$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
V. Galea
Business
Playa del Carmen
Jan 31, 2014

LITTLE ITALY VISIT

Visiting Family in San Diego. Nice location easy walk to the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ballast Point Brewery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tinytiff1983
Business
edlands
Jan 31, 2014

great location

The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the slight view of the ocean was pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chell0
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 29, 2014

Great hotel in Little Italy

The staff was great and helpful. A few times all my towels weren't replaced but I easily got them replaced by asking at the front desk. The shuttle drivers were courteous and gave me restaurant suggestions. The free shuttle to the airport was a great addition. I would say the major drawback of this hotels is that it is not quiet. If you are a light sleeper you will get woken up by the random drunk guy who can't ready the signs to find the lobby, or people coming in late with their roller suitcase past your room. The walls are thin and you can hear all the traffic in the courtyard. I really liked the location of this hotel. It was walking distance to the bay, Balboa Park, and downtown. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby. The room was nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deje79
Business
Sioux Falls
Jan 29, 2014

Night in Little Italy

From the minute we arrived the staff was the best I have ever experienced, and we travel at least once a year! We had a balcony room with a peak a boo view of the water. Would of been nice if it had a chair out on the balcony. Easy to walk around little Italy, with wonderful places to eat. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. Also was nice to have frig and microwave in the room. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Queenstown Public House- Unique beers and wonderful sangria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
49erPhil
Business
LA CA
Jan 27, 2014

Family getaway

No on demand movies or pool. And the parking price per day was high compared to other hotels. Other guest coming back from the bar at the hotel kept waking us up all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy was a shot walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nattlebug
Business
Westminster, CA
Jan 25, 2014

Great for the price

Clean, quiet and great location right next to little Italy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Teacher from Watts
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 24, 2014

Great place for family!!

We had a great stay. Family friendly. We were sent to a room that was not ready and when I returned to the check in desk I was upgraded to a suite. My husband and I also got complimentary drinks at the Glass Door. Great atmosphere. Good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner from Little Italy where there are many choices for a great dining experience!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karah15
Business
Yuma, Arizona
Jan 20, 2014

Location is perfect!

Great location! Went for a family trip to to show my parents and walking distance to little Italy was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Branson63
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 6, 2014

A for effort and a satisfying result

Looks like an old facility that is being nicely re-vamped. Very smart front end and good restaurant/bar, with the body of an older establishment behind. Upgraded furniture improves the rooms, which were quite spacious. Good location and overall good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great new and old restaurants in the Gaslamp / Little Italy neighborhood around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter 950
Business
oakland ca
Jan 6, 2014

Great Bargain

Porto Vista was located just of I% conveniently. Room was large and spotless. Room had a Microwave and Refrigerator. Front desk staff were polite and accommodating. Located in heart of Little Italy which made dining a plus. Easy walk to downtown and public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

one block west is center of Little Italy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top