$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrsgil
Business
Riverside,ca
Jul 11, 2014

Great hotel

My overall experience was good the only thing that sucked was the water pressure in the shower! That needs a little work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VivianR
Business
Anaheim, California
Jul 8, 2014

Good Location

Location is good, in downtown SD. The rooms are very old. And it is expensive for this kind of 'hotel'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derfbag
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 8, 2014

4th of July

Roof party on the 4th. We did not go, but the good view of the Bay was enough to have a standing-room-only crowd (much younger than us). Hotel is a good value - the location is great - quiet neighborhood (other than the airplanes) with easy walking to many in-town activities. Valet-only parking is $22. Glass Door restaurant on 4th floor was a lovely spot to have our breakfasts. Would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IDon'tNeedANickname
Business
Vegas
Jul 6, 2014

Only if you have no other option...

Washing machine was running late at night on the other side of the wall. Parking garage was right outside the door, so as we were trying to sleep doors were being shut and car alarms armed right outside the door. Overpriced restaurant on level 4. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

7 eleven right down the street.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sneaky13
Business
Fremont, ca
Jun 26, 2014

Got less than promised

I arrived and the sent us to the wrong room. Booked a deluxe two queen, sent us to a single queen. That room was nice and upgraded. I called to get this fixed, I took them 25 minutes to find us another room and kept asking if we touched anything in the first room as if they would not help us if we did. Finally they got us a room, however it was like an old m-6 or s-8. Not upgraded and definitely not deluxe. The hotel said they could help us no more as they had no more rooms and that we were lucky to get this one and because we paid though orb they would not compensate the price thus they stole and gave us less than we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goodtimes123
Business
Santa Ana
Jun 25, 2014

Great Experience

Everything was great. Very clean hotel and friendly staff. We had a great view from our balcony. I loved that it was fairly close to everything. Will be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sierra03
Business
San Bernardino, Ca
Jun 24, 2014

Too expensive

The hotel staff was average upon checking in. Don't know if the hotel didn't have a pool but again I didn't bother to ask since it wasn't visible. The room was spacious and clean, it had a microwave & coffee maker which was broken. A bit too noisy since all rooms face the inside hallway which is outdoor. Overall the price we paid was too much for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab to Gas Lamp instead of taking your own car. Parking is expensive & we heard police are very active.

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimberly K Lovin SD
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 23, 2014

Business & Pleasure!

Valet is great, super fast moving and concerned you get where you need to go ASAP! Check in was smooth, and the room was good. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Love the farmers market!

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TakeFive
Business
Tucson
Jun 13, 2014

Expensive dogs !

Everything was ok but even if the dogs are allowed, 2 little dogs will pay $75 each. Thats more that we payed for humans. We should have been advised this in bold during reservation... We could recommend the hotel if not accompanied by pet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kapuni
Business
Orange, CA
Jun 11, 2014

Last Minute Get-Away

It was a very nice quaint place away from the hustle and bustle yet still close enough to the Gas Lamp district. The staff was very friendly!! The rooms were so-so but clean :) My hubby and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top