$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IBDH
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Sep 30, 2013

Very nice hotel

We stayed in San Diego 4 nights. Our room was upgraded to king, which was very nice! The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The room was pretty clean. Location is just great! Everything is in short drive or walk distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toptiger
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Nov 3, 2013

Close to airport

Rooms open to the outdoors, and are a bit noisy. Near airport & near downtown. Restaurant provides nice setting for up-scale dinner, outdoor balcony or indoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For an inexpensive day trip, take the ferry from Broadway pier to Coronado island. Quiet residential neighborhoods and great beach along the Pacific side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaxyY
Business
New York City
May 27, 2014

Perfect for your basic hotel needs

Great location one block away from the Little Italy strip of restaurant/bars. This hotel offers a nice space to come home to after a day of being out in the city. Just be forewarned that the only parking available is a valet garage for $20 a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Craft and Commerce is a unique bar with fantastic cocktails and interesting decor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey 1
Business
Phoenix AZ
Aug 11, 2010

Great location, great stay

The staff was over the top friendly and helpful. I'm very picky about customer service and they all aced it. Great location for shopping, eating, and sightseeing. I would go back on a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee1226
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 13, 2011

Gets the job done!

The Porto Vista hotel definitely gets the job done. The location was great - walking distance to the Gaslamp district with Little Italy right outside the door. The room was small, but very comfortable with a spacious bathroom. The only drawbacks were parking; at $14/day the price was a bit steep, even if you are allowed to take your car in and out of the lot an unlimited amount of times (which isn't really necessary considering most places are a cab's drive away or within walking distance.) Luckily, we were able to find street parking both days we stayed so we wound up not having to pay. The restaurant had a nice view, but I wasn't too thrilled with the drinks (the cocktails just weren't that great) and the food seemed overpriced. Nevertheless, it's worth pregaming at the happy hour which runs until 7 p.m. every night. All-in-all I would say it was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Broken Yolk cafe in Gaslamp has amazing food! And not too far away if you're shopping on a budget and looking for inexpensive trendy clothing is Pink Zone - I managed to rack up 2 pairs of leggings, 2 shirts, 2 belts and a sweater for $37! (and that was regular priced).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 29, 2010

Great hotel for the price

The hotel had superb service. Everyone was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends. The only other downfall to the entire stay was that we had asked the front desk 4 times to have the refrigerator in our room looked at because they weren't working and they said it would be looked into. After the 4th time and finally seeing the maintenance manager working elsewhere in the hotel, we asked about the fridge. He stated that most of the refrigerators on our floor were not working due to a surge that knocked out their power. If only someone would have told us this initially, I wouldn't have wasted some of my time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelrick
Business
New York
Aug 19, 2010

San Diego Porto Vista

The hotel staff were excellent, the rooms cozy, and the atmosphere comfortable. Downside being if you didn't request the included breakfast tickets they didn't give them to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
May 28, 2011

simple and nice

I went to a concert at 4th and b and I didn't want to drive back to LA late at night so I decided to book a hotel this hotel is close to everything and it is very nice and can honestly say the service was excellent I just wished it had a pool but aside from that it was very clean and a pretty view of downtown San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhendr
Business
kansas city, mo
Apr 30, 2010

Comfortable

The room was very comfortable. This was great since the Art Fair was in town and we did a lot of walking. Yoga daily @ 9:00am was great for working out the kinks. Restaurants everywhere within walking distance. The only draw back was that the hotel is very close to the airport and the planes fly directly over the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring comfortable walking shoes. You can walk to dine, shop and to entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One night out
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 30, 2011

A night out

My friend and I were very satisfied. The hotel actually didnt have our reservation at all. They ended up upgrading us from one queen first floor to 2 queens 2nd floor and 2 complimentary drinks at the Glass Door!! I was super happy! I will definitely come back!! The rooms were clean, it did have the grapic photo wall, the location was awesome and the staff was friendly!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top