$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
256 reviews
Great location, great price!

I stayed here for the weekend and loved it! For the rate, it was more than i expected. Thr location... See full review

  • Lady T0328
  • Aug 26, 2014
Fantastic little Italy

Very nice, very clean, lovely stay. Close to the bay. Super close to air port. Little Italy is very... See full review

  • Thuggerthugger
  • Jul 14, 2014
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply)
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7244 -117.1672
Area served
Downtown San Diego Boutique Hotel In The Heart Of Little Italy
Nearby airports
Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN)
Area description
Located in the heart of San Diego's historic Little Italy neighborhood, with fabulous views of the San Diego Harbor Walking distance to dozens of eclectic local restaurants, authentic shops, and art galleries Minutes from famous local attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo, as well as the Convention Center and cruise terminal Only one mile from San Diego International Airport (SAN) Transportation (fee) to the airport and many area local attractions

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sea World: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doctor James
Business
Florida
Sep 9, 2013

Porto Vista Hotel

Hotel was in a very nice area of San Diego. Clean rooms with nice staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maritime Traveler
Nova Scotia, Canada
Sep 8, 2013

A refurbished Maze

We stayed in this hotel for one night on the 6th of September, 2013. We were quite surprised to find that there was a $5.00 per person shuttle charge from the San Diego airport when the airport was only a 10 minute drive and that the shuttle stopped running at 8:00 PM so be prepared to hire a taxi if you have a late arrival. The front desk staff was not at all friendly and indifferent. The hallways and room locations were totally confusing with poorly signed directions which we found bizarre so expect to get lost until you find your bearings. The standard rooms are roughly 170 square feet and quite small for the more than $100.00 per night cost. They are nicely appointed though with comfortable beds. When we went for breakfast in the morning we were told that they didn`t have coffee because their machine was not working, which is pretty bad when you consider how important coffee is for some folks. All in all it was a very average hotel and over priced which was fine for a short stay and in our opinion not acceptable for longer visits. Of course it has an excellent location in the heart of Little Italy which has some wonderful dining opportunities. We more than likely would not choose this hotel for another visit to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at the Mona Lisa which has excellent Southern Italian cuisine. Again, there are tons of good dining choices just a block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Talmadge Dweller
Los Angeles
Sep 2, 2013

Room Upgrades Needed

The hotel is a good deal for the location and clean. The room I was in needed new carpeting as there were cigarette burns in the carpeting (probably should be a totally cigarette free hotel). Also the walls needed retouching particularly in the bathrooms. I had to call for hangers in the closet as there was only one (but promptly and cheerfully delivered). If they spend a little more on the rooms, I would upgrade my ratings. Very nice breakfast in great setting. Place could be terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Terrific Japanese Antique store on Kettner just a few blocks away "The Oriental Treasure Chest". Don't have anything that can compare in LA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frankie G
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 26, 2013

Location can not be beat

Had a boys weekend with my four brothers and needed a place in the city, close to culture and food. This was it. While the hotel is a bit worn around the edges (think 1960), it has been upgraded in the past year or so - new AC, improved restaurant, exterior redesign - and is probably better than it was several years ago. It still has a bit of the 60's motel feel with exterior walkways, a fair amount of wear and tear in the rooms, and some funkiness in the overall feel of the place. the lobby is nice and very European feeling, the 4th floor restaurant had spectacular views, and the 5th floor terrace (ps - the one they show on the web site is closed and only opens for special events - there is a much smaller one open for guests) was a great place to spend the evening though it can get crowded. But, on the other hand, this location turned out to be spectacular - one block off of little Italy with bistros, coffee shops, and pubs galore - while being walking distance from the harbor, the gaslight district, the train station, and more. Plus, it was only 1 block from a freeway entrance, which was a plus for getting to places by auto quickly. I should note that the only parking is vale and it is pricy - very pricy. The service was exceptional, particularly the desk and vale staff. Very helpful folks. I suspect there are some seriously sub-par rooms in the hotel - we did hear some guest complaining -, but we were not there for the rooms, rather for the city and so it worked very well for us. Beds were comfortable, AC cold, and the general ambiance pleasant. Not perfect, but in the summer, about 1/2 of what one would pay elsewhere in the city. Cigars and drinks on the rooftop at night, great views, and walking distance to sights in the daytime (about a 10 minute walk to the USS Midway as a reference)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

one block to the west - check out the Italian restaurants and British pubs. Do NOT miss Filippi's In the front it is a deli and store, but has a fantastic restaurant in the back through the store. Not to be missed. If you get there too late on Fri/Sat, be prepared to stand in line. You could call in a take-out and avoid the lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just me not you
San Francisco
Aug 23, 2013

Nice hotel

Nice modern hotel. Stayed two days on way back from Mexico. Parking was somewhat high and wireless connection was not great, but otherwise I would stay again. Very close to Little Italy and downtown sights and easy access to the trolley. Good location. And staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy, Pasta Bolognese at Lindini's on India St a block away. Quick, cheap and yummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
absolutislove
Singapore
Jul 17, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel

The rooms were very clean and newly renovated so that made our stay very enjoyable. The beds were extremely comfortable to sleep on. It's located in Little Italy and the neighbourhood has a whole host of restaurants and cafes to try. Also, it's a short walk to the Marina!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wera1
Tucson
Jul 8, 2013

vacations

everything was fine except the pillows. Location is perfect. Staff should be more polite and willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ilar
san francisco
Jul 8, 2013

If I could give 0 stars, I would!

I was very disappointed with the Buena Vista Hotel. The room was very dark, having just one window which showed to the inner court of the motel (yes, this is more a motel than a hotel!) with parked cars. No "VISTA" at all, apart from the restaurant which the most disgusting breakfast buffet I ever ate in my life (we all had stomach ache after eating breakfast, as it was so fat). The staff could not do anything about our complaints, as we had booked over "orbitzz", so that was no fun. I DO NOT RECOMMEND to go there for a vacation, as it did totally spoil ours and my memories of a vacation in San Diego!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue A Trev
Banning, CA
Jul 7, 2013

Awesome place. Love the look.

This place was fantastic and we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaslamp

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich man
San Diego
Jul 3, 2013

get out of the heat

It is a good location $22.00 to park and I had my dog But what the web site failed to disclose was a $75.00 no-refundable deposit for "cleaning". I got to my room there was a dried urine stain in the carpet and smeared fecal matter on the carpet like someone picked it up with a bag but didn't wash it up. It was quite and there was a coffee shop and small store within 4 blocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search