$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
321 out of 321
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teddyf
new york
Apr 2, 2012

i am so happy to stay in your hotel

i will recommended hotel to everyone/location was perfect/i am really happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jae Yu
Business
LA, CA
Mar 31, 2014

Great value and quality

Thanks for a fantastic stay. Clean and quality stay. Great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lilladyyes
Business
Bloomington, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Great getaway.

Very nice hotel and walking distance from Little Italy. The restaurant upstairs has good prices, a great happy hour, and an amazing view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marwayne
Business
Long Beach california
Mar 29, 2014

great

we enjoyed our stay, room was great , the staff was exceptional at the front desk and valet guys where great. The only thing I would do is in the bathroom I would put a dish in the shower for the shampoo and soap. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jodyyy
Business
Sonoma, CA
Mar 26, 2014

It was an okay, turned better experience

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it has been decent. It is worth it's price in location for sure, Thomas goodwill the GM made our trip. The bell guys and valet are awesome as well the concierge counter people need some work other than Joshua he is awesome!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Being in down town little Italy, you get all the best Italian food!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Huei
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 18, 2014

Friendly staff, small room

Stay only one night, location is OK, room is small but clean, staff is friendly, no parking space, need to pay $22 valet parking per night including internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Grl
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 16, 2014

Just what we were looking for!

Nice hotel and great location for the price. Room was clean. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy is amazing!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jam ihrsa
Business
tempe az
Mar 16, 2014

IHrsa

The front desk upon arrival gave poor information and didn't inform us about the shuttle. Because of these two things I would not recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Marriott has a nice roof top bar over looking the ball park and the water.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1579
Business
North of Toronto
Mar 14, 2014

Not recommended

Not that there is anything major wrong No parking You get Valet or something on the street somewhere. My room was very noisy. If anything or anybody outside your door at all. You would know it very clearly Now it was reasonably close to major attractions. The zoo the Midway. Sea world I would not use it again. But you can I have done worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent cruise traveller
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 13, 2014

Good value and relatively good location

Its location in Little Italy provides a relatively good base for San Diego with the light rail a 8 minute walk from the hotel and a 10 minute ride from there to the convention center, Seaport village or the next station transfer point at the AMTRAK in downtown. One can walk (about 20 min) to the USS Midway aircraft carrier museum/Maritime Museum area/cruise terminal where the city bus from the airport also stops. It is a workable alternative to the much higher price hotels in the Convention center and Gastown district if one uses the MTS light rail, else the walk to the convention center can take about 30-35 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JillNorth
Business
Mountain View, California
Mar 6, 2014

One of my Best Business Trip Experiences

Part of my job requires me to find meeting space to conduct trainings. Since I was going to be staying at Porto Vista, I looked into booking a conference room as well. I worked with Jayna (who is AWESOME) to book the room - she made it so easy and flexible. From the moment I pulled up to the hotel, I was greeted with nothing but the most sincere hospitality - these people know how to make you feel special! My room was very clean - had everything I needed. But the meeting space was amazing! There are floor to ceiling glass windows that overlook the harbor. The view is incredible. But I have to mention again, the staff being so helpful and welcoming. I stay at a lot of hotels, this one will be a definite repeat in the future! Thanks Porto Vista!!!!! You are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top