

Great Deal!

The location was great, we upgraded from the "cozy queen room" to the King room because we did not want to be located on the first floor as the doors opened out to the parking lot. The staff was friendly and the resturant had great views. The shuttle service was handy to/from the airport and attractions with a friendly driver. Overall great stay, good location and friendly service. This place is best if your planning to spend most of the trip out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 23, 2010

Better than expected

My girlfriend and I went to San Diego for the weekend, and we booked this hotel before reading some of the reviews online. After booking, I started doing more research and saw some pretty poor reviews, so I was a little worried about how things would be. This turned out to be a great hotel in a great location, with very good staff. When we checked in, the front desk informed us that there was an event on the top floor, and asked basically where we wanted our room. We chose the top floor still, and were pleasantly surprised by the deck/patio overlooking the harbor, and the open feel of the hotel as a whole. The room we had (a queen size bed) was larger than expected. Granted, it is not a huge room, but more than enough for two people to be comfortable in. The room was clean, and the hotel as a whole was clean. Complimentary breakfast is served each morning, and the selections are well above average, in my opinion. The location was AMAZING. Right next to Little Italy, and not far from the Gaslamp District. For the price, this was a perfect location. The hotel staff was helpful in answering questions about directions, and the valet service was quick and friendly. Overally, this was a great hotel.....if you are looking for a "resort" type setting, this is probably not for you. If, however, you are looking for a nice room, in a great location, with helpful staff, then I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to head to Little Italy, just a block away from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Good Hotel/Convenient location

The staff was excellent. Location (near Little Italy & downtown trolly) was very good. The rooms were clean, updated and comfortable. The bar was very nice & friendly too (Happy Hour starts at noon). The walls were a little thin (we paid $20 extra for the larger room, so I think we had a better room location) but we didn't hear any noise that kept us up. The room was a bit expensive and valet parking was $18/night (we could not find street parking)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy had some nice places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Globetrotter72
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 23, 2010

Good for the price

Good motel type place. Spotless rooms. Friendly staff. Close to little Italy. Some noise from the nearby airport, though not audilble from the rooms. A downside is that the only window in the room faces the hallway and inside parking space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top