$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Porto Vista Hotel

3 stars
1835 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
279 reviews
Spontaneous San Diego trip

I decided to go to San Diego spontaneous at 7pm and checked in to the Porta Vista at 9pm. This... See full review

  • Dyana M.
  • Jan 25, 2015
Nice Hotel

I enjoyed my stay. Nice staff :) My family enjoyed our stay. The staff was very nice. Our room was... See full review

  • ANGELA A.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Taste of Europe in San Diego’s Little Italy with rooftop yoga
Located in the heart of San Diego's modest Little Italy neighborhood, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a taste of Europe. The Mediterranean style hotel features an interior open-air courtyard and spacious rooms. All guests receive, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary rooftop yoga classes and shuttle service to the convention center, airport and cruise ship terminals for a minimal fee. The on-site restaurant, Glass Door, serves dishes inspired by some of Europe's culinary capitals.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and rooftop yoga classes
  • Enjoy free transportation to some of San Diego's most popular attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves European dishes
  • Offers valet parking for an added fee
Rooms

The Porto Vista Hotel offers 189 rooms, including 4 suites that mix retro design with modern art--most with floor-to-ceiling artwork on one wall. Each room comes standard with a TV, an MP3 docking station, in-room safe and a make-up mirror. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

The Porto Vista Hotel dates back to the 1960s, though rooms and common spaces were renovated in 2008 to keep the property current.

All guests have access to the on-site 24-hour fitness center. There's also complimentary rooftop yoga and 24-hour laundry service (fees apply). Elsewhere on property, the Porto Vista Hotel boasts a salon, a Vespa store and a series of cooking classes throughout the year (fees apply). The hotel also offers transportation to and from the airport, valet parking (fees apply), as well as shuttle service to the San Diego Convention Centerand many other local attractions for a minimal fee.

For meals guests can visit Glass Door, the on-site restaurant. Chefs have modeled the eclectic menu after highlights from Barcelona, Naples and other culinary hotspots in Europe. Happy hour and weekend brunch both are particularly popular.

Transportation
  • Porto Vista Hotel shuttle to and from San Diego International Airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal (fees apply)
  • MTS Bus (2 blocks)
  • San Diego Trolley (4 blocks)
  • San Diego International Airport (1 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Little Italy (1 block)
  • San Diego Convention Center (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Town (2 mi/4 km)
  • Sea World (3 mi/5 km)
  • San Diego Zoo (4 mi/7 km)
  • Petco Park (4 mi/7 km)
  • Qualcomm Stadium (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Fax and copy services available
  • Ripassi Roofdeck large enough for parties of up to 50 people
  • Glass-walled banquet room overlooks San Diego Bay
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $25 USD per night.
  • Pets are accepted - one per room up to 40 pounds (fees apply).  A non-refundable pet fee will apply.
  • Rollaway beds available for a fee
  • A valid credit card is required at check in for incidental charges to establish credit.  We do not accept cash or pre-paid cards.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Vista Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Porto Vista Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
1 queen bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
STANDARD - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
1 king bed. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
2 queen beds. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
PREMIUM - ROOM
1 king bed with a balcony. Pillowtop mattress. Premium bedding. Desk. In-room safe. 27-inch television. Cable/satellite television channels. Premium television channel(s). Voice mail. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Makeup/shaving mirror. Designer toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 0.2 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 0.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 1 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Botanical Building: 1.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 1.2 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 1.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 1.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.7 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.7 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 4.4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.9 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 5.8 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 7.4 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.6 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 27.5 mi
  • Legoland: 29.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A Dash Of Mediterranean Style At Our San Diego Banquet Facilities. For San Diego banquets, meetings, and special occasions, the Porto Vista Hotel features the perfect mix of accommodations and amenities to pull it off in style. Host your event at our San Diego banquet facility and allow our planners and caterers to see to the details. Plan a sunset cocktail reception on our rooftop deck, where unopposed views of the San Diego harbor and skyline lend a stunning backdrop. Host an intimate dinner in the stylish Glass Door restaurant or reserve the modern, glass-walled banquet room for larger affairs. Featuring contemporary guest rooms and a unique Mediterranean ambiance, the Porto Vista is an impressive choice for special events.

Dining

The Glass Door, Among The Best Little Italy San Diego Restaurants
Our San Diego Little Italy Restaurant, A True Neighborhood Delight. Tucked away from downtown's crowds and noise, overlooking the harbor and the bay beyond, the Porto Vista Hotel proudly showcases the Glass Door, our award-winning Little Italy San Diego restaurant. Opening in the summer of 2008, it has quickly become one of the best San Diego Little Italy restaurants, drawing a smart, stylish crowd from throughout the city.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (279)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Vista Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
279 out of 279
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRWhite
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Mar 5, 2014

Fire Alarm

Not a bad hotel and we like to location. You could walk to many restaurants. The Fire alarm went off twice on the last day of our visit and at 1:30 a.m. in the last night of our stay. It lasted about 20 minutes. The hotel staff were very apologetic and reduced our parking bill by $22. Excluding the fire alarm issues we had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TommysGRL
Business
Fontana, ca
Mar 5, 2014

Taste of Italy

I love that its a block from Little Italy. Its so close to everything such as night life, the marina with ships, trolley, airport, and the metro link.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ali ali
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 3, 2014

Motel

Motel The facade of the building is very misleading. hollow walls, cheap materials. Value: Hotel deal plus a discount got me the room for $80/night. If i didn't have those deals it would have been $300/night. I would have been very mad if I paid 300. Location: little Italy is a very fun, vibrant little area in town. The hotel is a short walk to mission bay. 18$ cab to the zoo... I loved the location Parking: charged 22$/night to keep my car on the lot. As we were leaving I overheard a woman say "you charged me 22 dollars, I was here two nights" and they replied "right, $11 a night" so I guess that's negotiable. Room: the water in the pipes were very loud, the planes overhead were super loud, we ordered a Queen room but they put us in a double bed. Didn't request a change due to the following... Club: there is a rooftop bar with a cool view. I heard many guests complaining about the noise of the bar which we didn't experience in our double room so I was afraid to rectify the fact that they put us in a different room. Staff- they were nice, I guess didn't use them Much and they put us in the wrong room. Summary- worth it if you are on a budget and not picky. Otherwise don't do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diogenes A
Business
Brazil
Feb 26, 2014

Good and cheap!

Good location, cheap, comfortable, clean, organized system, very nice hotel, beautiful room. Just, one observation, internet works but it was lazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks from the trolley station, around 4 blocks from the bus station. It is near to the airport, just take the bus 992 in Harbor Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zhudfkflr
Business
Honolulu, HI
Feb 26, 2014

great value

We stayed one night before and one night after a retreat held at another hotel. Both times our rooms were clean and the staff EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The Glass Door restaurant had pretty good food, and Melody's service made the experience even better. The neighborhood is clean and safe, with MANY restaurants, but don't plan to go shopping for souvenirs there. The hotel also had a free airport shuttle, and boasted other amenities of which we were not able to take advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elle53088
Business
Moorpark,Ca
Feb 25, 2014

In love with Porto Vista

From the nice valet guys, to Rob at the front Desk, to the sweet cleaning staff- everything was great. I really enjoyed this hotel. Our room was great and had a beautiful view off the balcony. It also seemed like a great place for dining, but we didn't eat there (only because we couldn't get enough of Little Italy). Kudos to you guys for your excellent remodel. Can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chris n kim
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 25, 2014

not great

Besides the valet staff, staff was not pleasant. Room was passable, but only a coat of paint and a duvet cover away from a being a third rate motel. Will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ForMyca
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Feb 18, 2014

Good location

This is a decent little hotel for the price. The rooms were clean, reasonably sized and the staff were all really really nice. It's located really closely to the airport, Balboa park, and some great restaurants. We were here right around the time of Valentine's day so it was really nice to walk around the neighborhood. There is an onsite restaurant but we didn't check it out. It seemed pretty lively on Valentine's night. I would have been more inclined had the restaurant probably offered a discount maybe. The parking is $20 a day for valet which was super prompt and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

India street has some great coffee shops and some great little Italian restaurants. Pappalecco also has some phenomenal gelato.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
djk1984
Business
Quartz Hill, CA
Feb 18, 2014

Great Location but left much to be desired.

First of all, the location is great. Walking distance to many restaurants and Gaslamp. The room we stayed in was very outdated. Bathroom was not very clean and sink was clogged with hair and would not drain. The bathroom door creaked quite a bit as did the bed. Housekeeping left only washcloths and no bathtowels which were sent up when we informed the front desk. There was a lot of noise. We will probably spend a little more for a better quality hotel on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good choices both for brunch and dinner, all within walking distince. I loved India Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pickygirl22
Business
Chino hills, CA
Feb 17, 2014

It's cute but needs improvement!!

It wasn't the best obviously its a 3 star for a reason it seemed like the only thing that's been remodeled was the lobby and lounge.. Staff was great!! Room sheets grossed me out they need real comforters and when we walked into our room the first time it looked ok but had a weird smell my husband opened the door to the restroom disgusting!! the bathtub was filled with green water like the pipes or something had broke idk but it was disgusting luckyly we were moved to another room 2nd was ok needs remodeling... The lounge does have a great view its nice well kept and food is good :) I just don't see how they have this cute lounge and rooms are not cute! The lounge sold me should have read more reviews but I guess its worth for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy, gaslamp, downtown all is very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top